We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient but load”
Review of Salt Rock Grill

Salt Rock Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This beach landmark is legendary, and it’s still on fire with a burning passion for delectable food, enticing drink and pleasurable surroundings. For an evening of fine dining, elegant atmosphere, superior service and genuine hospitality, Salt Rock Grill is your destination.Come by land or sea and enjoy the finest dining location in Tampa Bay.St. Petersburg Times–"The first modern surf and turf joint on the beaches still packs them in with red-hot, straight-ahead cooking. Steaks are first-rate, lobsters monstrous, wine cellar deep, seafood and fish souped up in spicy broth. The unexpected treats are root vegetables, lentils and smart spicing"
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient but load”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We ended up in the back room. I can appreciate that we had kids with us but you could not hear past the person you were sitting beside. The waiter was a bit sarcastic and a bit too flippant with his comments. Wine expensive and food was good. Nice meal but would not return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,291
    508
    234
    127
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Went there on a Saturday night in late March. Called about 7 pm and was able to get reservations for an 8:15 pm dinner. I had the best salmon ever. My friend enjoyed her lobster tail also. As we had a few drinks at the pool that afternoon, we decided on sodas only for our beverage. As soon as he heard that, our server said, "Well, let's get this show on the road then. What would you like to eat?" I definitely didn't care for his attitude and was a little concerned that we would be rushed. That was not the case but it the reason I didn't rate the service higher. I will definitely go back sometime.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Micr048170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Upscale Dining”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were lucky enough to get a window table, with a great view of the inland waterway. Food was excellent, cooked just right. Wine list is extensive, with prices for every budget. Friendly staff, willing to spend that extra moment to talk. If you are going, be sure to make a reservation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

So happy my sister-in-law made a reservations before our vacation here. Spent a very enjoyable evening here with family. Excellent food and drinks!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KimTRanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So good, I went back”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I visited the Salt Rock Grill on my recent vacation to Indian Rocks Beach. I was there in time to take advantage of there early seating menu. (Before 5:30) I ordered one of the meals which comes with fresh baked bread, choice of salad, the entrée and choice of side plus a chef's choice of dessert. I ordered the Catch of the Day which was Halibut that was perfectly grilled with red peppers and one of the best fish dishes I have ever had. It was so good I returned two days later to order the same thing. The menu offers a variety of entrees that will satisfy any palate. The ambience is excellent and the staff friendly and attentive. My waiter Jimmy was actually one of the best wait staff I have ever encountered. You will not be disappointed with a stop at the Salt Rock Grill.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank musial88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Rock Grill also viewed

 

Been to Salt Rock Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing