We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun Burst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sun Burst Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent four days here in November of 2012 and it was wonderful. I had a little trouble with the type of room I had reserved, but they quickly resolved my problem. It was great to walk right out of the room and be on the beach in 20 seconds and it was less than a minute to get your toes in the Gulf waters! The little tables outside were the perfect place to drink coffee in the morning. The sunset over the ocean was great every day. The room was clean and comfortable. Just a short walk up the street is a really good seafood restaurant. If you need a luxury motel with turn-down service and designer furnishings, then this may not be the place for you. If you want an affordable cozy old fashioned small motel in a terrific location, then you can't beat the Sun Burst Inn. My only complaint is that parking is a little tight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you!!! You're definitely right, we are definitely old Florida, family friendly and pet friendly. Hope you come back many more times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    60
    20
    12
    12
See reviews for
82
88
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birdsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at Sun Burst last year and ( obviously happy ) re-booked the same room for this year. Freshly painted, new ceramic flooring, exterior walkways and deck spruced up. Mike and Marilyn ( and now Amy ) are very accomodating. Any problem in the room is immediately addressed. The section of beach to the rear of the Hotel was replenished in October ( the pipes utilized were to be removed by the 1st week in November ). Within walking distance of a couple good restaurants and a 10 minute , or less, drive from many more. We'll be back next year. Maybe Michael will start providing a complimentary bottle of wine... hint, hint.

Room Tip: Upper Rooms open onto a lovely deck, nothing other than a set of stairs between you and the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
A FREE bottle of wine?

Wow, you ask for a lot!

Maybe I will, but only if you share!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Many smaller intimate beachfront places have disappeared, bought and redeveloped into "Big Box" impersonal hotels and resorts. If you want the upscale, chic, uppity environment then go there. If you want what the gulf beachfronts used to be then go here, Sun Burst Inn. Innkeepers Mike and Marilyn welcome you personally, even late in the evening, with a friendliness and warmth that becons back to the Florida I fondly remember of decades ago. Our room, an efficiency, was spacious and comfortable with all the amenties we could want. At two stories, the second floor rooms all have a large balcony area with umbrella covered tables and chairs. Our room on the first was just a few steps from the common patio area with many chairs, tables and loungers, and the beach. The beach access area supports a variety of endangered dune flora making this spot even more Florida-like for its conservation of the gulf beach environment. The Sun Burst Inn is a piece of the real Florida beach life. Thanks folks!

Room Tip: We doubt there are any bad rooms, but we sure liked gulf-front 18 with a big window facing the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim and Connie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for the review.

I had a little chuckle because a friend of ours works for a large brand name hotel just down the road a piece. I immediately called her to let her know her new nickname was going to be "Uppity", LOL!!!

Thanks again and I hope you can make it back sometime in the future!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Let me just say this: If you run into problems, talk to the guy. He does have some customer services skills and some professionalism. The lady was not happy about our complains and we walked out loosing money. It was still worth it. Within 10 minutes we were in other resort (full kitchen, 2 bedrooms, pool...) short distance away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank purmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I understand your complaint, and am glad that Barefoot Beach Resort was able to accomodate your needs.

I note however that you ended up staying in a 2 bedroom just down the street (not on the beach) when you had only booked an efficiency with us. There is a large difference between the two types of rooms and I hope that sometime in the future you give us another chance to take care of you in a larger unit.

Thank you and again, sorry for the inconvenience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were so lucky. We did not have reservations but they were able to take us in. The Grimmes are such great people and made our trip bearable. We were there due to a family problem but they gave us a place to stay and helped us relax when were could. They provided everything we needed to enjoy the beach. Towels, Chairs And a Great Location On the Beach. The room was extremely clean and everything was provided in the room. It was the Florida experience my husband and I enjoy. The old Florida, the relaxed one. Yea !!!!! We found heaven in Florida.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi;

Thanks for the great review. I'm glad we were able to give you a place to "get away" from your other problems, even if only for a little while. I hope you can stay longer with us next time!

Hope to see you again soon.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had an amazing time here at the Sun Burst Inn. This hotel is right on the beach and they have lounge chairs and other beach supplies for your use. We came in October and the beach was very quiet and relaxing. There are several places to eat within walking distance of the Inn. Only minor complaint is the noise from the bar across te street, but you can cancel it out by turning up your ac. Overall a great place to stay and great value!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcawatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for your review and I agree that sometimes the live music from Mahuffers Bar can be disturbing. They try to shut it down by 11pm and thank heaven don't play all the way to closing time.

Some rooms are more liable to hear it than others, so make mention of that the next time you come down and we'll see what we can do to move you further from the road.

Hope to see you soon!

Michael & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The owners are very friendly and genuinely concerned that you have a pleasant stay. They are the old owners that took the place back from the "new" owners.

This is an "old Florida" experience. The rooms are rooms, not suites, so if you want to be coddled, this is not the place.

Parking is at a premium. Do not show up in an RV and expect to be able to park. We have a Suburban and it was hard to park in the allotted space and I have been driving Sububans since the '70s and can wheel and deal them.

The beach is nice powdery white sand and the water is clean, 3 1/2 to 4 feet visibility.

At Sun Burst, you are close to your fellow visitors. And like every place where there are people, you are effected by the actions of those around you. There was a group of people that were partying hard when we stayed. They were loud, drunk, and vulgar, dropping the F bomb or variations of it and other language indicative of those that do not have proper command of the English language. We avoided them as much as possible. I was going to say something to them, but my wife felt it would probably escalate into something in which we did not want to be involved. At check out, I mentioned this to the owners. They said they would try to address it; signs about no vulgar language or the like.

Our room was damp. The air conditioner cooled very well, but the dampness never left the room. I think it is too tightly sealed so there is not enough air circulation. I mentioned this to the owner and he said he would get the air conditioning people in to fix it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for the review. I apologoze for the actions of some of the other guests and their crude language. I don't know why some people have to curse like a sailor in every sentence, but when I hear it, I try to tell them to tone it down because we are a family business. Next time, it shouldn't have to be you that talks to them but myself. If you encounter that again, just let me kno and I will "hang out" near them until they do it in my presence and I can take action without involving you.

as for your suburban, the next time you plan to come down we are more than happy to move our vehicles out of the carport and let larger vehicles park in there. When we are full we have to do that anyway. Right now, there is a beautiful brand new yellow corvette parked in there because the guest didn't want to take a chance of getting the doors dinged by other cars. Last week we had a beautiful little duece coupe with a 409 engine just like the Beach Boys sang about.

On the AC, we had the people in to look t it and they said what sometimes happens is that when the unit is on and the vent is open it can pull in air from the outside. Since it has been really humid, they thought that might be the issue. Mybe I'll crazy glue them so guests can't fiddle with the.

Hope you come back soon!!!

Michael & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Shores
1.7 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#1 of 4 in Indian Rocks Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barefoot Beach Resort
Barefoot Beach Resort
#1 of 21 in Indian Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
2.1 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
4.5 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Burst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Burst Inn

Property: Sun Burst Inn
Address: 19204 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33785
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Burst Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Families & pets are always welcome! We want you to relax and enjoy your stay with us. Weddings, renewal of vows and memorials on our beach are welcome. We have had more than one happy event here and, in fact, the owners renewed their vows after over 30 years of marriage. Sun Burst Inn is located in Indian Shores, Florida directly on the beautiful beaches of the Gulf of Mexico. Our hotel is within easy reach of shops, restaurants and all you need for a wonderful vacation experience with a regular bus service at your door step if you need it. Our inn has eleven units, all with either kitchenettes or full kitchens, so it's your choice depending on what you feel you need. All units in our two story beachfront facility are either directly facing the world famous Gulf beaches, or a few steps from the beach. Enjoy Florida at its best the way it used to be: quaint hotels, friendly owners AND with all the modern conveniences. That's what you'll get when you visit The Sun Burst Inn. Pristine white beaches, splashing Gulf waters, and spectacular sunsets. All just steps out your room. Visit us soon and find out what the "real" and "friendly" Florida is all about! Lounge chairs, beach umbrellas, coolers, beach towels & beach toys all supplied with NO RESORT FEE. The Gulf Beach area provides many fun things to do because we are within easy driving range of attractions like Busch Gardens, Clearwater Aquarium (Home of Winter the Dolphin), The Salvador Dali Museum, Lowry Park Zoo and for shopping there's John's Pass Village and the Ellenton Outlet Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sun Burst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Burst Hotel Indian Shores
Sun Burst Inn Indian Shores, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing