We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New England Food??”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Peppermint Patties - CLOSED

Peppermint Patties
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“New England Food??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

As transplants from the northeast we are always looking for New England style seafood. The local style seafood is heavy on fried and blackened and since we are trying to keep our cholesterol under control we take every opportunity to try what we think of as NE style, a white fish like cod or haddock that is baked or sometimes broiled with a light cracker crumb topping. When we saw the ads for Peppermint Patties in the local paper what thought that we could add another place to our short list.

With that expectation we arrived for lunch at Patties and found that they had never heard of serving fish this way. Although they had haddock the waitress told us that it was not possible to have it baked or broiled with a light topping. They would fry it or broil it plain (plain white fish is not that appetizing). So we ended up ordering other items from the menu which were OK, but nothing special.

They were fairly busy so it seems that they have a local following but from our table we were not able to see what items they were ordering. There are not a lot of restaurants in Inglis so this may serve if you are in the neighborhood but we wouldn't drive up there (20+ miles) just for the food.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aout_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WICKED SEAFOOD - TRUE NEW ENGLAND TASTE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Best seafood to be found in this area of Florida without a doubt ! If you don't like seafood you must try the reuben sandwich which is done perfectly with melt in your mouth tender corned beef and piled thick ! Very good food, and the customer service is exceptional, be sure to try their home baked items too !

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place for a Casual Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

I have eating here on several occasions for breakfast, lunch and dinner and have been very pleased. The service is very good as is their food. While not an extensive menu, there are certainly enough selections to satisfy anyone including those on a gluten free diet. Specializing in seafood, you will also find burgers, salads, shredded pork dishes and pizza here, and their prices are very reasonable. I had one of the best ever omelettes for breakfast! Their sides are excellent, including wonderful cole slaw and sweet potato fries. My significant other loves their Rueben. In an area with not too many choices, this is an excellent place to visit!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MNCamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Expensive for what it is - or is not”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

This is a side of the road fisherman's stop. The food was barely edible. They claim - New England food serving wholebelly clams lobsterrolls on a New England roll and haddock. TOTALLY NOT!!!
No bread offered. Everything disposable - plates, forks, cups. Potato salad made me ill.
Service was non existent as we had to ask for everything. The prices were over $15 per meal. Paying $36 I would rather take out food from Publix deli and know I wont get ill.
No need for reservations the place was empty short evening hours open for fishing people in the morning.
being on the side of route 19 there is no view or outdoor seating

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing