We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Why Sandy Shores is excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Shores

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Indian Rocks Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandy Shores
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Why Sandy Shores is excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I am a frequent visitor to this beach area, over the times have rented 8-10 different locations. The difference and excelence at S. Shores is that Ned &Myrtle understand the business they are in. You need to have this knowledge before you can compete and their expertise is reflected through out: how each room is equiped/appointed; cleanliness odor free; inclusion of a private patio; the attending to guests only when requested; it goes on. Restaurants, multiple, are in walking distance.

Room Tip: Unit # 2 or Grandmothers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IllinoisConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Ned and Myrtle are the best! My husband and I came to Indian Rocks to meet our new grandson for the first time. We really lucked out when we found Sandy shores. The bungalow we stayed in was terrific-clean, everything we needed. We can't say enough about Ned and Myrtle-Ned even made us fresh caught mackerel one night and serenaded us on his twelve string. It was like staying with family. We will be back many more times(I do have that grandson !!) Sue and Mikey Meatballs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Sandy Shores was exactly as described and more! We were very happy with the amenities provided. Everything was perfect! It was an extremely relaxing stay. Ned and Myrtle were gracious hosts and we can not wait to come back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teamowl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Ned and Myrtle make you feel right at home in this sandy bungalow on the beach! A must stay for anyone trying to break away from their daily grind, Sandy Shores lives up to its name and offers a relaxing experience that is unrivaled. We can't wait to come back. :-)

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stopped at this place because of vacancy sign and was near beach looked more homely than those condo type hotel rooms, I was very happy I did and stayed for 7 days Ned and Myrtle were excellent hosts and helped me out when I needed a couple of favours, the cottage was immaculate and had everything I would need for my stay including free Wifi, I Look forward to staying again there in the future. PS. Ned plays a mean guitar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just returned from our third visit to Sandy Shores and once again had a restful vacation. Was especially looking forward to this holiday due to the recent death of my father. Sandy Shores once again did not disappoint. Ned and Myrtle have a lovely spot here, right on the beach, yet convenient to all amenities. The location is quiet, the beach is clean and uncrowded and the water warm. Ned and Myrtle have done an excellent job of making the grounds look beautiful - like a little sanctuary! We stayed in the Patio Cottage and, once again, as with Grandma's Cottage and the Garden Cottage (both of which we stayed in previously), the cottage was impeccably clean, stocked with everything we needed (save for food) and the perfect size for the 3 of us. Thank you Ned and Myrtle - we are trying to plan to come back in late August this year, and again next year. Repeat customers are your best advertisement, as it is proof that Sandy Shores is doing is right - keep up the great work! See you soon :)

Room Tip: All of the cottages are great - you can't do wrong with any of the three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSkySand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Best Vacation Spot Ever. My husband and I recently vacationed at Sandy Shores, in Indian Rocks, FL. located just off the Gulf Coast, The cottage-style apartments were fully furnished, decorated, and equipped with kitchen appliances (if you prefer to eat in). It's setting is very peaceful and the living accommodations were some of the cleanest I’ve ever seen. Not to mention the beautiful botanical garden surroundings. Being only walking distance from multiple restaurants, the CVS Drug store, and the ocean, we feel we really lucked out! This private haven had some of the best seafood restaurants right across the street from where we were staying. All the locals were extremely friendly. If you wish, you can also travel by car to explore the plethora of beach towns along the 20-30 mile stretch down the coast.
The establishment is run by a PGA Golf Professional, Ned, and his wife, Myrtle, who are wonderful people, extremely hospitable and very personable. We got to know the owners quite well and Ned even taught my husband how to golf. We highly recommend Sandy Shores to anyone who is looking for an affordable, quiet getaway to the warm waters of the Gulf.

Room Tip: Didn't need a swimming pool, the ocean was perfect water temp in early June. Walking the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Rocks Beach
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 4 in Indian Rocks Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 94 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gulfside Resorts
Gulfside Resorts
#1 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sun Burst Inn
Sun Burst Inn
#1 of 1 in Indian Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#11 of 94 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
6.2 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 94 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Shores

Property: Sandy Shores
Address: 314 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785-2538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Indian Rocks Beach
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing