We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great florida vacation getaway in Tampa Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sand Dollar Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great florida vacation getaway in Tampa Bay”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Beautiful beach and condos with excellent staff and pool area, with easy beach access since right on the beach. Most beautiful sunsets and very family friendly enviroment. We saw dolphins swim by every day. It was the best vacation ever. The Sand Dollar is near everything, and it is 1 hr from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island and 1 and1/2hr trip to Disney and Universal Studios.It is also near boating and fishing excersions too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCResorts, Manager at Sand Dollar Condominiums, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Carolyn,
Thank you so much for letting us know about your visit with us. We loved having you visit and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    23
    7
    4
    10
See reviews for
71
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Our family has spent a week in June at the Sand Dollar for the last eight years. We cannot say enough good things about the facility and the staff. My entire family travels from hundreds of miles to attend this family reunion and they would not want to stay any place but the Sand Dollar.

We usually rent two condos to accommodate our numbers. We always stay in 208 which is a beautifully decorated condo with a well equipped kitchen and spotless bathrooms. The pool is clean and carefully maintained and the staff is always helpful and knowlegable about the area.

If your looking for the perfect spot for a beach vacation, we highly recommend the Sand Dollar.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCResorts, Manager at Sand Dollar Condominiums, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Linda, Hello! It is always a pleasure having you visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again next June. Have a safe and happy year, Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olyphant, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our first impression when we opened the door was "it's so clean". Aside from that, being right on the beach, having a large pool, plentiful parking and the convenient location made this a perfect place. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCResorts, Manager at Sand Dollar Condominiums, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Donna, Thank you! We love it here too :-) and will look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

we stayed in room 303 and loved it! very homey feel and very clean! the staff was super nice and the beach was outstanding. you could literally leave your belongings on the sand for the day and no one would bother a thing. the only suggestion i would make is about the pool... there was no supervision and when it got to the weekend some visitors were swimming with alcohol and cigarettes in the pool as well as playing inappropriate music on a loud stereo. it was not a family environment. when it was reported to the staff nothing was done. other than that problem we had a blast! plan on coming again and hope my concern is resolved before then!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCResorts, Manager at Sand Dollar Condominiums, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Deb, thank you for taking the time to make this review. We really appreciate it. I have reported the issue and the Association is making plans for next summer . We always strive to make improvements all the time. Best wishes, Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed at this condo the weeks of June 11th to 22nd 2011. When we arrived at the condo the floors were filthy, Stained Couch, Plumbing problems, Load of towels left in dryer for us to fold and put away. Non-working dishwasher that was suppose to be fixed on Tuesday (didn’t happen) Received 2 sets of keys only One set worked was told that we would have another set fed-ex overnight (didn’t happen). It took 3 times of mopping to get all the ground in dirt cleaned from the floor.There was a lot of dust and dirt underneath the beds along with baby bottle with molded formula, pair of dirty underwear under one bed . There were 2 picture hangers in the living room with no pictures. The florescent light cover was missing in the bathroom. There were dried egg on several pieces of silverware and spatula. Concrete was chipping away and was painted over.

We contacted Libby about this and all we got was not promises to take were delivered.care of it and they
The only good thing about this condo was it had a good intercostals and beach view. So the amentias that you pay for you don’t have.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brwneyedgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCResorts, Manager for JC Resorts at the Sand Dollar office in the lobby at Sand Dollar Condominiums, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Wow, I hate to read stuff like this - almost as much as you hated experiencing it.
I just wanted to clarify for people reading your post that the condo you rented from an individual owner is NOT on our JC rental program. Unfortunately, owners who are not on site often have issues like this as they are not able to properly supervise the work in their condo. For condos on our JC rental program, we have housekeepers and maintenance people right on site and customer service and keys right in the lobby. We are constantly in the condos to assure our guests of consistent and above standard quality as you can see from the other reviews of the condos that are on my program. I wish you well and hope you have better experiences in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

My family and I have been going to the Sand Dollar since 1989. We have a different group every year. Our kids are now teenagers and still love this place. We get our group together for volleyball, baseball, Kan Jam or just hanging around the pool. The condos vary but we have never been disappointed. Most of them look out onto the Gulf of Mexico. There is a discount for the ones that don't. They are very large and the kitchens are fully equipped. Most of the condos that we have stayed in also come equipped with a washer and dryer. There is a large grassy area with BBQ stands. We love the fact that we don't have to rely on going out to restaurants every night. There are many choices of restaurants right on Gulf Blvd and we usually stick to a few favorites for lunch. The private fishing pier is an added bonus for us novices. Definitely a great spot for familes!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Knuckles63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCResorts, Manager at Sand Dollar Condominiums, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you! That is the best compliment we can get! We look forward to having you visit with us again next year!
Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

The Sand Dollar was a fantastic place to kick back and relax. We really enjoyed the two minute walk to the uncrowded beach and the nice beach walk from pier to pier. It felt very private even though you have everything you need at your fingertips. The close proximity to restaurants and shops was also a plus. The condo is very roomy and has an excellent floor plan. The large kitchen and living room have a great view of the sunset over the water.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenFrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCResorts, Manager at Sand Dollar Condominiums, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Hello! I am so glad you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Shores
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
423 reviews
4.7 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
720 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barefoot Beach Resort
Barefoot Beach Resort
#1 of 21 in Indian Shores
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sun Burst Inn
Sun Burst Inn
#1 of 1 in Indian Shores
219 reviews
3.9 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dollar Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dollar Condominiums

Property: Sand Dollar Condominiums
Address: 18500 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33785-2057
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Indian Shores
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Dollar Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Dollar offers 1, 2, & 3 bedroom condos with private balconies overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico and our white sugar sand beach that goes on for miles! Heated pool, JacuzziTM and private fishing pier serve to make a wonderful holiday. Outdoor barbecue and picnic area with lots of room for family cookouts. COme see why our guests make Sand Dollar their vacation home away from home, year after year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sand Dollar Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dollar Condominiums Hotel Indian Shores
Sand Dollar Condominiums Indian Shores, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing