We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet beach oasis”
Review of Sun Burst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Burst Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Shores
Lutz, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A quiet beach oasis”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful 3 night stay here.
This is how I remember Florida beach vacations. Just you and the beach. Walk right out to the water across clean white sand. Plenty of space to relax and enjoy the ocean and beach. This stretch of the beach was not crowded. It was almost like having a private beach. The rooms are very clean - Not fancy but quite nice. Our kitchenette included dishes, pots & pans, blender and microwave. Had free wi-fi and flat screen TV. The gulf-side deck outside our room was a perfect place to watch the sun set. The property is well maintained. Plenty of beach chairs & umbrellas to use. Amenities even included beach toys and gas grill at no extra charge.
Definitely returning to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeDeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Just the kind of guest we like! Well satisfied.

I hope you can come back soon and many times in the future!

Michael, Marilyn & Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    60
    20
    12
    12
See reviews for
84
88
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Panasoffkee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't go anywhere else. I'm hooked on the ,views of the ocean, the private beach access, the clean rooms, and the price. Each stay was consistant the four times I have stayed this summer.
"Well IT JUST FEELS LIKE HOME TO ME". Sincere, honest, polite, staff, Amy the manager, laura, and the owners that live on site, Marilyn and Michael Grimes. I thank God, I found this gem. If you have never stayed at the Sun Burst INN , Your missing out on this unique place. it is pet friendly, and truly, a good time, for all. you won't regret booking here, as it has the OLD Fl INN Feel.
Thank you Sun Burst Inn !
Sincerely, Karen Boyer

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainstormie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Karen;

It's always great to see you and we hope you can come back REAL SOON!!!!

Michael, Marilyn & Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Sun Burst Inn was a gem find! It's located right on the beach, so you don't have to walk 50 million miles to get to the sand. We stayed in Room 19, and you can see the beach right from the living room window. Out the door, walk across the quaint, little patio (which was great, because you could sit out on the patio and have a drink and a smoke while you listen to the waves), and the beach was right there.

As for the room, it was clean and comfortable, and had everything I needed. In fact, I daydreamed about living there!

As for the hosts, Marilyn, Michael, and Amy at the front desk, they were all great. They gave me some perks to make me feel more comfortable, and recommendations for good places to eat in the area.

I seldom give ":5s" on ratings and scores and such, but really can't think of a good reason not to do so this time. So, a 5 it is!

Room Tip: I recommend either room 19 (ground floor), 20, 21, or 22 (these are upstairs with a deck).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi Lorna;

Thank you so much for the 5 star rating. We hope that you will be able to come back and visit us again!

Michael, Marilyn & Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great place to stay, has a true 50's FL motel feel with affordable prices. We were so pleasantly surprised how clean the rooms were. The owners and management were so friendly and helpful. We thought the lack of a pool was going to be a let down but the secluded beach soon made us forget about a pool. There are also chaise lounge chairs and umbrellas for the beach at no additional cost along with free use of beach towels too. They also have a gas grill for the guests to use which was a great added bonus as we cooked burgers, hotdogs and drank beer while we watched the sun set with some old friends who came to visit us. The management made room for our friends to park their car at the bar across the street which was awesome as they have limited parking onsite. We loved this quaint little motel and for sure will be back. The only reason I didn't give this little gem an excellent rating was that the beds and pillows are somewhat uncomfortable and need to be upgraded but out side of that this place was a grandslam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPB_Beach-Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We hope you can make it down our way again.

Sorry about the bed not being comfortable. I bought memory foam for the sofa beds but hadn't gotten any complaints on the regular mattresses.

Hope to have you back soon!

Michael,Marilyn & Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Upon reading the reviews, I decided to stay her with my girlfriend. We both enjoyed the room, and will be repeat guests (already stayed there twice in the last month) First time we were in room 12, second time we stayed in room 21. Room 21 is a guest favorite and well worth the extra $$
Sunset was amazing, and the owners cat put on a show for us, catching dragon fly's. Front desk staff were friendly, accommodating, and a pleasure to speak with. Keep up the good work and look forward to seeing you all again soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Patrick;

Thanks so much for the great review. We look forward to many more visits in the future and hope our rooftop kitty's can be just as entertaining when you return!

Michael, Marilyn & Amy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our first time staying in Indian Shores, and we are so happy we chose the Sun Burst Inn. This is a great little place right on the beach. It is family owned and run, and they are extremely nice and make you feel at home. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We had room 13, which is a one bedroom unit with a full kitchen, a queen size bed and a full size sofa bed (which was very comfortable for a sofa bed). They do not have a pool, but with such an amazing beach, we did not miss having a pool. Across, the street is the Indian Shores Coffee Company, which is an AMAZING coffee shop and bakery. There are also many restaurants nearby.
We liked our stay at the Sun Burst Inn so much, we already booked another stay for this year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Lissette;

Thank you so much for the glowing review. I am so happy you enjoyed yourself and plan on coming back.

Don't forget to tell your friends!

Michael, Marilyn & Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I, my husband's mother, and two dogs recently stayed in a one bedroom, and there were plusses and minuses about Sunburst Inn. We were hoping to get into our room at around noon, but there was a busted pipe below our room, so the maintenance staff had to tear up our bathroom to get to the pipe. We finally got into the room around three o'clock, which was the normal check-in time. The busted pipe was not something that the staff could control and they did apologize that we were not able to get in sooner. We had lunch and then hung out in the beach area until our room was ready. it was slightly inconvenient since we had all of our luggage and two dogs.

The decor and furnishings are very old (think 70's), but the place is immaculate. There is an air conditioner, but it is in the living room. My husband and I slept in the bedroom the first night with the door closed and it was very hot for us; meanwhile, his mom was freezing and uncomfortable on the sofa bed. We switched for the next night, and everyone was happy. The bathroom is tiny and we only got one towel per person. We tried several times to exchange our towels, but every time we went down to the office, it was closed, and no one answered the intercom, so that was disappointing. The room smelled musty and we asked for some air freshener and the staff brought some up right away.

The beach area behind the Inn is tiny, but there is a nice private beach, and you can take the chairs from the Inn and move them onto the beach, as long as you return them, so that is very nice and convenient. We were able to lay out on the beach just at the edge of where the resort meets the beach and have our dogs with us, so that was really great.

We stayed at this resort mainly because it was on the beach and is pet friendly. We had stayed once before, so we knew that the furnishings and appliances were very old, but everything works. We will definitely stay at this Inn again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and it was a bit difficult for my husband's 84 year old mom to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSullivan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for the review. We do hope that you come back again in the future and we are updating the units as fast as we can, as an example #15 is getting a full bathroom remodel that should be finished within the next couple of days. At that point we will look at what other units most need help and try to get it done. We have added the murals in all of the rooms in the past year and also ripped out all the carpet and re-tiled all the upstairs rooms to make them pet friendly (before then we could only allow pets in the downstairs units).

Not sure why nobody answered the intercom as we are always on site, and when we are off site we leave our cell phone number on the office door. as for the towels, we do a towel and linen exchange every day from 10 am to 3 or 4 pm.

Anyway, thanks again for the review and please tell your friends!

Michael, Marilyn & Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Shores
1.7 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
418 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 4 in Indian Rocks Beach
818 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barefoot Beach Resort
Barefoot Beach Resort
#1 of 21 in Indian Shores
605 reviews
2.1 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Burst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Burst Inn

Property: Sun Burst Inn
Address: 19204 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33785-2113
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Burst Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Families & pets are always welcome! We want you to relax and enjoy your stay with us. Weddings, renewal of vows and memorials on our beach are welcome. We have had more than one happy event here and, in fact, the owners renewed their vows after over 30 years of marriage. Sun Burst Inn is located in Indian Shores, Florida directly on the beautiful beaches of the Gulf of Mexico. Our hotel is within easy reach of shops, restaurants and all you need for a wonderful vacation experience with a regular bus service at your door step if you need it. Our inn has eleven units, all with either kitchenettes or full kitchens, so it's your choice depending on what you feel you need. All units in our two story beachfront facility are either directly facing the world famous Gulf beaches, or a few steps from the beach. Enjoy Florida at its best the way it used to be: quaint hotels, friendly owners AND with all the modern conveniences. That's what you'll get when you visit The Sun Burst Inn. Pristine white beaches, splashing Gulf waters, and spectacular sunsets. All just steps out your room. Visit us soon and find out what the "real" and "friendly" Florida is all about! Lounge chairs, beach umbrellas, coolers, beach towels & beach toys all supplied with NO RESORT FEE. The Gulf Beach area provides many fun things to do because we are within easy driving range of attractions like Busch Gardens, Clearwater Aquarium (Home of Winter the Dolphin), The Salvador Dali Museum, Lowry Park Zoo and for shopping there's John's Pass Village and the Ellenton Outlet Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sun Burst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Burst Hotel Indian Shores
Sun Burst Inn Indian Shores, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing