We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun place to eat.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Life Food Shack

Salt Life Food Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Salt Life Food Shack was developed with the commitment to provide a community driven restaurant that compliments the brand where “living the Salt Life” is a part of everyday life. We offer a carefully crafted eclectic menu to cater to all tastes and personalities. Salt Life Food Shack of Jacksonville Beach is the perfect locale for beach goers to enjoy great dishes, cool drinks and the opportunity to catch up with family and friends. We are located just three blocks off the beach and our casual yet trendy open-air space will accommodate all types – from the avid seaman to land lovers looking for a taste of the Salt Life... Eat, Drink. And be Salty.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A fun place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

On our last of beach vacation we decided to try thus restaurant. We were very pleased. Everyone really enjoyed their meals. The seafood was super fresh. Our server was very nice and helpful. We look forward to visiting this place the next time we are visiting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyKinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    259
    87
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food and service was average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wednesday night, and seated immediately outside (nothing to look at except a parking lot). Calamari appetizer was pretty good, and the fresh catch of the day (Mahi) was good. The service was fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dmmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINNESOTA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD, Great beach atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food at Salt Life is very flavorful. Great and attentive service. The clam chowder is delicious. The Seared Mahi Poke Bowl is delish!!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spoken09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, sub-par food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Following reviews and the advice of our concierge, we visited for dinner while in Jacksonville Beach for the PGA tournament. We brought our 3 year old son, and the atmosphere (and fish tank) were great for a family. I wish I could say the same about the food. We had the raw oysters (the only good thing we were served) and a spicy tuna roll for appetizers, then split the poke bowl and the seafood boil for entrees. All were relatively tasteless, and the amount of tuna in the poke bowl was almost laughably small--probably no more than 2 or 3 oz total. If you were thinking about the delicious bowls of poke one finds in San Diego (as, unfortunately, we were) you are SURE to be disappointed. Happy hour prices on drinks weren't bad, but the next time we spend $80+ on a quick dinner, we will do it somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a nice place in Jacksonville beach area.
The food is good – but the quality is inconsistent: the first time we ate there it was very good, so we came again but the second time the food was average.
The atmosphere is very nice, the restaurant is very big with different sitting areas. Although there were a lot of people and it can be a bit crowded, we managed having a nice dinner.
Both times the service was good.
Prices are reasonable.
If you are in the area I would try this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sigal h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Life Food Shack also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Salt Life Food Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing