We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your own toilet paper”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barefoot Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
CO
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bring your own toilet paper”
Reviewed May 3, 2009

My spouse and I rented one of the condos for vacation. Indian Shores is a great place to stay on the coast though there are not many restaurants or attractions close by. We did travel to Tampa, St. Pete's and Clearwater Beach in about 30 minutes and Clearwater in 15-20 minutes. The location was ideal; we had easy access to the beach. It was pretty quiet except for our noisy neighbors who kept setting off the smoke alarm at 3 am! We arrived into a clean room. There is no maid service which is nice in the sense that you don't have to tip someone to straighten up your room though you are only provided with one roll of toilet paper, one body bar of soap, one hand soap, and 4 towels. If you need anything extra, they charge you. I would recommend bringing toilet paper and a bar of soap with you. We also brought beach towels as one of the rules is not to take their towels to the beach. Overall, we enjoyed the room. They went the extra mile with granite countertops and tile floors. There is a full kitchen, large bathroom, large bedroom with closet and drawers, living area, and an office nook for your internet needs.
The grounds are lovely, the pool is small but with a large deck, and the view by the pool is of the bay where people can fish.
There was a wedding on Saturday night in which they closed off part of the pool deck for the reception. I sure hope this was not expensive for the wedding party b/c it was surely not private. People were still swimming in the pool and walking around near the deck. How strange!
I would recommend this place for a nice family vacation. I would not recommend them for a private honeymoon or romantic stay if you expect to be pampered.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoHiker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    170
    58
    19
    13
See reviews for
302
202
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Barefoot Beach Resort is conveniently located from Tampa and St. Pete airports as well as all types of shopping close by. You walk out your door and look at the Gulf of Mexico in one direction and the intercoastal waterway in the other. The staff are friendly, the place is clean, the pool is heated and has sun all day, and the price is right!! Great for visitors of all ages from grandparents to kids! Also, for sports fans -- multiple spring training sites close by and Tampa Rays and Bucaneers (football) and Lighting (hockey) are also close by.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara falls, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

It was everything we had hoped for and more. We were a little cautious because of the price however it was worth every penny. Friendly staff, large fresh clean unit. My wife loved watching the Dolphins jumping while sitting by the pool.

We loved the atmosphere it offered and the walks on the beach. Best week we had in Florida!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fallsniagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We stayed here in April 2008 with our two kids. We were in the F building, (109?) overlooking the waterway and also a stone throw from Salt Rock Grill. We enjoyed it so much we are coming back April 2009. I wanted everyone to know if they are considering staying here but unsure....it is wonderful!!! So wonderful that we decided to come back again instead of choosing somewhere else which was the intention...go to Florida every year and stay somewhere different each time....not likely! The units are immaculate. We selected a one bedroom because it was the only waterview available at the time. A two bedroom is not much more money but we also came to find out that it is alot less expensive to book through the owners. How do you find the owners you ask?? www.vrbo.com many units are listed there. Our two bedroom that we booked was ALOT less expensive then the one bedroom we booked through the office and we looked at it last year to see if it was one we would like. We looked at quite a few and they are all well kept and beautifully decorated. The office staff (Kathy, Carmen & Bob) are FANTASTIC! Can't say enough about them! They are such lovely people! We are so looking forward to going again!!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cdn_sun_seeker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Although hardly a resort, it has very nice condo/apartments that are clean, nicely furnished and affordable. ( just don't rent from the office). The pool area is large and always in use by a nice variety of people. We were there the first two weeks of February and the crowd was mostly older, (like us) but there was a nice mixture of families. It is situated right on Gulf Boulevard with access to the beach across the street. We got our condo through Global Connections, our vacation club, and it was one of the nicest they have sent us to. (That's another story) We would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice location on the inter-coastal waterway close to the beach and many nice restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BKRMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We searched through many condo listingings throughout the area and saw this one and thought the price was right and the pictures of the resort looked nice. I must say it was very nice. We booked a one bedroom condo that was privately owned by Erik and Michelle unit B-106. It is a very nice unit right outside the pool area (you cannot be much closer). It is about 200 ft from the intercoastal waterway that has a very nice fishing dock. great views to be had here. It is a short walk across the street to a private walkway right to the white sandy beach. We stayed from December23-29 and the place was almost a ghost town. The beaches were very nice and nearly empty and the pool was not busy at all. I suspect the poor economy played a roll in low amounts of people there. Our condo had just about anything you could need in it...right down to a closet full of fishing poles, beach bags, water toys...etc...etc.They really have thought of everything. Not all the condos here are privately owned and outfitted the same. Ours had nice new appliances, granite countertops, and nice tile floors. The only thing I could complain about was the water pressure from the second shower head was low....but the other shower head was fine. I recommend eating at Crabby Bill's...we ate at the one in Indian Rocks Beach and also St. Pete Beach...and both times had great meals....Also recomomend a drive South to John's Pass....there is a little New York style pizza place over there that was fantastic...it is a must do...As always feel free to email me with any questions..

  • Liked — Beautiful location, close to everything
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank demaline25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

We stayed here for a week at the begininng of october 2008 and found it to be lovely. we stayed in e201, it is a 2 bedroom apartment and just less than a five minute walk to the beach. This place is ideal for young families like ours, the pool is heated and secure and such a short walk to the beach gives that other option. the apartment was clad and had plenty of space for our 2 year old to run around, though we couldn't fit the cot into our bedroom. If you want clean quiet and a beautiful beach then this is the place for you, we went on the beach most nights for a stroll after dinner and even during the day the most people we saw reached only 2 dozen. We did travel to clearwater beach and found it to be very busy even at this time of year. An added bonus is that just next door is the salt rock grill. Very nice fresh fish restaurant though they do a good steak also. we decided to stay here as we wanted to be in between st petes and clearwater so we could keep our options open. we also had a couple of meals at bubba gumps in madeira beach which is one of my very favorites whenever we go to the states. Only bad point was that it didn't have a safe but the fact it was in a quiet area and was so near the baech more than made up for it. If you are going to this area stay here. Jim

  • Liked — proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — nothing you should stay here
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank dundeetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Shores
5.5 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
720 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
423 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 4 in Indian Rocks Beach
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
2.3 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,540 reviews
4.7 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Resort

Property: Barefoot Beach Resort
Address: 19417 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33785-2216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Indian Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barefoot Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One bedroom w/sleeper sofa. Sleeps 4. Full kitchen. pool, private beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barefoot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Beach Hotel Indian Shores
Barefoot Beach Indian Shores
Barefoot Beach Resort Indian Shores, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing