We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, fantastic variety”
Review of TacoLu

TacoLu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Food, fantastic variety”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We went to TacoLu in October, 2013. Surprisingly, we got a table fairly quickly on a Saturday around noon time. The food was really great....lots of good variety and the queso dip appetizer is to die for! The service was friendly and quick, they seemed to be staffed very well and we did not wait long for our order to be taken or our food.

My one complaint, and it is not really a complaint, more of a heads-up....they only have valet parking despite having what appears to be a decent size parking lot. This forces you to tip the valet and "pay" for parking in a sense. So bring a couple bucks for the valet.

Overall a really nice experience...loved the decor too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dh301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    193
    77
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, FL
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Review Update...The Rest of the Story”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have eaten at TacoLu many times. We want to love it. I have written that we loved it. The truth is, we don't LOVE it. We like it. It's OK. The honest truth is that every time we have left, we asked each other, "Did you think your meal was that great?" The answer was always, "Not really."
The atmosphere is fun...if you don't get stuck in one of the dark & dank back rooms. It is loud and that's OK. The drinks are the best of TacoLu's selections. The place is funky and hip, so we get why young people gather there.
Let's talk truthfully about the food and the price.
The tacos are OK...not spectacular. The corn is delicious. The rice is OK. And, the price is not cheap!! If you have two tacos and and a soda, you might get out cheap!
If you have a dip, two tacos each, split an order of corn and rice, and have two cocktails, you will not get out for less than $40-50.00. This would be fine if the food were spectacular...it's just that it's not.
Most of the time our service has been very friendly. We did take friends for a first time visit and get stuck in a dark back room with a waitress who very rudely told us to, "use the flashlight on our phones if we couldn't see." DUH! She had to use her phone light to look for her tip.
If you're over forty and looking for good food and relaxing atmosphere, this isn't your place! If you're under forty and want to see and be seen, you're not that interested in a culinary experience, and you want to hang out and drink, TacoLu is your place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CindyCBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible service, no communication with manager”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

After 3 great meals at taco Lu I was super excited to bring my parents in for not only 1st time, but anniversary dinner. Start to finish was horrible, waitress was rude and extemely condicinding. Food was wrong order, very late and never corrected. Asked to speak to mgr (never happened). Have since called and left message, sent email & text to restaurant to discuss how poorly my table of 7 was treated and have yet to hear back. VERY DISAPPOINTED AND WILL NOT RETURN!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food. Really kid friendly”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Great food. Good value. Lots of kids all the time depending on your place in life and the experience you are looking for, that can be great or not so much

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Halliebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Banging tacos”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place dishes out some of the best tacos in Jacksonville.

The bangin' shrimp are my favorite. They come complete with 4 or 5 shrimp, deep fried and tossed in a creamy, wing-like sauce with fresh cabbage and a lime. The Royale is another winner, with carne asada, brie and grape salsa. The seafood specials are usually pretty good, and vary seasonally. The rice and beans are kind of bland. The queso is stringy and delicious. The guacamole is creamy with just the right amount of spice.

The bar here is top notch. If you look into the refrigerators there are a ton of containers and eyedroppers of concoctions that are made in house. The Bloody Marias are awesome - bloody mary mix with tequila and lime. The house margaritas are pretty solid, and as some of the more adventurous ones like the Jalapeno or double barrel. My only complaint is that the drinks are very small for the price, but the tequila list is second to none in Jax.

All in all, I think that Taco Lu's is monstrously overrated and not a good deal for the price. Having said that, it's really the only place serving tacos this good so they have me by the balls. The crowds are ridiculous if you come on the weekends. The staff and most of the patrons are pretentious. Parking is valet, which is a waste of time and money for a small parking lot.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jerry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TacoLu also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to TacoLu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing