We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome! Free admission, but worth the $25 donation!!”

Seaside Seabird Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and see our birds, Brown Pelicans, White Pelicans, Owls, Hawks, Vulture, Shore and Land birds. Come watch us feed our Pelicans every day at 2:30PM. Our Gift Shop is open from 9-3:30PM We are located in front of mile marker #13 on Gulf Blvd. (5th third Bank is directly across the street)
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome! Free admission, but worth the $25 donation!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stopped at this place on a total lark while looking for a letterbox. It totally made our trip, and is not to be missed. Access to the birds is *very* up close and personal. Added bonus: the pelicans that just hang around in hopes of scoring some fish. We have pictures of us literally 18" away from a wild pelican. Lots of other neat birds too, including a red tail hawk, some owls, and of course, every coastal bird on the gulf side of Florida. This place was way better than we expected, and so inspired us to drop money in their donation can. Great things to see, and great staff too.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank eshetney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    159
    53
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“WOW!!! DO NOT MISS THIS EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

On our recent beach visit, I made a point not to miss this. This is the largest wildlife sanctuary in the country. It is non-profit and is run by countless volunteers. I have never been around so many beautiful birds that have been injured due to human ignorance. This facility took in thousands of injured birds from the BP spill. We actually saw baby pelicans being born and cared for by the mama.
Children of all ages, adults will love it. Remember these are birds and there is bird poop.
The attraction is free but donations are accepted.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank trueheartreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

We discovered this attraction by chance after walking on the beach and seeing a sign for it. We stopped in and were pleasantly surprised. They seem dedicated to helping out the wounded birds. Glad we stopped in!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank FunMom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised by the Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

This gem is easy to miss if you don't know where it is, also parking is limited, maybe 15 cars. If you like birds you'll love this place. Their mission is to rescue injured birds, rehabilitate and, if possible, release them back into the wild. It doesn't look like much when you first go in, several smallish cages, but once you get past these it is BIG. There are areas covered by netting where you can get really close to pelicans, cormorants, egrets, spoonbills and all sorts of Florida birds. One funny thing is there were wild birds outside the nets who were just dying to get in. Admission is free, they do accept free will donations; worth it.

Helpful?
3 Thank Miike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you like wild birds... you will like this place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

This is a free attraction and a non-profit wildlife organization.

They rescue, rehabilitate and release wild birds; pelicans, hawks, owls, herons, ducks, etc. It is small facility (was originally just a simple beach front home) and staffed by volunteers and medical professions who take care of birds that are injured from contact with our modern civilization.

This is NOT a huge Sea world or Disney commercial enterprise with glitzy exhibits.

There are about 2 dozen pens that you walk right up to and get a good view of the birds. The gift shop is small. The info center is small too, but has an good video running of how the place got started and all they do for birds. (I skipped the surgery part... wimp.)

It looked to me like the place could use a donated pressure washer... bird droppings and everywhere... but the pathways are fine.

I spent 2 hours there. But I would guess that many people are ready for something else in 30 min.

So if you are a sucker for birds like I am and applaud people who care and take action for wildlife you will like this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank DaveKinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaside Seabird Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Seaside Seabird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing