We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Fabulous Dining Experiences in the same week!”
Review of Marlin Moon Grille - CLOSED

Marlin Moon Grille
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Eat Drink Fish!! Is a perfect slogan for this fine casual dining spot. The cozy bar is lively with a cast of characters in front of and behind the bar, which was made to resemble the transom of a sport fishing boat, "The Pretty Work" from Islamorada, FL. The signature adult beverage is the Orange Crush. You gotta try one!! Food wise it's all about the Maryland Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, fresh local Mayport seafood with beef, pork and chicken options available. Marlin Moon Grille was the recipient of the 2009 People's Choice, Restaurant Association of Maryland's Favorite Restaurant Award before relocating to Jax Beach.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Two Fabulous Dining Experiences in the same week!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I went on a Tuesday and enjoyed the best, freshest, fried Mayport shrimp and true Maryland style crab cakes. I'm a former "Balmor" girl and made frequent visits to Ocean City, so I know my crab cakes! A great one is mostly jumbo, lump crabmeat with very little filler. Yumm! The skinny fries and buttermilk onion rings were perfectly crisp, with very good flavor. Bar and food service were great. I loved the atmosphere, just the right amount of ocean and beach design without being tacky.

We took two couples with us on Saturday night. Everyone enjoyed their dinners. The calimari was very tender, lightly battered, and delicious. The special was hogfish, which is rarely on any restaurant's menu. What a treat that was! The chef was very accommodating by allowing me to order the special "grilled hogfish, crab cake, and grilled shrimp dinner" with the shrimp fried, rather than grilled. I can grill shrimp at home, but certainly can't fry it as expertly as Marlin Moon can! My husband ordered the crab ravioli and practically licked the plate clean! I do think more wait staff is necessary on the weekend. Our cocktails took "forever" to make it to our table. Their little ice pellets melted into my Orange Crush and my friend's rum and coke, making the drinks somewhat watered down. The calimari came out quickly, but our dinner plates came out sporadically. The onion rings and fries must have set out a little while, because they were no longer as crispy as they were on a first visit. Adding more staff is an easy fix. I will go back again and again for their fabulous food! I will say that a really good key lime or coconut cream pie would have nicely topped off our dining experience. Perhaps Marlin Moon Grille will outsource some desserts in the future. Homemade ones are hard to pull off without a pastry chef and who expects a pastry chef at a seafood restaurant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gatorbrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    39
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best seafood! ”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This was one of the best seafood restaurants in Jacksonville!Everything we had there was fresh and delicious! The service was friendly and on top of their game!Thanks to Trip adviser we have found a great restaurant!

Helpful?
2 Thank Scoggs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlinmoon, Owner at Marlin Moon Grille, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for being our guest

Best Fishes
Gbeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The seafood and all of our food was wonderful. The portions were average and the fact it comes fresh from the sea is a bonus. It was a little pricey. At the time we went it was just filling up and there was not enough wait staff to accommodate guests. We were by the door and watched people wait to be seated with a half empty restaurant. The staff needed to pay more attention.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlinmoon, Owner at Marlin Moon Grille, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you very much. seafood prices have got out of control. Thanks very much

Stay Crabby my friend
Gbeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent and reasonably-priced”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great seafood in the old Taco Lu's location crab cakes, grouper, and flounder are all good. Non-seafood dishes are also good such as pork chops and veal chop. Johnny is the best bartender in Jacksonville. Eat at the bar and enjoy. Lack of parking is the only downside.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sjgatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlinmoon, Owner at Marlin Moon Grille, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi Jonny is awesome. You can park next door at the Doctors office. Thank you

Tight Lines,
Gbeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“See Food!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Marlin Moon imports the traditions of Maryland seafood cuisine to Jacksonville Beach. Add an Orange or grapefruit crush, with friendly and helpful bar tenders, then you'll understand why the main Jacksonville resort concierges recommend Marlin Moon seafood for there guests. It is a great place to just linger for a casual appetizer. Parking is a bit of a challenge but the orthopedic office parking is available during non-working hours.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nels F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlinmoon, Owner at Marlin Moon Grille, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Nels,
You are the best!!!

Go Navy!!!
Gbeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlin Moon Grille also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing