We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing vacation spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Star Motel & Apts.
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to stay for our family vacation! The Sea Star is a cute and quaint place literally right across the street from the beach! For a family of four, the rooms were a perfect size! Instead of feeling like a regular old guest, we felt at home. The owners, were always so helpful! They lent us beach chairs, rafts, toys and umbrellas! They gave us insightful information about how to plan our days (what was a "must-see", when were the right times to see it type thing). It is located in just the right spot! Almost dead center between Clearwater and John's Pass. The rooms were always kept so nice and clean! Our room had a full size refrigerator, stove, and microwave with dishes and utensils which was perfect on nights when we wanted to stay in and cook instead of eat out! It truly is one of the nicest places to stay in Indian Rocks, by far! I most definitely recommend it! We couldn't have asked for a better experience!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Excellent location, right across from the beach. The owners are present, willing to help plan your trip. Offered rafts, bikes, and other beach toys. Even made cookies for us upon our arrival. The rooms are average, small older tv, and no wireless internet for iPads, ect.. Has Internet to hook right up to laptop but that didn't help us any. Shower was very small. Did have a refrigerator & stove, microwave along with dishes & utensils. Did have to pay an extra $10 a night for a 3rd person in the room. This bring down the over all value of the stay a rad. We had a very nice 2 day stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Sea Star was a quaint little place with lots of personality. Its reasonably priced for the area your in. Its right across the street from public beach access and a block or two away from some local highly acclaimed restaurants. There was no cleaning fee which most of these vacation rentals charge. The rooms are decent sized unless you get the efficiency, which is why its called an efficiency(its small but does the job). The owner/ operaters are very cordial and live onsite(they even made us cookies the day of check-in). They store bikes, floats, chairs, etc.. for your use. We had no complaints and will be back and give them more of our business and others as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is a great little motel in Indian Rocks Beach, FL that is one block from the beach! We had our
wedding party staying here (the wedding was across the street on the beach) and it was everything we thought it would be- very relaxed and fun. The courtyard at the Sea Star was great for family gatherings and the rooms comfortable. If you are looking for the Ritz it is not . But it was well managed and clean, Bruce and BettyAnne will do anything within reason to make your stay enjoyable. They accept pets and Indian Rocks has a great little dog beach on the Intercoastal Waterway to Bellair! Fun for all! It is a quite location with wonderful restaurants walking distance. We will be back!

Room Tip: Old Florida Charm rooms. Could use to be updated but if you have great weather who cares at the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libbyweaver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I was going to be alone for Christmas--my first, and decided to go to the Beach., sensing that would be less painful. I found Sea Star Motel, or maybe it found me. Betty Ann and Bruce could not have been better hosts. I felt cared for. Their suggestions were great; they provided chairs and umbrella for the beach; they took care of any necessities promptly, and above all, were gracious in manner--a pleasure to know..Their Christmas decorations and giving spirit (I received a Christmas Card from them.) gave me my Merry Christmas. I found a peace that I did not expect. And I am very grateful.

My efficiency was not a motel/condo space--sterile/bland-- like thousands anywhere. In contrast, the room was a little cottage in Craftsman style--homey, pleasant, very clean, and inviting. Betty Ann's decorating/furnishings were lovely. I had planned on staying only two weeks, but Sea Star became my home-- with the Gulf nearby, an Episcopal Church within walking distance, fresh sea-food available, interesting restaurants, and beach to walk on--and so, I decided to stay a full month. And I do not regret the decision at all. Sea Star was a life saver.

I will return.

Rick Campbell----Valrico

Room Tip: Each room/apt. is in a different style. Have Bruce/Betty Ann describe them to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Our first visit to Sea Star hopefully will start an annual tradition. My wife and I were delighted with the accommodations and the friendly atmosphere of the guests and the hosts. We stayed for two weeks in one of the efficiency units that was well equipped with a king size bed and two recliners. It was very clean. Access to the beach was a short walk across the street - perfect for morning walks on the beach or just walking over to watch the beautiful sunset. Bruce and Betty Ann are wonderful hosts and will help in any way they can to make your stay enjoyable. We were even invited to an outdoor breakfast in the courtyard given by the long-term guests with the help of Bruce and Betty Ann. Would highly recommend the Sea Star.
Dan W.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We and another couple spent two nights in the two-bedroom Wooden Rabbit Cottage at Sea Star. Queen bed in one BR, two twins in the other. Comfortable, homey atmosphere with TWO recliner chairs in the living room (made the guys happy) and a futon couch (folds out into a bed). Clean overall including utensils in the well-stocked small kitchen. Excellent location close to the beach and restaurants. Talked with another guest at Sea Star, he has been spending his winters there for 11 years. That sort of loyalty speaks volumes about the owners! Keep in mind that this is an older property with smaller rooms...but it is a terrific value for the price. Compared to the "condo canyon" further north at Clearwater Beach, Indian Rocks Beach has a more relaxed atmosphere, which we enjoyed. Wish we could have spent the entire week...hope we can return!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Rocks Beach
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
868 reviews
1.3 mi away
Prestige Collection Harbourside at Marker 33
Prestige Collection Harbourside ...
#3 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
34 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Largo-Clearwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Belleair Beach Resort
Belleair Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Belleair Beach
152 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Quality Hotel On the Beach
#35 of 98 in Clearwater
815 reviews
4.7 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Motel & Apts.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Motel & Apts.

Address: 1805 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785-2955
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Indian Rocks Beach
Price Range: $70 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Star Motel & Apts. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Sea Star Motel & Apts. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Motel & Apts. Hotel Indian Rocks Beach
Sea Star Motel And Apts.
Sea Star Hotel Apts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing