We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disabled Video Input on TVs... What's up with that???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2009

This is fine Hampton Inn. All the things you expect from a Hampton Inn. HOWEVER... I always bring a portable DVD on vacations for times when plans changes, it rains, etc... only THIS Hampton Inn chose to disable the video inputs on its TVs! I spent half an hour trying to figure out why I couldn't get a signal from my DVD player, so I asked the front desk and was told the video inputs were disabled on the TVs. I have never had this problem at other Hampton Inns, or any other hotel for that matter. I can only guess that the logic was to "force" you to watch Pay Per View instead of your own movies or games. How Sleazy. Sometimes it's the little things that really get under your skin, and this is one of them. I've always enjoyed watching DVDs on vacation, and had brought along several on this vacation. Thanks for nothing.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeepSouthRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 735 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2009

Friend;y staff, great breakfast, and an awesome location. An easy ride from the airport, and next to great shops and food fare. I was happy I chose this place for my last convention.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvalera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

I read some of the other reviews and was surprised at how bad they seemed. So, with hesitation, I checked in anyway. I gues their renovations did the trick, it was an awesome room at the end of the hall on the fourth floor overlooking the pool. In the room was a microwave, a fridge, a sofa and the other regular accessories. The bathroom was beautiful and very nicely decorated as well. So, all those bad reviews need to be ignored, this place is like a brand new place. Also, the breakfast in the morning is an upgraded continental with cereal, fruit, breads like bagels, sausage, biscuits, (no eggs left?), but more than you need with juices and different coffees and teas. Quite nice! Very enjoyable weekend, was very convenient to the highway and you didn't hear it in the room. It wasn't the beach and it wasn't Ponte Vedra, but it was close to both!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lil'BeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Not a bad hotel that would be an okay place to stay for the right price and if you need something in the area. However there are a number of issues that bothered me.

THE BAD
-The biggest issue was roomservice left the door latched open one day. When we returned back to the room at 9pm we found the room open for anyone to come waltzing in and take our valuables. The evening clerk didn't seem too concerned.

-Wireless internet was unstable and slow. No wired options.

-TV did not have many channels and no local weather. Important in a beach/oceanside community.

-The AC was loud and difficult to adjust to a comfortable level.

THE GOOD
-Plenty of parking with lots of shade from a number of big trees.

-Great water pressure in the shower.

-Good location with a number of restaurant and shopping options close by.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dweebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

stayed here for two nights. The staff at the front desk were not very helpful or friendly. When I told him the one and only plastic lounge chair at the pool was split down the middle (dangerously so), the fellow replied "thank you for informing me". When asked if there were others, he sternly said no. It would have been nice to have a comfortable place to sit at the pool because it was too dirty and cold to go in the water. The rooms were clean, but the bathtubs had faulty stoppers. We moved all of our stuff to another room only to find that one didn't work either. To add to the frustration, phone calls to the front desk concerning this matter were a total waste of time (and I mean alot of time waiting for them to answer the phone not actual talk time). Just didn't seem to care. The broken lounge chair was still there when we left, and judging the level of concern shown, probably still is.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank lars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

It's frustrating that the quality of Hampton Inns vary depending where you stay. This Hampton Inn is one that I definitely would not stay in again. The TV remote did not work, the bathroom was outdated, and the shower was let's say, dirty. The very next night I stayed in a Hampton Inn by the Jacksonville airport and it was great. I felt like I was in a more upscale hotel than a Hampton Inn. Granite counter tops in the bathroom...and beautiful, dark wood for the armoire and nightstand. One would think with all the tourists that Ponte Vedra Beach gets, especially ones playing golf at nearby TPC Sawgrass, that the Hilton company would want a decent Hampton Inn for them.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank Dornoch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bootifulmm, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2008

The Hampton Inn Jacksonville - Ponte Vedra will be going under a $2.5 million renovation this fall starting on November 3. It will be updated with all of the same features as the newer Hampton Inns. The guest rooms will be getting new carpet, tile bathroom floors, drapes, furniture, flatscreen televisions, granite counter tops, and much more. We hope you all will come and see us after the first of the year to experience the most up to date Hampton Inn in the Jackosnville area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn more than 20 times and for the most part all has been fine. On 2 of the times however I have shown up with a "guaranteed " reservation only to be told that there were no rooms. In each instance they sent me to another Hilton family hotel more than 6 miles away . It appears that the management has an overbooking policy and a guarantee only applies to you and not them. I have been waiting for a response from management from my most recent experience for a week now . They apparently don't view this as a big deal.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank Creekcrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville Beach
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,544 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
827 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#5 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
561 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,073 reviews
4.8 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 1220 Marsh Landing Pkwy, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250-2489 (Formerly Hampton Inn Ponte Vedra Beach Mayo Clinic SE)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range: $112 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Jacksonville-Ponte Vedra Beach is located just one half mile from Jacksonville Beach, four miles from the TPC Sawgrass Golf Course and 3 miles from the world renowned Mayo Clinic. we are also near Jacksonville area attractions like The beaches, nightlife and The Jacksonville Zoo.Our hotel features 117 rooms, including Jacuzzi rooms, business and fitness centers and outdoor pool. Each room is equipped with 32" flat screen televisions, microwave and refrigerator and high speed internet access.We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ponte Vedra Beach Mayo Clinic Se Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach
Jacksonville Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing