We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and atmosphere”

Salt Life Food Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Salt Life Food Shack was developed with the commitment to provide a community driven restaurant that compliments the brand where “living the Salt Life” is a part of everyday life. We offer a carefully crafted eclectic menu to cater to all tastes and personalities. Salt Life Food Shack of Jacksonville Beach is the perfect locale for beach goers to enjoy great dishes, cool drinks and the opportunity to catch up with family and friends. We are located just three blocks off the beach and our casual yet trendy open-air space will accommodate all types – from the avid seaman to land lovers looking for a taste of the Salt Life... Eat, Drink. And be Salty.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The fish dishes were all very fresh, and the service was excellent. The interior is kitschy but not too much. It is nice to be able to watch the beach activities across the street.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ckamlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    268
    91
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lunch at Salt Life Food Shack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were shopping at Jax Beach and decided to have lunch at Salt Life. My wife and I had the Shrimp and Fish Baskets that were the promotion of the Day. It was recomended by the Waiitress and it was very good and great value for the money. Would definately go back when I'm in Jax Beach

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
346 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“conch is hard to find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

My friend had a craving for conch soup. The Salt Life was the only location in the area. What a surpirse. We caught the wave; what a great find for good beer and tasty food. I am not sure just how far we were from the beach but the blue hue and large fish tank set us right in the mood for seafood. Well done.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Since this was our first time there, we asked our waiter JR what was good on the menu. He was great! He told us about some of the best things on the menu and how they were made. JR realy new the menu from top to bottom. My wife and I took some of JR suggestions and she order shrimp wrapped in apple wood bacon on skewers with chunks of pineapple. It was GREAT! I had fish ( I forget what kind it was ) on rice with pineapple in the rice. There was some hawaiian glaze over the fish and it was GREAT! The atmosphere was nothing special, but nice. What I liked best was the food and the waiter JR. There was realy nothing to not like. All in all a very nice meal!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarknMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“ING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

2nd trip and both times the food and audience have been awesome. Loved the starters and the entrees. The fishing videos were a hit as well

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Life Food Shack also viewed

 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Salt Life Food Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing