We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Reviewed May 31, 2008

My family and my brother's family met in the Tampa area for a vacation. This hotel was perfect for our families. We both had one bedroom suites that overlooked the harbor. Our kids loved watching the boats. The beach was about 2 blocks away -- and it wasn't too crowded. The staff were helpful; the rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable. Some of the areas could use some renovation -- especially the decking; however, for the price, the hotel was a pretty good value. Traveling with kids, it was nice to have the Kids Eat Free at Jimmy Guana's -- the food was ok and the service was friendly. We did cook breakfast one morning in our room -- and it would help to have better pans (non stick); however, it was great having a full kitchen.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank texasmomAustin_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 845 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2008

Overall we thought this was a very good place to stay for families. There was a great pool for kids and the beach is only two blocks away. There also is a 2nd pool area that has a hot tub. The beach was huge and not crowded when we were there. We would start at the beach and then go back to the pool and get all the salt and sand washed off us.
They have a restaurant on the grounds(Jimmy Iguana's) and one next door(Brewsters). Jimmy Iguana's lets the kids eat free as long as there is one adult meal paid for each free kids meal. The food was just average, the service was friendly but very, very slow. We ate there twice and both times they made mistakes on the meal. They had the best Pina Coloda I have ever had called the Iguana Coloda. There are restaurants close by-McDonalds, Wendy's, Village Inn, and Checkers-all are located off of 688(within about 5 miles). Within 3-4 blocks of the hotel is a donut shop, a Mexican place and two sea food places.
The rooms were nice. The hotel is very good about making sure you have the right style of pillow for what you are used to-they have 5 choices. Parking at the hotel was easy and ample(no extra charge).
Overall we had a very good time and will be back. Indian Rocks seems like a very laid back relaxed area. The only downfall is you have some extra drive time to all the major Parks. Lastly if you forget some necessities there is a CVS 2 blocks away and Target about 5 miles away.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bates316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

Like the earlier reviewer, we also stayed in room 207 which we also found to be rundown and unclean. There was mildew coming through the paint at the top of the stairs, mildew in the shower and jacuzzi grout, there appeared to be mold growing in the AC unit -which we couldn't run because we became stuffed up, and the ceiling fans were covered in dust, so we didn't use them either. Overall the room was very poorly maintained.

We had also confirmed an early check in the night before (we are (were) Holiday Inn Priority Club members), which was not honored the next day. The late check out was also not honored and the staff were extremely unpleasant and unprofessional. No apologies were offered for the condition of the room or the fouled up check-in and check-out.

My wife booked this stay for us to celebrate a milestone occasion, but we were only able to enjoy it in spite of our lodgings. We will not even consider staying here again, let alone recommending it to anyone else. There are plenty of better hotels that are actually on the beach in the same price range. I will admit that this probably was a nice place at one time, but it appears to need updating -rooms and staff.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrequentFlyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

My husband and I just returned from our visit to the Holiday Inn at Indian Rocks. After reading recent reviews, I was a bit nervous about the hotel. Upon arriving, I was immediately feeling better. Check-in time is at 4:00pm and we arrived before 2:00pm. We had lunch at Jimmy Guana's and they called us in about 45 minutes to let us know our room was ready. We were in room 146 and it was very nice and clean (studio room--2 beds, 2 closets, stovetop, microwave, fridge, table/chairs). It was obvious the room had been updated recently (it sounds like not all rooms have been updated by others reviews). All the rooms I saw on the first floor looked to be in great condition. The carpet was clean, bathroom was clean, bed very comfortable. The hotel has two pools, a gift shop, gym, volleyball, an onsite boat/bike/beach chair rental shop, and lots of walkways around the bay. We ate at Jimmy Guana's for two lunches, one breakfast, and one dinner. I have to say it was all very good (I was very surprised). The bands at night are great too. We did not eat at Brewmasters. We also enjoyed Crabby Bills near the hotel. The beach area was great--just a very short walk from the hotel. Everything went great for us--absolutely no complaints. The hotel staff were also exceptional. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

I researched for hours and decided that Holiday Inn Harbor (HIH) was going to be a nice choice for our short getaway. The location was good, easy to find, parking free and covered with elevator and stair access that were easy to navigate, nice pool area, and just an overall nice setting. From the reviews, I decided to spare no expense and go for the Harbor View Suite. I saw a standard room (postage stamp size) and for the size it was certainly better. Now maybe it was just our room - so I'll tell you now - Room 207 is in need of some serious upgrades and cleaning. I can't say anything about others. The bathroom had mildew, the ceiling fans had caked on dust, the air supply from the air conditioner looked dirty and possibly moldy, the bathroom hadn't been scrubbed in many months. We found it odd that there was just one bathroom which was up in the loft. Had closets everywhere and a kitchen that we didn't use. Could have easily put in a 1/2 bath downstairs.

We just didn't find the room to be at the standards we expected. The decking on the whole facilty was old and splintering. It needed powerwashing and stain at the very least. The facility itself was fine - although we didn't eat at any of the restaurants in the facility. Our best meal by far was at Salt Grill (Zagat rated). Make a reservation early and ask for an upper deck seat if you like to eat outside. We had a very good Italian meal at TJ's. Breakfast at the lighthouse was quick and decent. We also had breakfast at Frog Pond which had HUGE portions. My wife liked her Eggs Benedict, I was not so happy with my fritatta. Way too much food, way to little flavor. We also ate lunch at Crabby Bills on St. Pete's Beach which had a deck overlooking the beach. That was a great way for us to start our trip.

NIce area, could be a great hotel - just needs some love.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mpsseahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

i was born and raised in the area and now live on the east coast of FL. We have stayed here at least 5 times and have also just come to spend the day at the pool area. If you are looking for perfection and white glove treatment then you should book a Four Season's or Ritz Carlton. (Even those have issues at top dollar pricing) This is a very casual, laid back, Key West style resort. The loft rooms do need some upgrades but ,these aren't imparitive to making or breaking your stay. (New wallpaper in kitchen, new tile work around the jacuzzi tub...) Highly recommend the Loft rooms. The regular rooms are just that..a place to lay your head at the end of the day. The lofts were perfect for the amount of people we had, full kitchen, pull out bed in the couch(iffy at best..) and great poarch overlooking the intracoastal. (Be aware there is not ceiling fan out there and can get stiffiling hot during the summer nights. We picked up a cheap box fan from CVS 2 seconds up the street.) Also be aware that the one bathroom is upstairs in the loft room. Jimmy's is good all the bartenders are nice and I have only tried the typical bar food (buffalo shrimp, fish dip, etc) and found it to be just fine. The upper deck outside bar is small for sitting at but again the bartenders are good. Plenty of seating beyond the bar where you can watch the live band that plays. The lower pool area is good butmake sure you get there early to get a lounge chair. This is a highly popular pool /tiki bar for the locals and gets crowded on a nice weekend day. If you have kids they have a great pool section for them as well. I would not recommend dining at Brewmasters. For years it has been a top restaurant for early birders and crowds up with the old folks for mediocre food. The outside bar is good for drinks and watching the boats go by. I would highly recommend P.J.'s Oyster Bar for seafood and it's right across the street. It's a very casual local institution with good food. Won't break your bank, has paper towel rolls hanging from the ceiling, and dollar bills stapled to the wall. All the staff is great-get there early though or expect a wait in line any day of the week. This hotel is in a great location and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bucgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Terrible experience. The hotel is overpriced we paid 245 per night and compared to most direct on the beach hotels it's not worth the money. The rooms are nice though but the hotel is dirty, the pool area is old and bottles/glasses are still there in the morning, the restaurant furniture is dirty and sticky and we had to ask them to clean the baby high chair. One of the poles in the balcony fence was missing and our baby almost fell down, even though we asked them to repair it they didn't. Under the deck it was so awful with old bottles, cans etc not cleaned up. So overall a real disappointment and we surely don't recommend this hotel. Almost forgot: When we checked in no one told us about the kids eat free coupons, we had to figure this out ourselves, they didn't tell us about the facilities and restaurants and not until last night we realized there's a steakhouse restaurant inside the hotel, so again where's the southern "welcome to the hotel and let's tell you about our hotel" attitude?

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Rocks Beach
4.2 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prestige Collection Harbourside at Marker 33
Prestige Collection Harbourside ...
#4 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
8 reviews
6.0 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,629 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
2.3 mi away
Barefoot Beach Resort
Barefoot Beach Resort
#1 of 21 in Indian Shores
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside

Address: 401 2nd St, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785-2565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Indian Rocks Beach
Price Range: $139 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn and Suites Harbourside Clearwater South! Enjoy your family vacation, business meeting, wedding, or social gathering at our 15 acre tropical Key West style waterfront resort. We are centrally located between Clearwater Beach and St Pete Beach, directly on the Intracoastal Waterway, in the heart of the quaint and charming community of Indian Rocks Beach. We are a short walk to the pristine beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. We are conveniently located next door to Splash Harbour Water Park and do offer discount tickets and packages for the water park. Boaters, fishermen and vacationers alike, enjoy our 50 slip marina where you can dock your boat, rent a boat, go on a chartered fishing trip, and dolphin and sunset tours. Unwind with a tropical drink and a great meal at Jimmy Guana's Waterfront Bar and Grill, where you can enjoy nightly tropical drink specials and live entertainment. Family's love our miniature golf course and game room. We have suites for every budget and size, from economical courtyard rooms, convenient studios, sunset and marina view suites to luxury 1200 sq. Ft. Condo villas. Connecting rooms, long term rentals and group rates are available. Our Key West Conference Center is the perfect tropical location for events, weddings and meetings with over 4,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible space for functions up to 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Indian Rocks Beach/Clearwater
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Holiday Inn Indian Rocks Beach
Indian Rocks Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing