We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere & Good Food”
Review of Salt Rock Grill

Salt Rock Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Salt Rock Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This beach landmark is legendary, and it’s still on fire with a burning passion for delectable food, enticing drink and pleasurable surroundings. For an evening of fine dining, elegant atmosphere, superior service and genuine hospitality, Salt Rock Grill is your destination.Come by land or sea and enjoy the finest dining location in Tampa Bay.St. Petersburg Times–"The first modern surf and turf joint on the beaches still packs them in with red-hot, straight-ahead cooking. Steaks are first-rate, lobsters monstrous, wine cellar deep, seafood and fish souped up in spicy broth. The unexpected treats are root vegetables, lentils and smart spicing"
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere & Good Food”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to just see Salt Rock Grill as we were driving around so we pulled in to give it a try. We decided on valet parking since the parking lot was very confusing. The poor guy running the valet was running around trying to get everyone's cars out of the way. Seems to me that they could have at least 3 people out there. Very unorganized parking situation. But once inside we were pleasantly surprised at the atmosphere and the food. I had a delicious halibut dinner and my friend had a steak which she said was excellent. The drinks we had were very tasty, and the view was beautiful since we arrived almost as the sun was setting. If you come in before the evening rush, you get the early bird special pricing, which makes a great value, though prices on the menu were not expensive considering the caliber of the restaurant. Another fiasco followed when we tried to get our car, but other than the car situation, this was a very nice find and we will go back when we're in town again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,339
    528
    239
    131
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peabody
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, Parking is a fuster cluck”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The atmosphere was great, service and food were good. The parking was horrible. They have valet parking with one way in and one way out. Needless to say EVERYONE waits in the valet line even if you aren't using it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peabodymomof3gurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal, Fantastic Service, Beautiful View”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Came here for an early dinner. Sat outside on the deck. Beautiful views. Great service by Rachel. Delicious dinner and dessert. Worth every penny!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hipmamamooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Better than average Florida restaurant”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

A great location, with good food great service and good wine by the glass. Makes for a winner in my book.
You go for the seafood, cooked on an open grill in view of everyone. As a non seafood eater I cannot really comment, but both my kids like their seafood entries.
My pasta was surprisingly good with an interesting mix of flavours and seasonings.
Worth the trip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 10izboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fire & Ice...Wow! GREAT food, scenery,& service! what more could one ask for??”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Salt Rock Grill should always be a dining experience! It is WAY beyond just a meal! Our family ate there Wednesday night before Thanksgiving. Two of us shared the Fire and Ice appetizer as our meal..OMG! Magnificient seafood tower that we enjoyed plus enough to share with rest of family as an appetizer...36 raw oysters on the half shell that were some of the best I have ever had! plus clams, crab legs, deviled crab, giant prawns, & delicious mussels (usually I don't like mussels..but these were to die for!)..and probably other stuff I can't even remember. Try this ! It is a GREAT deal! Two of us had steak..the porterhouse was HUGE and delicious..cook rare to perfection. The filet mignon was very nicely prepared and delectable, The halibut was just good..nothing to write home about..but then...we are used to Alaskan fresh from the sea halibut. All of our party of 6 had a wonderful dining experience & very good to excellent food...with a spectacular view. This is where you want to go for a special night. Check out the infloor wine cellar also!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denalihalibut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Rock Grill also viewed

 

Been to Salt Rock Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing