We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chicago style oysters”
Review of PJ's Oyster Bar

PJ's Oyster Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“chicago style oysters”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

they are the best tasting oysters ever. the melted cheese gives them the best flavor. very casual dining atmosphere and inexpensive too. we love this place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank saturncmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    335
    145
    42
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madisonville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Loved the food, the atmosphere and the service. We watched the Steelers football game and the TV's were large and easy to see. Everyone was very friendly!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KatMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Worth a visit for the varied seafood menu at a reasonable price. We have tried a range of items on our visits to PJ's and have been really pleased with the seafood. Unfortunately would not always say the same about some of the meat dishes which seem to lack the taste and sparkle of the seafood dishes. The staff are very friendly and helpful, always ready to give advise on menu items. We tend to go later in the evening after the early evening rush when things are quieter. Have been to PJ's a number of times and will continue to go back as it is good food and a reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Maybe it was just a bad day?”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Someone told me they did oysters any way you want them so I asked if they could grill them. I was told my choices were raw, steamed, Chicago or Rockefeller. We tried all of them except raw and only the Chicago style were tasty; the rest were rubbery and tasteless. Maybe it was just a bad day or something, but we won't be rushing back there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Podie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We enjoyed our meal at P J's, we went 3 times in total. I had 3 different starters each time. 1st spicy prawns the chowder and favourite was buffalo wings. Wife had garlic bread with cheese 3 times, I must admit I have never tasted something so simple as garlic bread that tasted so nice, the Wife let me taste hers. I had grouper blackened each time. Food was good and not expensive.

Atmosphere was good and lots of background noise. Would go again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KenL419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PJ's Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to PJ's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing