We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, We will be back, Guaranteed.”
Review of Sun Burst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Burst Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Shores
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here Dec. 8-24, 2013, so 16 days total. This has got to be one of the best values anywhere in Florida. I would give it a solid 3 stars out of 5. There is no swimming pool for example, so if they put in a pool, it becomes 4 stars, but it doesnt need a pool, the ocean is right there. If you want 5 stars, go somewhere else and pay $300 a night, but don't come to the Sun Burst, and then bash the hell out of it here on Trip Advisor. This is a budget motel folks, not the Ritz Carlton. As a budget place, it does not get any better than this, On the beach folks, not across the road, down the road, we are talking on the beach, what is that worth to you? We had a full kitchen in our room which saved us money on meals. There is a Winn Dixie close by, and a Publix further away. My only complaint, and I hesitate to say it, because I should have said it in person first, but the mattress in my room was a bit soft and in need of being replaced imo. Great friendly staff, had a great stay, Thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregster297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thanks for the great review! We always try to do our best and hope you come back soon.

Michael, Marilyn & Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 220 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

Wonderful location directly on beach, but dirty-cobwebs, cockroaches, mold/mildew in shower and filthy dishes in cabinets. Coffeemaker had mold and an old used filter in it. Matrees was as hard as rock and as old as one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mom621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Hello;

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take pride in the fact that although we are an older hotel, we are clean. I do wish you had brought this to our immediate attention, rather than waiting until after checking out to post a review. We, as stated, are an older hotel and what you thought might be mold in the shower is actually old discolored grout. We are working on repairing and replacing the grout but since we almost always are full it is hard to get the rooms free for enough time to do so. I have been researching plastic surrounds for the rooms with problems, but do not know when they can be installed.

If you saw a cockroach, you would be the first person in many years as we have a very good pest company that services us every month. What you might have seen instead is called a palmetto bug, which is laughingly called the "state bird of Florida". Again I wish you had brought this to our attention.

Lastly, the used filter in the coffee maker. I can only apologize for this as my cleaning lady must have missed it somehow.

I hope you give us another chance in the future and hope we can exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Had a great 4 days at this nice little hotel. Stayed in room 22 which had a full kitchen, sleeps 5, and a great ocean view. Nice big room. 2 TV's. Staff very friendly and helpful. Suncoast Bird sanctuary is within walking distance. Some things are a little worn but all in all very clean. Beautiful view of the sunsets from the deck. It's not the Hilton, but we were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: second floor rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Royal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can come back again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Had fun time with friends great beach easy going staff..good location nice to have a kitchen for coffee and breakfast great sunsets!! Pet friendly and you can smoke on premise..walk to a great restaurant Salt Water Grill

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Flaeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

We are always happy when we meet or exceed our guests expectations. I hope you can come back soon and often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Needs a good cleaning!! Moved the end table dog friendly hair balls moldy showers filthy floors, walkways etc. help was friendly great views and yes my friend who lived in the area was welcome. Great location. Owners need to get back on location!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 53something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Sorry for any problems, Amy sweeps and cleans very well. However sometimes some dog hair gets missed or while sh's sweeping may get blown back under the furniture and not seen at the time. Also, we are working on updating the showers and the grout to get rid of the stains that have accumulated over time. Its not mold but looks like it.

We live on site, but have other businesses in California we need to be at three times per year in November, January and April/May.

Never feel afraid to mention a problem to any of us about anything, no matter how small it might seem. That's the only way we can address it and get it resolved, not only for you, but also whoever the next guest might be coming in tomorrow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Really do not want to tell everyone how much we enjoyed it. The word will get out and then we won't be able to stay when we come back because they will be full. A real beach treat. We have family living in Clearwater, but will come out here to stay because we enjoyed it so much. Will come back as often as we can.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

I always appreciate the great reviews and hope we ALWAYS have room for you!!

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I was flying solo on this trip and came across the Sun Burst Inn. What a pleasant surprise. Very well kept and clean. Great location and the beach is great. Cann't wait to go back. The staff were very pleasant and always eager to help. Their beach lounges made it easy to relax by the water. Blair

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thanks for the great review. I hope you can come back soon!!!

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Shores
1.7 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
430 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
837 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barefoot Beach Resort
Barefoot Beach Resort
#1 of 21 in Indian Shores
619 reviews
4.5 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Burst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Burst Inn

Address: 19204 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33785-2113
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Shores
Price Range: $145 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Burst Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Families & pets are always welcome! We want you to relax and enjoy your stay with us. Weddings, renewal of vows and memorials on our beach are welcome. We have had more than one happy event here and, in fact, the owners renewed their vows after over 30 years of marriage. Sun Burst Inn is located in Indian Shores, Florida directly on the beautiful beaches of the Gulf of Mexico. Our hotel is within easy reach of shops, restaurants and all you need for a wonderful vacation experience with a regular bus service at your door step if you need it. Our inn has eleven units, all with either kitchenettes or full kitchens, so it's your choice depending on what you feel you need. All units in our two story beachfront facility are either directly facing the world famous Gulf beaches, or a few steps from the beach. Enjoy Florida at its best the way it used to be: quaint hotels, friendly owners AND with all the modern conveniences. That's what you'll get when you visit The Sun Burst Inn. Pristine white beaches, splashing Gulf waters, and spectacular sunsets. All just steps out your room. Visit us soon and find out what the "real" and "friendly" Florida is all about! Lounge chairs, beach umbrellas, coolers, beach towels & beach toys all supplied with NO RESORT FEE. The Gulf Beach area provides many fun things to do because we are within easy driving range of attractions like Busch Gardens, Clearwater Aquarium (Home of Winter the Dolphin), The Salvador Dali Museum, Lowry Park Zoo and for shopping there's John's Pass Village and the Ellenton Outlet Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sun Burst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Burst Hotel Indian Shores
Sun Burst Inn Indian Shores, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing