We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for an "on the beach" small hotel”
Review of Colonial Court Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Indian Rocks Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonial Court Inn
Reviewed October 31, 2009

We stayed in unit #1 "The Indian," and were happy with this unit overall. The furniture was a little worn, and the unit was showing its age, but it was basically clean. It wasn't a problem for us, because it was just the 2 of us, but the bedroom walls did not go all the way to the vaulted ceiling. If someone was sleeping on the sofabed, there is visual but not "sound" privacy. The complex is on a nice beach, which was not crowded. The other nearby hotels are also small, which would probably insure that even in the busy season, the beach would have relatively few people. There was a bin of community toys, including a boogie board, available, which would be nice for a family with kids. There was internet access. There was never anyone in the complex office when we checked, but perhaps this was because of the time of year we stayed.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 48 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2009

This was my fourth stay at the Colonial Court Inn. As usual, I had a very relaxing, wonderful time there with my daughter and her husband. We love the unit known as the Heart, as it opens right out onto the decking, with its covered canopy, and right beyond that, that amazing white sands Indian Rocks Beach! The owners, Laura and Jim, couldn't be nicer, and after our fourth stay there, we are pretty much treated like family. It is simply a wonderful place to relax and enjoy a wonderful beach.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chukfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We didn't want to leave! This place felt just like home.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pattysanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2007

Colonial Court has been around for many years. The beach is truly gorgeous and Colonial Court definitely has that old Florida feel and charm. Although there is a great patio/grill area, there is no pool. Very few parking spaces. Good for kids. Has laundry facility which is convenient.

We stayed for a week in the Tarpon unit and had some problems. I contacted the owner shortly after our stay, and explained what we encountered during our trip. I did not want a refund, only some acknowledgement of my comments. Sadly, my comments to her were dismissed in their entirety.
So just be aware of that, should you have any complaints. In a nutshell here were mine: when we checked in, the entire unit smelled of fried fish. Apparently the prior guest had a heck of a fish fry! It took us 3 days of burning cinnamon 24 hours to get the smell out. It was really terrible. This unit also had only been given a quick superficial wipe down. Crumbs were left on the countertops, sofa, and table. Large dust piles with hair in the corners. Mold and mildew in the shower and on the shower curtain. The mattress in the bedroom had a large hump in the middle and the sides sloped downward so we rolled off the bed in the middle of the night, and had the worst back and shoulder aches! The blinds, and the tops of the windows and window sills were completely covered in dust, and the windows were very hard to open. (had to open the windows and all the doors because of the smell).

Don't get me wrong, this place has a lot of potential. The owners just need to put some $$ back into it. The units need to be thoroughly cleaned, furniture replaced, bathroom updated with new plumbing fixtures and tile, etc. It hasn't been upgraded in years, maybe even decades. The prices aren't bad - but you can get a newer, cleaner place a few doors down with a pool for the same price - which is what we are doing this year.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank abiggco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

have just spent a most fantastic, relaxing week in the indian apartment. each apartment is themed - they are just as they say they are on their website - only more spacious. a proper home from home, and full of little personal touches - they even have a torch and a first aid kit - everything you could need is here - even beach toys for the children. although our apartment didn't have a gulf view [they were all fully booked] - we could still hear the sea lying in bed!! we want to go back every year and try each of the 5 apartments - they are so cool!!!!!!!

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank evertonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2005

My husband,Daughter and I stayed there this past October 2004 and we just loved it. We stayed upstairs in Starlight and it was very charming and the bedroom was beautiful with french doors opening up to our balcony. Each evening the sun would shine through the windows and was just lovely. The sunset each night was awesome. We loved our view. We had plenty of room in the living room and kitchen. The couch made out to a bed for our 6 year old daughter.
The Inn was just quaint and uncrowded. Everyone that we met was so nice. Her gardens were lovely and they provided beach toys and boogy boards and chairs for the beach.
It was very convenient to a little store across the street and Crabby Bills which was awesome!! Loved the crab leggs and grilled shrimp.

If you looking to get away from it all and stay on a quiet relaxing beach this is the place for you. We were so happy to arrive after spending a hectic day in Orlando and sitting in traffic for 3 hours..... We arrived and the door was open and waiting for us with relaxing music playing throughout the speaker system in our unit. WONDERFUL!

The only complaint that I have is the balcony..It is shared and that is ok if you know the people,but akward if you do not. I think they need a piece of lattice to seperate Starlight from the other unit. Maybe something that can be taken down if needed???? The people we met next to us were very nice,but they were smokers and stayed up very late...You really had no privacy on the balcony if the others were out there. Other than that this place was perfect and I hope to go back again with Family and Friends and rent the whole upstairs to ourselves.

Indian Rocks beach was a great Joy to our family!!! Fun and Relaxing!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Babyjosie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2004

Our family enjoyed staying at the Colonial Court Inn at Indian Rocks Beach. The Inn had rustic charm that was right on the beach. It was very convenient to have "Crabby Bills" right across the street for great fish take out. Had the best lobster on the grill ever! Would be happy to stay there again but would probably stay in the upstairs unit since you could hear everything......and I mean everything from downstairs.

6  Thank happytrails2uall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Rocks Beach
6 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
858 reviews
0 mi away
Gulfside Resorts
Gulfside Resorts
#1 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Cozy Cottages
Sunshine Cozy Cottages
#7 of 12 in Indian Rocks Beach
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prestige Collection Harbourside at Marker 33
Prestige Collection Harbourside ...
#4 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Indian Rocks Beach Suites
Indian Rocks Beach Suites
#2 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Court Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Court Inn

Address: 318 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785-2538
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Indian Rocks Beach
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing