We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experiences”
Review of Marlin Moon Grille - CLOSED

Marlin Moon Grille
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Eat Drink Fish!! Is a perfect slogan for this fine casual dining spot. The cozy bar is lively with a cast of characters in front of and behind the bar, which was made to resemble the transom of a sport fishing boat, "The Pretty Work" from Islamorada, FL. The signature adult beverage is the Orange Crush. You gotta try one!! Food wise it's all about the Maryland Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, fresh local Mayport seafood with beef, pork and chicken options available. Marlin Moon Grille was the recipient of the 2009 People's Choice, Restaurant Association of Maryland's Favorite Restaurant Award before relocating to Jax Beach.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have been here a couple of times. Food is consistently great! Crab cake was perfect and enjoyed a couple Orange Crushes as well. We will go back.

Thank Mary Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlinmoon, Owner at Marlin Moon Grille, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thanks so Much!! Try a Ruby Red Crush sometime if you like grapefruit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Marlin Moon Grille
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 133 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I had been here for appetizers and their orange crush which was great. Came for dinner tonight and had the trio special. One outstanding crab cake, grilled shrimp, oysters Rockefeller with veggies and mashed potatoes. Fabulous! It's a nice restaurant but with. Casual feel. Will go back again.

1  Thank californiagirl1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlinmoon, Owner at Marlin Moon Grille, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thanks so much for being our guest and for the nice review. Happy Holidays & Tight Lines! GB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife, son-in-law and I eat at the Marlin Moon a couple of weeks ago. We are originally from Maryland and there is nothing like a good Maryland style crab cake. We have tried crab cakes all up and down the east coast, but have always been terribly disappointed. None of them have come close to what we get in Maryland -- until the Marlin Moon! My wife and I had the Twin Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes and our son-in-law had the Surf and Turf, filet and crab cake. The crab cakes were without a doubt some of the best we have ever had (inside or outside of Maryland). The owner's Maryland roots really show through. And our son-in- law
(who knows his steaks) said the filet was one of the best he has eaten. By the way - the French fries and the garlic mash potatoes are great as well.

Unfortunately, we do not get to the Jacksonville area very often, but the Marlin Moon will always be a must do for us when we are in the area. So, if you want a great dining experience and fabulous crab cakes when you are in Jacksonville Beach, Marlin Moon is the place to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank AlligatorsandTurtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlinmoon, Owner at Marlin Moon Grille, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thanks so much!! If you would like the crab cake recipe email me at marlinmoon@comcast.net. Thanks Hon!
GBeach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had a real blast here on several occasions.
Great food, service and surroundings.
Last visit was with 6 frinds and we all had great food and a fantastic time whilt there.

Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlinmoon, Owner at Marlin Moon Grille, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thanks so much I am glad you enjoyed us as much as we enjoyed you. GB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We both had the combo dish of grilled mahi, grilled shrimp and crab cake. It was really good. The reviews of the crab cake are spot on. The crab cakes are loaded with crab, not cheap filler., and they are saut��ed not deep fried. The mahi tasted fresh and I don't know if the shrimp was local, but it sure tasted that way. The side vegetables were steamed carrots, peppers and green beans. Although they were a bit bland, they were not over cooked. We shared a slice of key lime pie, which although it didn't have the traditional graham cracker crust, it was tart and tasty.

Thank rambomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlinmoon, Owner at Marlin Moon Grille, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thanks for coming in we are glad you enjoyed it. The crab cakes are actually broiled and if you email me I will give you the recipe. The shrimp are from Georgia as we can not get big enough shrimp from Mayport. We reheat the blanched veg in just water, salt, butter, white and red pepper. Salt & pepper are very subjective that is why we have sea salt & b;ack pepper grinders on the tables (I have resturants that don't). We appreciate your praise.
Best Fishes!
GB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlin Moon Grille also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing