We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best take out at the beach.”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best take out at the beach.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wonderful dinner last night at outback. Their new $15.00 menu is great. Pork, potatoes, fresh green beans, salad, French onion soup ( dollar extra) and the most moist yummy carrot cake. Food nice and hot and so filling. My husband had prime rib which is always killer good. Only wish they had a location on the water but I rather have great food than a great view.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GloriaLachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    9
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The service was very slow and our waitress was not very pleasant. I ordered a medium rare steak and it was definitely well done. The waitress did offer to replace but we waited so long for service I settled on just my salad and vegetable as my husband was nearly finished with his dinner. The manager did stop by the table and removed the charge for my dinner from the tab, but it was generally not a good experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 628KathleenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Shrimp of a Lobster”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

On a recent visit to Jacksonville Beach, FL, we dined at the Outback Steakhouse on 3rd Street South, Jacksonville Beach, FL. With eager anticipation, I ordered their “Filet & Lobster Tail.” One of their menu pictures stuck in my mind. It was of fluffy white lobster meat budging out of a beautiful red shell.

When the entrée arrived I was taken back and could only laugh. The filet was small as expected. But the lobster tail was pitiful—two shriveled lengths of meat, about as long and as wide as my skinny index finger. This pathetic excuse of a lobster was hardly the size of a respectable shrimp! I made no effort to report my disappointment, but I will simply use the experience as a guide whenever I have an urge for steak or lobster in the future.

Once earlier, on an extended trip to Egypt, I found myself longing for a steak at the Outback Steakhouse on my return to the U.S. When I did return to both the U.S. and the Outback, my expectations were dashed for in my Egyptian dreams I guess I was thinking more of the menu pictures than of the actual steak.

I have repeatedly experienced this same false expectation from menu photos by another well-known restaurant, Red Lobster. I once dined with Bill Darden and knew something about the chain he founded that includes Red Lobster. So I wrote their current CEO suggesting that either the menu photos or menu items be adjusted to enhance truth in advertizing. The CEO’s intentions became clear when he did not respond to my letter.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ByronHamlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“ok steak”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

unhappy service steak cooked well when I ordered medium, warm and pink in the middle but I received medium well

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jasonsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Terrible Everything”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had terrible service, terrible overcooked rubbery food, it took 2 hours and nobody was even there! We got the manager, who wasn't very nice either and it was just a dismal experience. Have not been back, will not go back. If you want outback, there is a better one 5 minutes away off Atlantic Blvd. Go there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meghan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing