We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet little hideaway, but not for long”
Review of Sun Burst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Burst Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Shores
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great place to stay, has a true 50's FL motel feel with affordable prices. We were so pleasantly surprised how clean the rooms were. The owners and management were so friendly and helpful. We thought the lack of a pool was going to be a let down but the secluded beach soon made us forget about a pool. There are also chaise lounge chairs and umbrellas for the beach at no additional cost along with free use of beach towels too. They also have a gas grill for the guests to use which was a great added bonus as we cooked burgers, hotdogs and drank beer while we watched the sun set with some old friends who came to visit us. The management made room for our friends to park their car at the bar across the street which was awesome as they have limited parking onsite. We loved this quaint little motel and for sure will be back. The only reason I didn't give this little gem an excellent rating was that the beds and pillows are somewhat uncomfortable and need to be upgraded but out side of that this place was a grandslam.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPB_Beach-Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thanks for the great review. We hope you can make it down our way again.

Sorry about the bed not being comfortable. I bought memory foam for the sofa beds but hadn't gotten any complaints on the regular mattresses.

Hope to have you back soon!

Michael,Marilyn & Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 221 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Upon reading the reviews, I decided to stay her with my girlfriend. We both enjoyed the room, and will be repeat guests (already stayed there twice in the last month) First time we were in room 12, second time we stayed in room 21. Room 21 is a guest favorite and well worth the extra $$
Sunset was amazing, and the owners cat put on a show for us, catching dragon fly's. Front desk staff were friendly, accommodating, and a pleasure to speak with. Keep up the good work and look forward to seeing you all again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hi Patrick;

Thanks so much for the great review. We look forward to many more visits in the future and hope our rooftop kitty's can be just as entertaining when you return!

Michael, Marilyn & Amy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our first time staying in Indian Shores, and we are so happy we chose the Sun Burst Inn. This is a great little place right on the beach. It is family owned and run, and they are extremely nice and make you feel at home. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We had room 13, which is a one bedroom unit with a full kitchen, a queen size bed and a full size sofa bed (which was very comfortable for a sofa bed). They do not have a pool, but with such an amazing beach, we did not miss having a pool. Across, the street is the Indian Shores Coffee Company, which is an AMAZING coffee shop and bakery. There are also many restaurants nearby.
We liked our stay at the Sun Burst Inn so much, we already booked another stay for this year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hi Lissette;

Thank you so much for the glowing review. I am so happy you enjoyed yourself and plan on coming back.

Don't forget to tell your friends!

Michael, Marilyn & Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I, my husband's mother, and two dogs recently stayed in a one bedroom, and there were plusses and minuses about Sunburst Inn. We were hoping to get into our room at around noon, but there was a busted pipe below our room, so the maintenance staff had to tear up our bathroom to get to the pipe. We finally got into the room around three o'clock, which was the normal check-in time. The busted pipe was not something that the staff could control and they did apologize that we were not able to get in sooner. We had lunch and then hung out in the beach area until our room was ready. it was slightly inconvenient since we had all of our luggage and two dogs.

The decor and furnishings are very old (think 70's), but the place is immaculate. There is an air conditioner, but it is in the living room. My husband and I slept in the bedroom the first night with the door closed and it was very hot for us; meanwhile, his mom was freezing and uncomfortable on the sofa bed. We switched for the next night, and everyone was happy. The bathroom is tiny and we only got one towel per person. We tried several times to exchange our towels, but every time we went down to the office, it was closed, and no one answered the intercom, so that was disappointing. The room smelled musty and we asked for some air freshener and the staff brought some up right away.

The beach area behind the Inn is tiny, but there is a nice private beach, and you can take the chairs from the Inn and move them onto the beach, as long as you return them, so that is very nice and convenient. We were able to lay out on the beach just at the edge of where the resort meets the beach and have our dogs with us, so that was really great.

We stayed at this resort mainly because it was on the beach and is pet friendly. We had stayed once before, so we knew that the furnishings and appliances were very old, but everything works. We will definitely stay at this Inn again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and it was a bit difficult for my husband's 84 year old mom to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSullivan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for the review. We do hope that you come back again in the future and we are updating the units as fast as we can, as an example #15 is getting a full bathroom remodel that should be finished within the next couple of days. At that point we will look at what other units most need help and try to get it done. We have added the murals in all of the rooms in the past year and also ripped out all the carpet and re-tiled all the upstairs rooms to make them pet friendly (before then we could only allow pets in the downstairs units).

Not sure why nobody answered the intercom as we are always on site, and when we are off site we leave our cell phone number on the office door. as for the towels, we do a towel and linen exchange every day from 10 am to 3 or 4 pm.

Anyway, thanks again for the review and please tell your friends!

Michael, Marilyn & Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We moved here from a terrible place. The staff was great, friendly and very helpful. The room was clean, It is not fancy but we are not fancy people. Enjoyed our stay. Hope to go back here again. My only suggestion is to give a small map of where to walk the dog. The dog walk is only about a block away but a little hard to find in the dark. The beach was wonderful, no crowds, just peaceful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for the great review! I am so happy that we could turn a bad experience into a great one. I hope you come back often!

The idea about the map for walking your dog is a good idea and I will see if the city has anything already printed that we can get for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Yes it is pet friendly, but that is all that is good. We stayed in a small first flood room, about hotel sized, was $90 a night, not bad considering its on the beach. I didnt like the room the minute I sawcit but my girlfriend said it would grow on me. I think something ua growing in it, my asthma which is normally mild, flares up minutes after entering the room, I could barwly breathe to sleep. The room and amenities are not particularly clean, and the window a\c unit cant cool the 10x14 unit unless its cranked down to 60. If you need a place for a night go for it, but not a place I would recommend for a Family.

2  Thank zopyros
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi;

I'm sorry that the room did not meet your expectations. We have replaced 5 AC units just in the last few months. The ocean sea air works BAD wonders on anything electrical. I hope that you get a chance to give us another try and that we can meet or beat your expectations next time.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with 2 adults and 2 kids, it was perfect for our needs, good kitchen and full size fridge/feezer which was great for ice-cream and treats for kids and keeping our cool bag ice packs frozen. The room was clean and nicely decorated, staff very friendly. Perfect location right on the beach. Our room was overlooking the parking lot which wasn't the best but we didn't mind too much as it was steps out to the beautiful beach that was almost like our own private beach. The only downside was the A/C whist it was nice and cold there is no unit in the bedroom which meant we had to keep the bedroom door open at night and this affects privacy and the living area was a touch too cold in order for the bedroom to be comfortable. otherwise great little place perfect for a beach break and would deffinately return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi Sue;

Thanks for the great review. I hope you are able to come back many times in the future!

Michael, Marilyn & Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Shores
1.7 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
430 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
844 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barefoot Beach Resort
Barefoot Beach Resort
#1 of 21 in Indian Shores
622 reviews
4.5 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Burst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Burst Inn

Address: 19204 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33785-2113
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Shores
Price Range: $145 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Burst Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Families & pets are always welcome! We want you to relax and enjoy your stay with us. Weddings, renewal of vows and memorials on our beach are welcome. We have had more than one happy event here and, in fact, the owners renewed their vows after over 30 years of marriage. Sun Burst Inn is located in Indian Shores, Florida directly on the beautiful beaches of the Gulf of Mexico. Our hotel is within easy reach of shops, restaurants and all you need for a wonderful vacation experience with a regular bus service at your door step if you need it. Our inn has eleven units, all with either kitchenettes or full kitchens, so it's your choice depending on what you feel you need. All units in our two story beachfront facility are either directly facing the world famous Gulf beaches, or a few steps from the beach. Enjoy Florida at its best the way it used to be: quaint hotels, friendly owners AND with all the modern conveniences. That's what you'll get when you visit The Sun Burst Inn. Pristine white beaches, splashing Gulf waters, and spectacular sunsets. All just steps out your room. Visit us soon and find out what the "real" and "friendly" Florida is all about! Lounge chairs, beach umbrellas, coolers, beach towels & beach toys all supplied with NO RESORT FEE. The Gulf Beach area provides many fun things to do because we are within easy driving range of attractions like Busch Gardens, Clearwater Aquarium (Home of Winter the Dolphin), The Salvador Dali Museum, Lowry Park Zoo and for shopping there's John's Pass Village and the Ellenton Outlet Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sun Burst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Burst Hotel Indian Shores
Sun Burst Inn Indian Shores, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing