We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After a reservation scare, an enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“After a reservation scare, an enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

My wife and I booked a two-night stay for a non-smoking room on points about a month in advance. We arrived at the hotel around 8:00 on a Saturday evening. The clerk politely informed us that our reservation was ready, but all they had left was a smoking room. We told him that this was unacceptable, as we would both get sick due to allergies. The problem apparently was that an expected check out had decided to stay. He said that he would do what he could to find us other lodging, but that the non-smoking room was a request, not a reservation. I told him that if this was, indeed, true, this would be the last reservation I ever made with Holiday Inns. Whether or not that made a difference, he then proceeded to go the extra mile to find us accommodation - not so easy because of the points issue (we also told him that we couldn't afford to pay an outrageous amount anywhere). After several unsuccessful tries elsewhere, he was able to get his manager to release a room that had been reserved for early check-in, but with no arrival as yet (again, this was at 8:00 p.m.). I hope we didn't screw someone else out of their room, but we were in! I'm sorry I didn't get the clerk's name, but we really appreciated his efforts.

The hotel is pretty cool. The top dollar rooms face a marina on the Intercoastal Waterway, while the rest (like ours) face inward toward an atrium that runs the length of the hotel. The atrium has a cool putt-putt golf course, although we didn't have time to play. Our room was fairly small, but adequate for a place to sleep. It had mini refridgerator, but no microwave. The bathroom was not huge, but decent. Jimmy Guana's is a restaurant right in the hotel. They serve a good breakfast and a decent dinner. There is free parking underneath the building. The hotel has two pools, one of which appears to be "quiet", while the other has lots of stuff for kids.

The hotel is off the main street, and is a three block walk from beach access. I wouldn't mind staying here again when we have time to linger.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaphod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    278
    101
    59
    60
See reviews for
323
233
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago,IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

We recently returned from a FL vacation, and chose HI Harbourside as we wanted to be in the Clearwater area. We landed on this hotel due to the space (beds) and pool (amenities) primarily, as we have 3 young children (8, 6, 3). We weren't disappointed in our choice; the pool area was very nice and kid friendly; it even had a sand-park area right off of the pool which was perfect for our son.

The room was very spacious, which was the biggest positive. Great beds and a large bathroom. My wife is picky about cleanliness and she was impressed with the overall room; we were really happy with the housekeeping staff and their attention to detail.
Room came fully loaded with dishes and everything we needed. We also liked the Jimmy Guana's restaurant, as the food was very good.

The negatives were few, but worth noting; the heating/cooling was a bit frustrating in the room (loud, hard to manage), and the location is a bit off-base from the strip. If you're wanting to be really close to the beach, this may not be the best option. This location is about 3 miles away from Clearwater Beach (not too bad), but certainly not across the street. Overall, we liked this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbck2333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

my husband, two year old child and i have been here for several days... leaving soon... wish it was longer. because the waters of the gulf weren't warm enough to swim in this week... the pool here has been wonderful. never too crowded. our son and the rest of the kids in the pool love the pirate ship, the waterfalls and the playground a few feet away. the pool goes from ankle high (perfect for kids to stand up and wade) to five feet, three inches. our two year old hugely improved his swimming skills here. there's FREE coffee in the morning. LOVE! you can rent tennis raquets and putt putt golf equiptment for free from the front desk. there's a post office, recycling (LOVE LOVE!) and the CVS drugstore a three-minute walk away... between the hotel and the beach. i booked through ichhotels and google and got a rate of $136.00/night. two queen beds, a fridge, microwave and kitchenette. i think we were upgraded to a room with a kitchenette - even though i didn't have to ask. we have a room facing the middle of the hotel - haven't had any problems with noise. if you want to splurge and get a bigger room, get one facing the marina. very pretty sunrises. the walk to the beach is five minutes... great beach (not rocky or seaweed-y like some people have said). we went to clearwater beach which is only a 15-minute ride north. we did have a couple of events in tampa (yankees game and busch gardens)... the drive to and from tampa and indian rocks beach is a bit of a trek... but fine if you're doing it only a couple of times. the room: the beds are great - just don't expect Westin Heavenly Beds, but we were super comfy. plates, bowls, utensils, pots and pans are in the cabinets. the fitness room is on the small side... but has enough weights and treadmills and bikes to accomodate a good workout. the beach is sooo close - we run every day. we'd stay here again in a new york city minute!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

my husband, two year old child and i have been here for several days... leaving soon... wish it was longer. because the waters of the gulf weren't warm enough to swim in this week... the pool here has been wonderful. never too crowded. our son and the rest of the kids in the pool love the pirate ship, the waterfalls and the playground a few feet away. the pool goes from ankle high (perfect for kids to stand up and wade) to five feet, three inches. our two year old hugely improved his swimming skills here. there's FREE coffee in the morning. LOVE! you can rent tennis raquets and putt putt golf equiptment for free from the front desk. there's a post office, recycling (LOVE LOVE!) and the CVS drugstore a three-minute walk away... between the hotel and the beach. i booked through ichhotels and google and got a rate of $136.00/night. two queen beds, a fridge, microwave and kitchenette. i think we were upgraded to a room with a kitchenette - even though i didn't have to ask. we have a room facing the middle of the hotel - haven't had any problems with noise. if you want to splurge and get a bigger room, get one facing the marina. very pretty sunrises. the walk to the beach is five minutes... great beach (not rocky or seaweed-y like some people have said). we went to clearwater beach which is only a 15-minute ride north. we did have a couple of events in tampa (yankees game and busch gardens)... the drive to and from tampa and indian rocks beach is a bit of a trek... but fine if you're doing it only a couple of times. the room: the beds are great - just don't expect Westin Heavenly Beds, but we were super comfy. plates, bowls, utensils, pots and pans are in the cabinets. the fitness room is on the small side... but has enough weights and treadmills and bikes to accomodate a good workout. the beach is sooo close - we run every day. we'd stay here again in a new york city minute!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Ar bor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

After a noisy first night, we were upgraded to a suite. The suite was very nice and quiet. Housekeeping staff was excellent. We enjoyed our stay here very much. The weather was unseasonably cold, so it was nice to have a jacuzzi.
We did have a problem with their wireless internet. Someone "sniffed" information we entered using their network, and broke into our Amazon account and bought $400+ worth of goods. Use caution on their network, as it is NOT secure!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wkkapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

This is an incredibly beautiful hotel. Excellent atmosphere, quiet, convenient to just about everything, excellent restaurants, exceptionally clean and well stocked rooms. Covered parking areas, nice boats out back on the docks. Just an overall excellent hotel that I highly recommend to everyone.

  • Liked — The hotel itself is set up beautifully!
  • Disliked — Not a thing.
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingK67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

We stayed here 5 nightsand it was pretty good.The hotel has a laid back Key West atmosphere,deliberately created,and is relaxing and while we were there quiet.
It`s located on the water,not the beach though-that`s about 10 minute walk away.The room we had was a good size with a small kitchenette.The bathroom was a bit small but adequateand there was a bath with over bath shower and there were plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries.The TV was a bit old fashioned but the range of channels was fine.There was no mini-bar but there was a fridge.No room safe.
Each weekday morning a complimentary newspaper was delivered to the room.
There`s a small fitness centre--I never saw anyone use it,not even me but it looked ok.
Car parking at ground floor level is free and plentiful.There`s free WiFi internet access in the room

There`s a pool and sunbeds and they`re fine though we preferred to go the the nice beach.

The on-site restaurant and bar,Jimmy Guarnos is alright and there`s live music every night we were there,even if the poor old artiste was sometimes playing to only a handful of people.Food there was pretty good,not cheap though but the convenience factor of wandering from your room a few yards out- weighed that some nights

Overall I`d stay again in the unlikely event I`m ever back but more importantly ,since I probably never will return,but only because life is short and I`m getting older and there`s much to see,I`d tell a friend he wouldn`t go far wrong to stay.That`s as much as any hotel can hope for in a recommendation isn`t it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dongola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Rocks Beach
7.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
4.6 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
2.3 mi away
Barefoot Beach Resort
Barefoot Beach Resort
#1 of 21 in Indian Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
5.0 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Address: 401 Second Street, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Indian Rocks Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn and Suites Harbourside Clearwater South! Enjoy your family vacation, business meeting, wedding, or social gathering at our 15 acre tropical Key West style waterfront resort. We are centrally located between Clearwater Beach and St Pete Beach, directly on the Intracoastal Waterway, in the heart of the quaint and charming community of Indian Rocks Beach. We are a short walk to the pristine beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. We are conveniently located next door to Splash Harbour Water Park and do offer discount tickets and packages for the water park. Boaters, fishermen and vacationers alike, enjoy our 50 slip marina where you can dock your boat, rent a boat, go on a chartered fishing trip, and dolphin and sunset tours. Unwind with a tropical drink and a great meal at Jimmy Guana's Waterfront Bar and Grill, where you can enjoy nightly tropical drink specials and live entertainment. Family's love our miniature golf course and game room. We have suites for every budget and size, from economical courtyard rooms, convenient studios, sunset and marina view suites to luxury 1200 sq. Ft. Condo villas. Connecting rooms, long term rentals and group rates are available. Our Key West Conference Center is the perfect tropical location for events, weddings and meetings with over 4,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible space for functions up to 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Indian Rocks Beach/Clearwater
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Holiday Inn Indian Rocks Beach
Indian Rocks Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing