We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guppy's on the Beach

Guppy's on the Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Guppy's on the Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 17th Avenue
Transit: Trolley Mile Marker, 17 1/2.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great is seafood. This is one of my favorite restaurants! It is a sister restaurant to E&E. You have to try the lobster escargo appetizer! The restraunt is immaculately clean, the staff is always extremely pleasant. We have never been disappointed with the food or the service. Atmosphere is good. Bar is always busy, and small. They do have a small area with tables for two to help the overcrowding at the bar. You are welcome to sit at one of those tables and just have a drink until your beeper goes off. One of the few restaurants that has a real menu for gluten free diners with many selections. Since i have never been disappointed with their service, I do not mind that they add 15% to the bill for the service. If the waiter is superb, I do not mind leaving an extra amount. We ordered off the the specials for the night. They are as usual, excellent. The best was dessert. We had the flourless chocolate cake. Wow! you need to order this if you go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saptraveler_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    999
    456
    115
    56
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quick nite out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Go to Guppys on a regular basis typically great seafood. Last two times we ate at bar with horrible customer service. Food was slow in coming and then order was wrong Our drink made without the volka. Again the waitress argued with me.

Bartenders could care less. Ordered a to go order and asked when receiving entre if they put it in. 30 minutes later it arrived. Guess what no one cared. Total lack of customer service. Total shame as this was a good resturant ruined by poor service

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cyclelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Atmosphere was good with nice old Indian Rocks Beach photos. Really liked that they had a real menu for gluten free diners with many selections. The Grouper Kingston was good, but not as spicy as expected. The Guppy's Seafood Bowl was AWESOME, nice gentle flavored seafood stew. Both meals started with a nice caesar salad. Didn't like that the restaurant included a 15% gratuity on the tab - felt that they thought we were cheap or stupid? Apparently they do this on all checks even though it was just 2 of us. A little pricey.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The service was great, especially the waiter who was very attentive. Our food arrived quickly and was hot and tasty. My husband got the salmon and I got a cesar salad. Both were delicious. Our 2 year old got grilled chicken and fruit and ate almost every bite. The atmosphere is more quiet and we had to be seated inside (even though we had called ahead for outdoor seating). Yes, they automatically put 15% gratuity on the bill, but this really isn't a big deal... you can choose if you want to leave it at 15% or add more. I do feel the prices are a bit high, but the service was good, atmosphere pleasant, restaurant clean and food hot and yummy! We would recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MamaRN83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best we expereinced nr Clearwater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were at the Sheraton Sand Key, so this was turn right and go 4 miles.... Great food and service, pretty reasonable price given the quality.
Kids food was also nicely prepared and presented, not just nuggets!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guppy's on the Beach also viewed

 
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
 

Been to Guppy's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing