We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better could be worse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gulf Towers Resort Motel
st.petersburg, fl
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could be better could be worse”
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We actually came here because st.pete beach and treasure Island hotels were all booked for the 4th of july weekend, but actually I think it worked out for the best. We got a beach view room on the 2nd floor for a 100bucks a night, all the other hotels else where wanted a arm and leg for a beach view and even charged extra for our 2 kids which is bs. This hotel is old but they seem to have tried to update a few things, its got a mix feel in the room, some things were updated and others are old as my great grandma. The room was clean,smelled alittle musty but it went away or we just simply got used to it. The beds were comfy and soft, the room came with a microwave,2 burners and dishes. Dishes were has old as my great grandpa but hey they did the job so I seen past the oldness to them. The bathroom was average and simple nothing special,could use some updateing but Ive seen worse. There are too gas grills down stairs which was nice. The pool is clean and seemed maintaned and there is lounge chairs around it. The best part is the view from the balcony, the beach is close enough to hear the waves and walk to in literally a min or less. I have stayed in better updated hotels but for a big price. This hotel wasnt that bad of a stay at all, I really dont have any complaints that made my stay bad, if your down to earth and can see past the little things its a pleasent stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missa3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    25
    25
    45
See reviews for
33
44
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Just looking for a 2-night stay, so most other places were minimum stay. The first problem is that they have "resort" in the name...hardly! It was clean enough, but absolutely no extras, even charged for ice! Thin, thread-bare towels. Had lots of rules posted, but no enforcement. Kids under 14 unaccompanied in pool, making puddles all through the hallway. The location was about the only plus, within walking distance from CVS and great restaurants. Would never stay again or recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oviedosuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Indian Rocks Beach hotels

orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

we flew in some family and drove here from orlando for my sons birthday weekend, great location, if you like to be right on the beach, and a heated pool! free wi-fi, the down side to this is.... the elevator looked like it was made in the 70's... i rode in it ONCE and was afraid it was going to drop and any second we were on the second floor so just took the stairs.... paid 140 a night to see the street and crabby bills so the next night we switched rooms to have an ocean view for $15 more... the rooms are nice, beds are comfortable, no breakfast in the morning though... at that price they could give a little someting up...overall pretty nice, enjoyable and pleasent... there is a CVS across the street which is nice if you forgot something like we did, and they have a few gift items as well

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

This is a quiet older motel right on the beach,close to restuarants, drug store bus service etc. It was run down after the original owners sold,and appears to have changed hands again and has received a facelift
The new management is doing a great job.The building has been freshly painted both
inside and out,new carpets, different furniture, new linens and drapes, heated pool,daily maid service and pleasant staff. all this and still reasonable rates.
This is an excellent choice for older travellors. business persons and couples there are also reduced rates for stays of a month or more.
I have enjoyed my stay at Gulf Towers, unfortunately my holiday ends this week. I did feel that having read some of the adverse reviews I should write this before leaving.Will I recommend it to my friends, you bet I will.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Actually pretty dumpy,Ive been here maybe 12 times,But we guys dont care about the bads parts.Family, stay away

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioTanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Well, we came down to Tampa at the last minute on Fourth of July weekend, so finding a hotel for the weekend was impossible. When we arrived here and they had a room open, it should have been a warning. Where do I begin? I will start out that the staff was very friendly to me, unlike other reviews I read. We walked in to the hotel and the thread bare, dirty carpeting with an old disgusting dilapidated couch in the hallway should have been a warning. We took the elevator, because we had luggage, and we double checked to make sure the inspection sign off was there, because the one floor elevator trip was that scary. We arrived at our room, musty, smoky, and stale smelling. It was not pleasant. The bed spread, sheets, and curtains, (how much does it really cost to modify these items!!!)..where all disgusting to say the least, the thread bare towels, well those where outstanding too. I believe it did appear that the carpeting was newer. The furniture at best was cheap 25 year old poor quality hotel furniture. The parking lot was behind small, luckily enough we did get a space. Our saving grace was Crabby Bills, a wonderful bar and grill across the street, which we closed down so we did not have to stay in our room so long!!!! This hotel did have beautiful beach front property, I do not understand how it has not been renovated or torn down due to its location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basildogpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

During a Florida Beaches road trip, I was passing through the Clearwater area looking for a place to stay on the beach. I happened upon the gulf towers - great location, on the beach and near a bunch of restaurants. The hotel was old, old furniture, old building - but the location was great and the rooms were clean. There was also a pool which appeared to be well maintained. Again, if you put yourself in the mindset of camping without a tent - this is the place for you. Efficiency kitchen, great views - see here (www.bit.ly/beachexaminer) and great location on Indian Rocks Beach. Front desk staff was great, and gave me the keys to two rooms to check out before I signed up. I chose the $90 ocean front room instead of the $70 parking lot view room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBeachBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Rocks Beach
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 4 in Indian Rocks Beach
827 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
422 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Largo-Clearwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,536 reviews
3.0 mi away
Belleair Beach Resort
Belleair Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Belleair Beach
144 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sun Burst Inn
Sun Burst Inn
#1 of 1 in Indian Shores
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Towers Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Towers Resort Motel

Property: Gulf Towers Resort Motel
Address: 404 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785-2540
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Indian Rocks Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Gulf Towers Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gulf Towers Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Towers Hotel Indian Rocks Beach
Gulf Hotel Indian Rocks Beach
Gulf Motel Indian Rocks Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing