We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Gem”
Review of Great Heron Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Indian Rocks Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Heron Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 31, 2010

The Great Heron Inn is a great place to stay right on the beach. If you were more on the beach you'd be swimming.

The rooms are like little houses, with fully-equipped kitchens, separate living area, separate bedroom(s). They are clean---I never encountered any leftover anything or any dishes that weren't clean. It's homey, comfortable and awesome. It's like going to stay at a family member's home.

I absolutely adore this place! Herons flying in and out of the pool area (one at a time, and usually posing for magnificent pictures), the dock across the street, the attentive and courteous way that guests are welcomed throughout their visit ...and they mean it.

The "rooms"--because they're not rooms, they're little suites---are equipped with everything you'd want. Extra blankets, etc. I don't know why someone would say that dishes weren't clean enough. If that's the case, they provide dish washing liquid.

Again, I never found anything in our room that didn't belong...

But I found this Inn to be lovely, and I would tell anyone to stay.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank marghelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 160 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2010

Sorry for the delay in posting the review, better late than never! This was our first visit both to this resort area and this motel and you couldn't wish for a better location, beach out front and intra coastal right out back. As commented by other reviewers, this is an older style motel but very comfortable and with good sized rooms. Kitchens well equipped, and plenty of space in the one bedroom apartment. They also supply beach towels and umbrellas, and on the ground floor there is a coin operated washer and dryer that is available for guest use in the afternoons (they use it for their own laundry in the mornings). Our only minor criticism was that housekeeping was a bit hit and miss. We stayed a week and they missed taking the trash away several times, when we arrived we had to wash all the plates etc as they were really not clean, and there was stuff like plastic bags and empty boxes left in the drawers from the previous occupants. That said, these were only minor issues and didn't spoil our holiday. All the staff were really friendly and helpful any time you spoke to them.
We loved the area and found the motel very well place for exploring the area. On our first full day we bought an all day ticket for the Beach Trolley Bus and took a round trip all the way round, which gave us a good look at the area. The Trolley stopped just outside the motel and the mile markers along the street made sure you didn't get lost. We hopped on and off several times (at Pass-a Grille and John's Pass Village) and would recommend it to anyone. It meant that we could both have a good look out the windows without one of us having to drive. Really good value too.
We ate at JDs restaurant several times, just 5 minutes walk away across the road. We had breakfast there which was excellent, and also burger and fries one evening which was also very good.
We really enjoyed our stay, would recommend it, and will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GenieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Just spent a weekend at the best kept secret on the Gulf Coast. The Great Heron Inn is a wonderful quiet getaway from the condos and crowds of Clearwater. You literally step off the deck onto the beach and walk thru the dunes down to the water. The sand is as soft as talcum powder, the water is warm and the waves are very gentle. We stayed in room 112, one of the 1-bedrooms. The apartment was exceptionally clean, the bathroom up-to-date, and the kitchen area was well-stocked with all the basic dishes and cooking utensils, including a percolator coffeemaker and small microwave. The bed was very comfortable, and extra pillows and blankets are available in the closet. Just a note - this motel is very characteristic of old Florida coastal accommodations. It is not the latest appointments seen at a Marriott or all-inclusive resort experience, it is full of charm and character (the hallway mirror was rimmed with seashells). This is traditional Florida; this is not generic resort style accommodations. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We've already booked our return visit for the fall and cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paleo1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Great Heron Inn was a quiet small hotel/condo that was the perfect place for our family. It is an older hotel, quaint and comfortable. If you are looking for high rise luxury, this place is not for you, but it was just what we wanted. The pool and rooms were kept very clean. The pool was central and the beach was steps away. BEACH TOWELS are provided! A great bonus! Ideal for a family with children or for travelers not wanting to be a part of the crowded, touristy, beach scene. Only negative was that the beds & sleeper sofa were not very comfortable. Located close enough to Tampa that we were able to spend a day at Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5Hamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

This was our 3rd time here and it won’t be our last. We very rarely revisit holiday places but we enjoy this place so much, as do many of the guests who also return time after time. The suites are spacious, comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean. The location is perfect, right on the beach with the Gulf of Mexico only a few yards away. Nothing is too much trouble to Teena or her team, the guests comfort and enjoyment are their priority. For a chill out time without the hustle and bustle of a large, anonymous complex, this is the place – a real taste of “old” Florida, perfect ! ! ! !

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beedubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We've been here a few times,and always loved it. This year though, something was missing. They used to have a woman working there, I think her name was Rose, and she's gone. She did everything....cleaned the rooms, cleaned the pool, worked in the office, and was right there whenever you needed anything. She was friendly, helpful, and very quick to take care any request. She WAS the Great Heron Inn. It's still a nice little place, on the beach and great location, but the heart has gone out of it. Just not the same.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TropicalYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We stayed here for a weekend. This place was FANTASTIC. It's not as fancy as most of the other places in the area, but it's also affordable which makes it a great value. It was perfect for us and the people there were just as great. We were excited to find out our room was actually a suite. The beach was close, clean, and uncrowded. I wouldn't change a thing.

It was nice to find a place that was affordable and still on the beach. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sh0w_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Rocks Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
845 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prestige Collection Harbourside at Marker 33
Prestige Collection Harbourside ...
#4 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
4.3 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,629 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sun Burst Inn
Sun Burst Inn
#1 of 1 in Indian Shores
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Heron Inn

Address: 68 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785-3910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Indian Rocks Beach
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Great Heron Hotel Indian Rocks Beach
Great Heron Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing