We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch”
Review of Casa Marina Hotel

Casa Marina Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Had lunch there yesterday & it was great....on the beach...this place has been around for a long time...not sure why it wasn't on your website.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We went to Sunday brunch yesterday, and it was like a mixture of very good and awful at the same time... The breakfast "staples" (bacon, homefries, sausage) were good, the grits were excellent, and the carving station (roast beef) was awesome. The fish florentine was very tasty as was the different 'salads' and shrimp.

There were however detractions: The eggs Benedict had been sitting out way too long and should have been removed. Unfortunately there was only one server working the carving/omelette station--and he was overwhelmed (my omelette was terribly overcooked). I was really looking forward to the whole snapper--which unfortunately had been sitting out for a long time--and never got replaced the whole time we were there.

The desserts were great--chocolate fondue (marshmallows and fresh strawberries), cheese cakes, peach cobbler, and apple pie...

I also have to mention the service--which was outstanding--our glasses (water, coffee, soda and mimosa/poinsetta/champagne) never emptied without being immediately refilled.

Even considering the free alcohol and beverages, overall I'd have to say I was disappointed--especially for $26.95/person.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    15
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very dissapointing Thanksgiving Dinner”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Just got home from the $100.00 ( $38.00 per person plus drinks) , Thanksgiving buffet..
1) Staff was excellent.
2) Food was cold, average tasting, and very ill presented.. Golden Corral does a better job. The cranberry sauce was canned!! Breakfast potato's cold, Stuffing tasted like stove top etc....
3) Set up was bad. Had to walk into other peoples tables to get to the other side of the buffet.
4) Sat next to a table doing shots, having bud lights in their camouflage Florida Gator hats

Overall experience was bad. Feel ripped off. Don't waste your hard earned money there

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rooftop Bar”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have only eaten and had drinks at the rooftop bar which has terrific martinis...Happy Hour every afternoon when martinis are $5. The bar staff are friendly and attentive and the tapas are very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KVC666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch was a bust”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband, son and I went to the Sunday brunch at Casa Marina to celebrate my birthday, What a disappointment - the food was average at best and some dishes like the Eggs Benedict over fried green tomato had been on the steam table way too long. There was a single person both carving the prime rib AND making omelets to order - result was that if you wanted a piece of the prime rib you had to wait until as many as three omelets were cooked. And I was dumbfounded at how the sparkling wine drinks ("champagne," mimosas) were served: the first glasses served to our party were completely flat; when I called the server over and asked for a replacement he was happy to comply. Our table happened to be within sight of where they poured the wine. The uncorked the bottles, then poured the entire bottle into a wine carafe (like the ones used to serve cheap house wine), then added orange or cranberry juice and let the carafe sit. Needless to say, all bubbles escaped when the bottle was poured into the carafe. The final "just shake your head, I'll never come back" moment was when we received our check. and a 20% gratuity had been added. I called the server over and he said this was their standard practice and it could not be removed. Outrageous for a buffet, where the servers merely deliver a couple of glasses of sparkling wine and coffee if requested.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandySmithFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Scenic and breezy”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Perched on the rooftop of the Casa Marina Hotel & Restaurant, we enjoyed a couple of drinks and a couple of Tapas. Served right away, but the food took a little longer (maybe we were just hungry!). Beautiful view and sunset so we recommend it to all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dveech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Marina Hotel also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Casa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing