We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room and Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Reviewed June 5, 2008

Stayed in Room 120, a two Queen room with refrigerator, microwave, two-burner cook top. Room was spacious, clean, and extremely nicely appointed.

Ate at Jimmie Quana's restaurant for both breakfast and dinner a couple of times. Food was good, not great. Live entertainment in the evening was very good, particularly on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Used the larger of the two pools. It was very pleasant, clean, and not crowded at all. Walked to the beach, two blocks away. It was large, mostly sand (not shells) and sparsely occupied. Didn't go back because the pool was so pleasant.

I would (and have) recommend this hotel and location to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taylorjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 857 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2008

We loved this hotel. We were upgraded to a suite facing the Intracoastal Waterway and had a great view. Am a member of Priority Club is how we got the free upgrade. The suite had a full kitchen and living area as well as a seperate bedroom, which had all been recently renovated. Pool was great and not at all crowded and loved the Tiki Bar at the pool. Great service at Jimmy Guana's from the bartenders and also the waitress Joy. They were rebuilding the docks right in front of our rooms, but never heard and construction noise. Did not start work until after 9am. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmyankeefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We went to this hotel through Virgin, and I have to say, out of the 6 hotels we stayed at while we were there, this was one of the nicer ones.

The reception staff were brilliant and very helpful. We had an issue when we first got to our room that the toilet door was locked and we couldn't get in, my genius partner just took the inside of the pen apart and poked it in the hole to pop the lock open again. This happened alot so watch out. We think the cleaners must have done it by accident as the door handle would hit the wall behind and thefore locking it when you closed it!

Anyway, we were here 3 nights and we really loved it, but I would suggest getting one of the suites, one night the people upstairs in their suite decided to hop in their hot tub at 1am (don't blame them!) and its quite noisey.

We also ate at the steak house restaurant at one of the ends of the hotel and that was also excellent (helped with the free house beer while you eat!!) but again, the staff were brilliant and food was lovely.

Overall a lovely hotel, the room was nice & clean, (I think it was a new one.....it smelt new!) and wish we had a bit longer here.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EyupImMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2008

My family and my brother's family met in the Tampa area for a vacation. This hotel was perfect for our families. We both had one bedroom suites that overlooked the harbor. Our kids loved watching the boats. The beach was about 2 blocks away -- and it wasn't too crowded. The staff were helpful; the rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable. Some of the areas could use some renovation -- especially the decking; however, for the price, the hotel was a pretty good value. Traveling with kids, it was nice to have the Kids Eat Free at Jimmy Guana's -- the food was ok and the service was friendly. We did cook breakfast one morning in our room -- and it would help to have better pans (non stick); however, it was great having a full kitchen.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank texasmomAustin_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2008

Overall we thought this was a very good place to stay for families. There was a great pool for kids and the beach is only two blocks away. There also is a 2nd pool area that has a hot tub. The beach was huge and not crowded when we were there. We would start at the beach and then go back to the pool and get all the salt and sand washed off us.
They have a restaurant on the grounds(Jimmy Iguana's) and one next door(Brewsters). Jimmy Iguana's lets the kids eat free as long as there is one adult meal paid for each free kids meal. The food was just average, the service was friendly but very, very slow. We ate there twice and both times they made mistakes on the meal. They had the best Pina Coloda I have ever had called the Iguana Coloda. There are restaurants close by-McDonalds, Wendy's, Village Inn, and Checkers-all are located off of 688(within about 5 miles). Within 3-4 blocks of the hotel is a donut shop, a Mexican place and two sea food places.
The rooms were nice. The hotel is very good about making sure you have the right style of pillow for what you are used to-they have 5 choices. Parking at the hotel was easy and ample(no extra charge).
Overall we had a very good time and will be back. Indian Rocks seems like a very laid back relaxed area. The only downfall is you have some extra drive time to all the major Parks. Lastly if you forget some necessities there is a CVS 2 blocks away and Target about 5 miles away.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bates316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

Like the earlier reviewer, we also stayed in room 207 which we also found to be rundown and unclean. There was mildew coming through the paint at the top of the stairs, mildew in the shower and jacuzzi grout, there appeared to be mold growing in the AC unit -which we couldn't run because we became stuffed up, and the ceiling fans were covered in dust, so we didn't use them either. Overall the room was very poorly maintained.

We had also confirmed an early check in the night before (we are (were) Holiday Inn Priority Club members), which was not honored the next day. The late check out was also not honored and the staff were extremely unpleasant and unprofessional. No apologies were offered for the condition of the room or the fouled up check-in and check-out.

My wife booked this stay for us to celebrate a milestone occasion, but we were only able to enjoy it in spite of our lodgings. We will not even consider staying here again, let alone recommending it to anyone else. There are plenty of better hotels that are actually on the beach in the same price range. I will admit that this probably was a nice place at one time, but it appears to need updating -rooms and staff.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrequentFlyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

My husband and I just returned from our visit to the Holiday Inn at Indian Rocks. After reading recent reviews, I was a bit nervous about the hotel. Upon arriving, I was immediately feeling better. Check-in time is at 4:00pm and we arrived before 2:00pm. We had lunch at Jimmy Guana's and they called us in about 45 minutes to let us know our room was ready. We were in room 146 and it was very nice and clean (studio room--2 beds, 2 closets, stovetop, microwave, fridge, table/chairs). It was obvious the room had been updated recently (it sounds like not all rooms have been updated by others reviews). All the rooms I saw on the first floor looked to be in great condition. The carpet was clean, bathroom was clean, bed very comfortable. The hotel has two pools, a gift shop, gym, volleyball, an onsite boat/bike/beach chair rental shop, and lots of walkways around the bay. We ate at Jimmy Guana's for two lunches, one breakfast, and one dinner. I have to say it was all very good (I was very surprised). The bands at night are great too. We did not eat at Brewmasters. We also enjoyed Crabby Bills near the hotel. The beach area was great--just a very short walk from the hotel. Everything went great for us--absolutely no complaints. The hotel staff were also exceptional. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Rocks Beach
0.1 mi away
Prestige Collection Harbourside at Marker 33
Prestige Collection Harbourside ...
#3 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
21 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
434 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,680 reviews
5.9 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside

Address: 401 2nd St, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785-2565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Indian Rocks Beach
Price Range: $152 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn and Suites Harbourside Clearwater South! Enjoy your family vacation, business meeting, wedding, or social gathering at our 15 acre tropical Key West style waterfront resort. We are centrally located between Clearwater Beach and St Pete Beach, directly on the Intracoastal Waterway, in the heart of the quaint and charming community of Indian Rocks Beach. We are a short walk to the pristine beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. We are conveniently located next door to Splash Harbour Water Park and do offer discount tickets and packages for the water park. Boaters, fishermen and vacationers alike, enjoy our 50 slip marina where you can dock your boat, rent a boat, go on a chartered fishing trip, and dolphin and sunset tours. Unwind with a tropical drink and a great meal at Jimmy Guana's Waterfront Bar and Grill, where you can enjoy nightly tropical drink specials and live entertainment. Family's love our miniature golf course and game room. We have suites for every budget and size, from economical courtyard rooms, convenient studios, sunset and marina view suites to luxury 1200 sq. Ft. Condo villas. Connecting rooms, long term rentals and group rates are available. Our Key West Conference Center is the perfect tropical location for events, weddings and meetings with over 4,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible space for functions up to 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Indian Rocks Beach/Clearwater
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Holiday Inn Indian Rocks Beach
Indian Rocks Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing