We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quirky and unique - we loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
313 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Quirky and unique - we loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I picked this hotel for a one-night stay based on its discounted rate from one of the hotel booking sites...what a neat find! It is indeed not new but very Jimmy Buffet-like in atmosphere. It has the potential to be noisy because the rooms open onto a verandah-like wooden sidewalk that skirts all the rooms and yes, you can hear people walking by, but only sometimes! The upside to this is its quaintness. The rooms open onto the inside courtyard in which there is mini golf and access to other amenities. The restaurant and bar, outdoor and indoor, is down at one end. We were given coupons for free drinks at check-in, so we went. Next morning I learned at the restaurant that there were also coupons for breakfast, which we did not have, but breakfast there was fast and efficient and delicious anyway, in a room well decorated with hanging fish and other Florida-type artifacts. The hotel room (we had two) was comfortable, nice TV, beds, linens, etc. There were three of us in one room and we were okay. The hotel backs onto a marina which gives it a nice ambience, and you can easily walk to a nice public beach, great for shells and sitting and strolling. My daughter went running on the beach. Parking was very convenient, covered, beneath the hotel, accessible by fast elevator. We would have liked to have hung around more but we had to get on our way. I would like to stay again for a bit longer and soak up more of the atmosphere. It was fun!

Room Tip: There MAY be quieter rooms based on where they are located, given the inside-sidewalk access to room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    271
    97
    55
    57
See reviews for
308
223
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I brought my husband and 3-year old son to the hotel, and here is pros and cons about the hotel.

pros:

The location is good. It is within walking distance to CVS, many local restaurants and the beach.

cons:
The hotel is a little bit noisy. I can hear the people upstairs walking, and I can hear the people walking in the hall way.

In addition, my room is not serviced till 3:00 pm. Because my son needs to take a nap in the afternoon, it turns out that my room is not serviced at all for 2 consecutive days.

Conclusion:
If you are a retiree and wants to spend time on the beach, this is a good hotel; otherwise, if you have young kids, you may think about other hotel options.

Room Tip: In this hotel, a standard room is connected with a suite. If you would like to connect with you fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orlando_Travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Orlando_Travler ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This property has a great location with a pier at the back and walking distance from the gulf boulevard and the beach. Very friendly and helpful staff. It's not a brand new modern hotel, so you can see the wear and tear in the building, the executive rooms are comfortable and clean, flat screen tv, AC, fan and etc...

What I would improve:
1- I would install an extractor for the kitchenet in the executive rooms.
2- I would allow windows to be opened.
3- I would improve the wireless service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FranGalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Bobbie010,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I sincerely apologize for any shortcomings you may have experienced during your stay. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope you give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future and provide you with the service you deserve and expect us.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington, illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Spent my first trip to Sunny FL. here. Great pool and bar and food what more can one ask for add great hospitality and it a recipe for a GREAT VACATION . The beach is only a couple blocks away,even better!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed in the lowest price room as I was traveling alone. Room was small but ok for one or two people . Very clean and updated. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Restaurant service and quality above average. Will definitely stay here again. A little nosy but that personally doesn't bother me

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chubmasterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have stayed at this property several times, and every time I have a great time. The staff is absolutely spectacular, extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The suites are gorgeous and very convenient; they are like a small apartment. The location is great; we even saw dolphins swimming in the inter-coastal once. Rebecca at the Front desk is just fantastic; she will go out of the way to help you. The restaurant “Jimmy Guanas” is always packed, that has to say something, the food is delicious, (you know how hotels have a reputation of having bad food?) well not here, the food is fresh and made to order and delicious. They have 2 pools, one is more for kids because it has a lot of waterfalls and characters; the other one has a hot tub, and this is the one that we preferred. We recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to travel to the area, and we will definitively be back. It is simply great!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenbeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We use this hotel often to put out of town guests. The property as a whole is very different. A kind of resort but not really The bar almost always has music. Restaurant is good in a pinch but not great. If you are lucky to get a water view, it is very nice. You can't beat the marina or the tiki bar on a nice day.

The basic rooms are very... Well.... Basic! They are very small and on the second floor the frontage of the nicer rooms that they call cottages. It depends on who has the "cottage" behind your room on the notice level and traffic. And also the noise level depends on how close you are to the band. The room has basic amenities and decor has very little imagination, cost or effort. More like a Days Inn type of room. But, it is clean. Very important. And I feel these rooms are over priced.

Now if you are one of the lucky ones to be upgraded to a "cottage" your experience will be much different. This is really a two story small apartment. The room is attached to the main building and NOT a cottage as the word suggests. You enter on the second floor of the hotel to the living quarters (behind the smaller rooms) with open 2 story high ceilings. A small kitchen, sitting area and dining area with the bedroom upstairs. With a nice view. Water view is spectacular but the parking lot view is still nice because of the sunsets over the Gulf of Mexico. Very comfortable but not plush. Decor is on the bottom of the scale and kind of cheep. I would really like to see a little "plush" in this space or maybe nicer carpet. When we had this room it was clean and the staff very nice.

If you get a standard room I would recommend this property if you will not be in your room much. The entertainment, pool, tiki bar are nice. And a short 3 block walk to area restaurants and the beach for sunsets. Pool is very nice with an area for the kids to play. Adults will love the tiki bar where you can also order food.

The bar is in the main building with all the tropical favorites and entertainment. It really adds to the property. The restaurant is ok. Service is good and food is good for what it is. Definitely adds to the property making it a full service property. There is no spa.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade to a "Cottage". Water view, not as noisy and very comfortable. If not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iconracrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Rocks Beach
7.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#5 of 94 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#9 of 94 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#12 of 94 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
5.0 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Address: 401 2nd St, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785-2565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Indian Rocks Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn and Suites Harbourside Clearwater South! Enjoy your family vacation, business meeting, wedding, or social gathering at our 15 acre tropical Key West style waterfront resort. We are centrally located between Clearwater Beach and St Pete Beach, directly on the Intracoastal Waterway, in the heart of the quaint and charming community of Indian Rocks Beach. We are a short walk to the pristine beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. We are conveniently located next door to Splash Harbour Water Park and do offer discount tickets and packages for the water park. Boaters, fishermen and vacationers alike, enjoy our 50 slip marina where you can dock your boat, rent a boat, go on a chartered fishing trip, and dolphin and sunset tours. Unwind with a tropical drink and a great meal at Jimmy Guana's Waterfront Bar and Grill, where you can enjoy nightly tropical drink specials and live entertainment. Family's love our miniature golf course and game room. We have suites for every budget and size, from economical courtyard rooms, convenient studios, sunset and marina view suites to luxury 1200 sq. Ft. Condo villas. Connecting rooms, long term rentals and group rates are available. Our Key West Conference Center is the perfect tropical location for events, weddings and meetings with over 4,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible space for functions up to 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Indian Rocks Beach/Clearwater
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Holiday Inn Indian Rocks Beach
Indian Rocks Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing