We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Indian Rocks Beach (IRB)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Harbor Side in Indian Rocks Beach (IRB) from Feb 2 – Feb 6. I’m going to review the hotel and the area as when you stay here you are also choosing the area in which you’re spending your vacation.

Room: Our room was a Villa. At first glance, the room was breath taking. It had a full kitchen, a dining area, a living area, an upstairs bedroom with a view of downstairs, a bathroom with a shower and a Jacuzzi tub, and a great view over the bay. The furniture in the room was up to date. It was cleaned daily and we were given fresh towels. The staff even ran the dishwasher for us.

The beds were nice, and I didn't have a problem with the pillows although my girlfriend did not like them. There was a foldout couch down stairs. It had a blanket inside of it that was good for cuddling on the love seat or to use if sitting on the patio. The deck was also very nice. We got groceries at the Publix and cooked our own breakfast every morning.

There was a lot of closet space and some empty nooks and crannies. This seemed to be wasted space. It would have been nice to have at least a half bath downstairs instead of having to go upstairs. Also, the kitchen did not have a real knife, spatula, or scrubbing sponge to clean pots/pans. Also, our room had a layer of gunk on top of the shelves in the closet so if you want to put some clothes on the shelves in the closet you may want to put a towel down first. None of that was really a big deal and I realize that I am being a bit nitpicky =).

There are a lot of conference rooms in the hotel and there were several conferences going on while we were there. It was not a rowdy crowd. The hotel along with the area was quiet, but not quite dead.

Amenities: The hotel had a nice feel. It had a workout room, and a gift shop with an arcade. There was also a mini golf course spanning the main floor. It looked like it was free, but I think it was close to $10.00 for adults. The hotel also had an adult pool and a separate family (kids) pool. However, the kids pool was closed due to construction. There is construction on the south side of the property. It was scheduled to be completed in early 2014…….but doesn't seem close to being finished as of early Feb 2014. They are building more rooms and a water park.

The two restaurants/bars on property (Jimmy Guana’s and Rum Runners) were nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. I had the key lime pie and several drinks, it was good. There was nightly live entertainment – singing. On Wednesday we were the only ones sitting out near the live entertainment from 8:30 – 10:00 ish so it was like we had our own private show. The entertainer was good and asked for our requests. He had us sing some choruses with him. It was a good time.

Location: The location is ideal. It is very close to the beach, a CVS, a post office and several good restaurants. (Crabby Bills was okay, Aqua Prime was great. JD’s had good food, as did Slyce. If you like Sushi there is a very good sushi bar on the northeast corner of Crabby Bill’s). A lot of these restaurants have outside seating and live entertainment, so they can double as bars/clubs (JD’s was crowded every night). The beach was very close as well. It’s an easy walk for pretty much anyone that can walk. The beach had a lot of shells. The water was not clear and don’t expect to be able to see your feet at any point when you’re in it. Even though we had near a record high for February (83F), the ocean was still not warm enough to swim, and there was no one swimming. You can the beach for miles in either direction. There was seaweed on it, but I didn't see any trash.

The average age of patrons around the area seemed to be 60+. We are early 30’s without kids. Not exactly what we were expecting, but we still had a good time. It seems that younger people hang out at either St Pete’s Beach (south), at Clear Water Beach (North). Both are a short drive away. It seems that the IRB area encourages smoking as there is outdoor seating everywhere and ash trays. You can smoke at the bar! This was a big deal to my girlfriend as she said she hadn't done that since the 1990’s.

This was my first beach vacation that wasn't an all inclusive resort in the Yucatán peninsula or the Dominican. I would have rather went there, but this was good too. I would come back to the area if the price was right. Also, it is a nonstop flight from my rural airport, so that is nice. There are two airports in the area, Tampa and St. Pete/Clear Water (PIE). PIE is a nice, small airport, so it makes travel easy. Feel free to contact with any questions. A direct email to drteddydc at aol will typically yield a quick response.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stlchiropractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 832 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed in a harborside suite and it was just what we hoped for. The view was spectacular, the room was very clean, while sitting on the porch in front of our room we saw dolphins swimming, herons, pelicans diving. Two pools on property, great restaurant and bar, mini golfing. Short walk to beautiful beach. Would highly recommend it. The only rooms that have the nice view are harborside so it is worth paying the extra, otherwise you face the parking lot area.

Room Tip: We were on first floor harborside and had access to wide porch walkway, lots of room to sit at table...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catloverKingston_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Nice facility, even better than we imagined. It was kind of slow, so got an upgrade quite reasonable. Food was good, the area was Super! A short walk to the Gulf side beach, the sand was nearly pure white, lots of shells!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent two nights here while visiting my folks. Our room was upgraded to a studio suite on the harborside ("free"). The room was nice however, only the sheer blinds closed in the bedroom. The track for the heavyweight blinds ended and they were more like panels that covered 1/4 total surface area of the window. This left a privacy issue (you can totally see into the room with lights on or off at night) and a lighting issue. There was a bright light outside my door that shined directly into our bedroom, and in the morning the sun shined right in - waking us very early after a crappy night's sleep. Awful.

The kicker.... the internet didn't work. Did they mention that? No. Umm, I had work that I needed to do. Hello? who doesn't mention that kind of problem. Now, once we asked they did tell us (on Saturday afternoon) that it should be fixed by Tuesday. Maybe the room upgrade was suppose to be consolation to some that the wifi didn't work.

The staff was very nice. But I really don't like to play the game of omission. I expect to know if there is a problem that has a likelihood to effect me. The bottom line is that I will not stay here again. I think it is just bad business to play that game and there are plenty of local Mom & Pop and chain hotels in the area to choose from.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Laurie K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your willingness to spare some of your time to relay your comments is genuinely appreciated. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the issues you experienced. We understand the importance of a good night's sleep and we assure you these problem will be shared to our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Once again our third year in a row spent Christmas and New Year here and had a fantastic time. The room was perfect very clean the staff very friendly, plenty to do around the area, beach only a five minute walk away. The pools lovely and heated. I must say that the reception staff are excellent and very helpful. Thanks for making our holiday great

Room Tip: Best rooms overlook the harbour
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed in a 2 story loft.

WOw, talk about a lot of room. And right on the intercoastal. Saw dolphins every day.

Great location, just 2 blocks rom the beach and several great resturants.

Front desk worked with us to upgrade with priority points.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14fan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Staff was very friendly and the room was very clean. We were upgraded to condo style room with a view of the marina. We received two free drinks at Jimmy Guana's at check in . I will most defiantly will return to this hidden treasure,

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Rocks Beach
4.2 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
427 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,416 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,565 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
5.0 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside

Address: 401 Second Street, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Indian Rocks Beach
Price Range: $138 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn and Suites Harbourside Clearwater South! Enjoy your family vacation, business meeting, wedding, or social gathering at our 15 acre tropical Key West style waterfront resort. We are centrally located between Clearwater Beach and St Pete Beach, directly on the Intracoastal Waterway, in the heart of the quaint and charming community of Indian Rocks Beach. We are a short walk to the pristine beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. We are conveniently located next door to Splash Harbour Water Park and do offer discount tickets and packages for the water park. Boaters, fishermen and vacationers alike, enjoy our 50 slip marina where you can dock your boat, rent a boat, go on a chartered fishing trip, and dolphin and sunset tours. Unwind with a tropical drink and a great meal at Jimmy Guana's Waterfront Bar and Grill, where you can enjoy nightly tropical drink specials and live entertainment. Family's love our miniature golf course and game room. We have suites for every budget and size, from economical courtyard rooms, convenient studios, sunset and marina view suites to luxury 1200 sq. Ft. Condo villas. Connecting rooms, long term rentals and group rates are available. Our Key West Conference Center is the perfect tropical location for events, weddings and meetings with over 4,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible space for functions up to 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Indian Rocks Beach/Clearwater
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Holiday Inn Indian Rocks Beach
Indian Rocks Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing