We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place and great location”
Review of Sun Burst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Burst Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Shores
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The owners, Michael and Marilyn are so nice and helpful. The hotel is very charming and clean, the beach behind is so beautiful and we appreciated the chairs, umbrellas and sand toys. You can easily walk to a great coffee shop across the street and nice restaurants close by. We would love to go back next winter!

Room Tip: the rooms in front have big decks outside and amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 221 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

Thanks so much to Michael and Marilyn. You are both warm and wonderful hosts! It was our pleasure to stay at Sunburst Inn from February 15th through 20th. The beachfront location is fabulous. There are plenty of lounges, chairs and umbrellas for soaking up the Florida sunshine. Our room, number 19, was comfortable, well-equipped and gave us easy access to Gulf Blvd. and the beach. The Inn is very pet-friendly and located in close proximity to a municipal dog walk area and comfort station. We had everything we needed from a well-stocked kitchen to a comfy queen bedroom, pull-out couches for our guests and access to a barbecue. There are plenty of nearby restaurants and markets, and a happening bar right across the street. Sunburst's atmosphere was friendly and laid back, and made for a great stay. See you again!

Room Tip: Room 19 offered privacy and a great view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiningtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel has an excellent location right on Indian Shores beach, but the room we had was average. The hotel is very dated and with some renovations would be wonderful. The room we had, room 14, is right under some outside flood light that shown into the room all night long. The horizontal blinds were not enough to keep out the light, brighter that several night lights. It could benefit from some room darkening curtains. The outdoor patio was very nice.

Room Tip: If you need a dark room for better sleep, do not pick room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuquita009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thanks for your review. The light outside the window is a safety issue to light the deck and stairs and we only use a 40 watt bulb. I can however understand your frustration when sleeping as I have the same problem and sometimes have to use eyeshades. I will run this by my boss (my wife) and see what we can do going forward.

Again, thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Would like to start by saying a big thank you to Mike and Marilyn for a wonderful time at the sun burst inn..... we booked into the sunburst for a 7 night stay and enjoyed ourselves so much decided to stay another 3 nights over the christmas period.

Our time here was so relaxing,wonderful sunsets,cool drinks,and sand between our toes!!!!
Mike and Marilyn were most helpful and accomodating throughout our stay.
This is by far the best place to stay for a beach holiday at affordable prices.
It was so sad to be leaving, but i no one day we will return !!!!!!!!

Thank you from Les and Debra (london)

Room Tip: beach front rooms looking out to sea are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

this neat little get-a-way won't let you want to go anywhere else ! Great Gulf view,private beach,each room unique,and most of all the owners who are warm,welcoming ,friendly and just let their guests relax, enjoythemselves and make them want to come back over and over again.
There were 12 of us last time we were there and not one complaint from owners Other guests were also friendly.
Mike and Marilyn..we are so glad you are back!!

Jane Sarris and Family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank del43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I found this place through a hotel search site and it was very cheap. I figured it was going to be really run down and in the middle of the city, but to my shock, it was right on the beach and it was very well kept. We were passing through on a trip all around the Florida coast, and stopped here before heading to Miami. We liked it so much we stayed an extra night and upgraded to the best room for half price! The beach has some of the nicest sand in Florida, I wish I took a bag home with me! The owners were super nice and helped us figure out fun things to do while we stayed there. When it came time to leave, they let us have all the time we needed to pack up and even let us hang out on the beach before we actually left. If I ever go back to Florida, I'll certainly come here again!

Room Tip: Go for the room that overlooks the Ocean, nothing like it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I had a great 7 day stay(Oct 30,2011-Nov 6,2011) at SunBurst with my 2 pet parrots. Originally checked the place out because I wanted a place where I could bring along my pets. After talking with Mike and viewing the property, I was hooked. I'm looking to go for another stay in early summer 2012. If you love the beach and have pets that come along on your travels, this is absolutely THEE BEST place to choose for your beach vacation experience...period!

Here's why you should stay at SunBurst...

It's right on a super beautiful beach.
The price is right.
Your pets can stay for free.
You can use SNAP fitness club to workout for free.
Very laid back, true beach ambiance.
The building has an awesome, and very appealing quaintness about it.
The rooms are perfect with everything you need for a long stay.
Restaurants, bars, shops, and other entertainment is in walking distance.
The coffee cups in the rooms are neat-o.(I bought 2 'cause I like 'em!)
And last, but definitely not least...and also most importantly...the owners/managers, Mike and Marilyn Grimes really friendly and they're very cool people!

STAY AT SUNBURST!

Room Tip: Just stay at SunBurst and you'll see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Shores
1.7 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
430 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
848 reviews
3.9 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barefoot Beach Resort
Barefoot Beach Resort
#1 of 21 in Indian Shores
624 reviews
4.5 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Burst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Burst Inn

Address: 19204 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33785-2113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Shores
Price Range: $144 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Burst Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Families & pets are always welcome! We want you to relax and enjoy your stay with us. Weddings, renewal of vows and memorials on our beach are welcome. We have had more than one happy event here and, in fact, the owners renewed their vows after over 30 years of marriage. Sun Burst Inn is located in Indian Shores, Florida directly on the beautiful beaches of the Gulf of Mexico. Our hotel is within easy reach of shops, restaurants and all you need for a wonderful vacation experience with a regular bus service at your door step if you need it. Our inn has eleven units, all with either kitchenettes or full kitchens, so it's your choice depending on what you feel you need. All units in our two story beachfront facility are either directly facing the world famous Gulf beaches, or a few steps from the beach. Enjoy Florida at its best the way it used to be: quaint hotels, friendly owners AND with all the modern conveniences. That's what you'll get when you visit The Sun Burst Inn. Pristine white beaches, splashing Gulf waters, and spectacular sunsets. All just steps out your room. Visit us soon and find out what the "real" and "friendly" Florida is all about! Lounge chairs, beach umbrellas, coolers, beach towels & beach toys all supplied with NO RESORT FEE. The Gulf Beach area provides many fun things to do because we are within easy driving range of attractions like Busch Gardens, Clearwater Aquarium (Home of Winter the Dolphin), The Salvador Dali Museum, Lowry Park Zoo and for shopping there's John's Pass Village and the Ellenton Outlet Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sun Burst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Burst Hotel Indian Shores
Sun Burst Inn Indian Shores, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing