We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place for a wedding, but DON'T stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Marina Hotel and Restaurant
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for a wedding, but DON'T stay here”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Went for a family wedding. The wedding was beautiful the staff helpful and attentive (though they wouldn't let a child dance without shoes). The location is wonderful, the beach is steps away. The food was good (both for reception and Sunday brunch) with varied choices from gourmet to southern comfort food. However, no one could sleep either night we stayed due to the noise from the rooftop bar or other wedding receptions.

Room Tip: stay as far away from the bar as possible and away from the courtyard (reception noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DraLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    46
    25
    10
    20
See reviews for
49
67
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This historic hotel is absolutely beautiful inside & out. The rooms are very antique and lovely. The outside is immaculate! The backside of the hotel has this gorgeous Italian looking area with tables and lights hanging up above you. the staff is incredible!! Also the breakfast is great!! I will definitely stay here for years to come!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaQ105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Casa Marina Hotel on Jacksonville Beach is an elegant old lady still living on and living the beach. Built in the 1920s, she's was truly a grand dame in her day, hosting celebrities such as the Duke and Duchess of Windsor, John D. Rockefeller, and President Harry S. Truman and F.D.R. Jean Harlow and Al Capone. Hollywood greats such as Chaplin and Pickford made appearances during times ("pre- Hollywood") when movies were made in Jacksonville.

In the 1980s, however, the Hotel was under going major updating and renovation --enabling a recent college grad/beach bum to rent a three-room apartment there for just $240/month. What a deal!

Now that she's back on her feet, rooms go for that much per NIGHT of course (be sure to ask for specials).

The rooms are very comfortable --and even a bit magical when you consider the people that have stayed there before.

And there's a very good bar/restaurant on the top floor overlooking the expanse of Jax Beach.

You're going to truly feel relaxed, welcome and "right at home on the sand".

Room Tip: Take an upper level/ocean facing room for better breezes. Rates may vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PineappleHillSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The restaurant is really first rate. Lunch is as elegant as it gets on the Beach, and the food is as good as the service and the ambiance. Sterling is the manager and has been working in restaurants on the Beach as long as I have lived here. 20 plus years. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I stopped here on our Honeymoon and fell in love. We were looking for a place we could go and stay and not have to go anywhere else. They had food and drink onsite as well as a very close walk to the beach. On the trip they upgraded our room to the interior suite that faces the water. Beautiful room. Amazing sheets. (Went and bought some since our last trip there.) Went to the bar on a weekday night. Got personalized attention from Chris. Great service. Amazing food and wonderful drinks. They do specials every night and that night was half priced martinis. Belvedere martinis with hand stuffed blue cheese olives for $5. Left the bar and went swimming in the ocean. Had a beautiful stay. very comfortable beds. The bathrooms could use a little shelf in the shower as well as some additional water pressure.
Went back this last March and held my love for the place. Different room. Couldnt get the AC to work but it was March so I popped open the windows and felt the seabreeze and listened to the ocean all night. The bar was hopping as this was a saturday night. Enjoyed our trip once again to the bar. Chris was there as well as another really great bar tender. Probably 150 people there and still got amazing service and great food as well. On Sunday morning we got up and went to the Sunday brunch, oh my god it was great with a beautiful room as well. You can go wrong withthis place. We fell in love and will always be our place to go.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Was really amazed at the location and views! I mentioned that I was booking here for my husband's Birthday and we were surprised to find a bottle of champiagn and chocolate covered strawberries waiting in our room !! Enjoyed cocktails & appetizers at the Penthouse Suite on the rooftop. The views of Jacksonville Beach were awesome. When booking we were told that our room ( oceanfront) was directly under the Penthouse Lounge and could be noisy. It was but did not effect our time or sleep.On Sunday we enjoyed their Brunch !! Highly recommended !! Loved the entire experience !! Thanks to all of the staff for such awesome customer dervice !!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keys2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband and I were excited to be staying at a renovated historic boutique hotel. Upon arrival we were happy to find a well kept renovated room. The morning after our first night we enjoyed a nice breakfast.

The first night (Wednesday) went very well but on Thursday the hotel turned into a very different place with two parties hosted at the hotel - one on the rooftop and another in the courtyard. The music was so loud that when we turned in at 10 pm it was impossible to get to sleep. There's also a lack of security in that people from the courtyard gathering roamed the hallways upstairs. There was no indication on the website or in person when we checked in that those who seek peace and quiet should stay away from this property. A warning is in order. Denying access to the hotel rooms from partiers should be a priority.

Room Tip: Avoid this place from Thursday - Sunday if you seek peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herstory0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville Beach
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#5 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,057 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Casa Marina Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 691 1st St N, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250-7101
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Marina Hotel and Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa Marina Hotel or shall we call her "The Grand Old Lady", is a welcoming Historic beauty located right on the beach in the heart of our Jacksonville Beaches. Our wonderful staff is here 24 hours and more than happy to hep with anything needed.(directions, transportation, restaurants/bars, shopping plazas,etc.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Otel, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Marina Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing