We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local, out of the way, great omelets”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hen House Cafe

The Hen House Cafe
Ranked #10 of 84 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Local, out of the way, great omelets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

If you want consistently great omelets, try this place.
Located behind the Inverness City Governments building in Old Town.
Friendly staff, low key atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Needs a bigger kitchen to accommodate dining room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Waitress staff are great, but the kitchen can not keep up with the tables. Must have drank half a pot if coffee waiting on food. Seated quickly, checked in often but no food for an hour! Will not return till after snow birds leave.

Helpful?
1 Thank militarylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just what I was looking for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

I wanted a late breakfast and saw a sign on the window advertising "Breakfast all Day". I was born and raised in the south but have lived in Canada for many years and really miss old fashioned southern cooking. I am really glad I stopped in. The breakfast was perfect, everything cooked just the way I ordered it (eggs over medium, crispy bacon) which seems to be a challenge for some places. The service was very good. They have a lunch menu that looks good, so I will be back to try that too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tmayder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Coming Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Remember how it feels to come home and eat at your mother's. Well that is the feeling you get the minute you walk in the door. We eat there every chance we get and the food is always consistently good. What puts this restaurant above others is not only the homemade breads but the fabulous ,caring people who work there. If you come to Inverness don't miss the opportunity to experience this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hometown Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great food and service in a fun, hometown restaurant with unique decor. Nice variety on the menu, good for couples or families, in downtown Inverness.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank GManigault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hen House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Hen House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing