We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De Stress at Sun Burst”
Review of Sun Burst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Burst Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Shores
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“De Stress at Sun Burst”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have not been at Sun Burst Inn for a couple of years as our last experience was not as pleasant as previous years. This followed the brief period when Sun Burst was under new mgt. Unknowing that the owners took back running the Inn, we decided to give Sun Burst another chance. From the time we called to the time we left, our exp was outstanding. Friendly staff and nice guest. Even the pets were nice. We arrived late so the Mgr just left our room unlocked and placed keys on the table. You won't get that serive from a big resort. We esp enjoyed having a ¼ mile in each direction of beach to ourselves, as the bigger resorts were further down the beach in both directions. We are planning a longer stay for next year.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for the Military Discount. They have beach towels and swap out daily....and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Hi there;

We are so glad you had such a great time and hope you can come back often to visit!

Michael & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    60
    20
    12
    12
See reviews for
84
88
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

WOW!!! What a great location. Thank you, Michael and Marilyn for great weekend. The room was clean and everyone that worked at the Inn was friendly and courteous. Veteran owed is a big plus. I highly recommend this property for a weekend retreat or longer vacation. I'll be in touch to book one of the gulf front rooms upstairs for our next stay! Doug and Lori

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kailuaduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hey Doug;

From one Vet to another Vet, thanks for the great review and I hope you come back soon and often!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is place to be!! The owners make you feel like family/friends. The hotel is right on the gulf. If you are visiting florida you should stay here, even if you were to have to drive a distant its so worth it. The rates are awesome and you can even get a room with a kitchen fully equipped with dishes. Its very quaint and how beautiful to open the blinds and all you see is the Gulf of Mexico.
They provide lawn chairs and umbrellas that you can take down to the sand too. They are so nice. I will be going back real soon. Oh and dont forget to visit the 40 year old bar across the street. Even if you are not a drinker you have to go do a walk through. Very cool and crazy decor! See you soon Sunburst Inn.. :) Best hotel in Florida..for real. Forget those hoity-toity hotels that are overpriced..Come to Sunburst Inn..You'll see what I mean when you get there! :)
(judy the pillow girl lol)

Room Tip: Get one that faces the Gulf of Mexico for sure :) (yet they are all nice..you are still right on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hey kiddo;

Glad you enjoyed yourself. Next time though I'm keeping that pillow. It was as soft as my wife's and I DON'T HAVE ONE!!!

See you soon I hope!

Michael & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had a great 3 days at the Inn...My room #15 was so pretty and quaint.The staff was very helpful and courteous.A real great bunch of people who couldn't do enough for you.They made you feel very welcomed.The beach was a few feet away and it was beautiful..I would definately recommend this Inn.Its not a 5 star Hotel but its also not a 5 star cost either.The rates are very reasonable for what I call a Fabulous Beach Rental!!! This will definately be a place I will return to every summer from now on!! I Greatly Recommend this beach house..HAVE FUN!!!!!

Room Tip: Quiet time is at 10:00 PM until 8:AM and I really like that..no running or jumping anywhere.AC was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Hi Donna! Just wanted to say thank you for the review. We hope you can come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The rooms are nice its right on the beach the owners r nice the rooms r non smoking but u can smoke right out side room all rooms have tables out side good stay just got back home to jax stayed for 3 days had a good time cooked on grill n evrry thing swam out to the sand bar good trip

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshginn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Just wanted to say thank you for the review. We always appreciate the time you took to write it and hope you can come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just back from yet another relaxing stay at the Sun Burst Inn. The Grimes' have spruced up this tourist-friendly property which reflects their devotion to service. My wife and I find the rooms to be comfortable,quiet, bright, a strong A/C,( no small matter for summer visitors),indeed our room had everything we needed in terms of kitchen amenities as well. The room rates are a 'deal,' and with the Gulf waters mere yards from the Inn, we will be back. P.S .On site free parking !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I waited to book my hotel room in Indian Shores until I got there and am glad I did. I didn't find the Sun Burst Inn on my hotel search sites when 150m miles away, but did when I was having lunch in Indian Shores on my first day there on business. It was Ideal. Clean, comfortable and well equipped room right on the beach. Friendly owners, staff, and other guests. It will be my first choice when I return to Indian Shores.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mindsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Shores
1.7 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
416 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 4 in Indian Rocks Beach
817 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barefoot Beach Resort
Barefoot Beach Resort
#1 of 21 in Indian Shores
603 reviews
2.1 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,495 reviews
4.5 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Burst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Burst Inn

Property: Sun Burst Inn
Address: 19204 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33785-2113
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Burst Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Families & pets are always welcome! We want you to relax and enjoy your stay with us. Weddings, renewal of vows and memorials on our beach are welcome. We have had more than one happy event here and, in fact, the owners renewed their vows after over 30 years of marriage. Sun Burst Inn is located in Indian Shores, Florida directly on the beautiful beaches of the Gulf of Mexico. Our hotel is within easy reach of shops, restaurants and all you need for a wonderful vacation experience with a regular bus service at your door step if you need it. Our inn has eleven units, all with either kitchenettes or full kitchens, so it's your choice depending on what you feel you need. All units in our two story beachfront facility are either directly facing the world famous Gulf beaches, or a few steps from the beach. Enjoy Florida at its best the way it used to be: quaint hotels, friendly owners AND with all the modern conveniences. That's what you'll get when you visit The Sun Burst Inn. Pristine white beaches, splashing Gulf waters, and spectacular sunsets. All just steps out your room. Visit us soon and find out what the "real" and "friendly" Florida is all about! Lounge chairs, beach umbrellas, coolers, beach towels & beach toys all supplied with NO RESORT FEE. The Gulf Beach area provides many fun things to do because we are within easy driving range of attractions like Busch Gardens, Clearwater Aquarium (Home of Winter the Dolphin), The Salvador Dali Museum, Lowry Park Zoo and for shopping there's John's Pass Village and the Ellenton Outlet Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sun Burst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Burst Hotel Indian Shores
Sun Burst Inn Indian Shores, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing