We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“For Pure Relaxation, This Place Can't Be Beat.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Heron Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Indian Rocks Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Heron Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“For Pure Relaxation, This Place Can't Be Beat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We just returned from the Great Heron a few days ago, and I can't wait to return! Although this was our first visit, I sure hope it isn't our last. Teena and her staff, especially Susan, are constantly on the move cleaning and keeping everything in great shape. We stayed in one of the gulf front rooms and there is nothing better than opening the windows in the morning and hearing the surf lapping the shore. The motel is more like separate apartments with good sized rooms and a surprisingly well equipped kitchen. There was even a big glass pitcher for making lemonade or iced tea! The beds were a twin and a full size and encased in the plastic protectors to protect against bedbugs. I know this is a necessity, but I found it made the beds really hot by morning, That would be my only complaint. Each room has two chairs and a small table outside your door and is a great place to just sit and relax. They also provide loungers on the deck or Adirondak chairs in the sand if you prefer. Our sole purpose was to get away and relax, and be on noone's schedule but our own. We came home refreshed and recharged, which often is not the case on vacation. The one thing that really impressed me was the fact that there was a definite family feel among the guests. Everyone chatted with each other, and we learned that many people come there year after year to meet up with friends they've made from previous years. You don't find that comraderie very often! And maybe most importantly, I felt safe here. It was quiet and I never was afraid to go out on the deck in the evening alone to listen to the waves or gaze at the stars. There are plenty of restaurants up and down Gulf Blvd to choose from if you don't want to cook. I'm so glad I read the reviews here and chose this property, It really is a great escape! Oh, and don't miss Harry the Heron when he comes for his fish in the morning. Even he is a joy to watch!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank popcorngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    27
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
57
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place was found due to trip advisor reviews. When we arrived, it felt like an old motel like days of old but when we entered our room we were pleasantly surprised. There was a seperate living room and kitchen from the bedroom. The room had been updated and was very clean. The bed was comfortable and good size bedroom. If you are a big sports fan, the TV is an old tube TV. It was good size but not a modern LCD larger screen. The best thing about this place is its location. Right on the beach. Great walks on the beach and tremendous sunsets. Lots of restaurants around and the 80 degree pool was also enjoyable. Owers were very nice and freindly and would definately go back there when we are in that area. Also, Harry the Heron greets you every morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We just got back from several days at the Great Heron Inn. Everyone was so nice, friendly and willing to help in any way they could. It was quiet, right on the Gulf and convenient to several eating establishments. The rooms were large, kitchen fully equipped and they had great water pressure in the shower. Will return for sure!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dwipeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane Lew, WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Four years ago we discovered Great Heron Inn. As my husband is extremely particular, I had my son who lives in the area check it out a head of time. We are on our way next week for our 5th consequtive year and can't wait. Beach access is immediate, always very clean, management is friendly and helpful. For a place to go that is clean, family oriented, friendly astmosphere, close to beach and activities, this is perfect. Several of our friends have stayed there and thanked us for the recommendation.

Kathy Courtney, Jane Lew, WV

Room Tip: advise management of what you are looking for and they will fit you to the appropriate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hollywood26378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed at The Great Heron with my sister and her friend in mid July. We had a Gulf View room with a seperate living area , full kitchen, and bath for less than $120.00 a night! I checked with other hotels in Clearwater Beach and you couldn't get anything for less than $150.00 a night and that didn't guarantee you a gulf view. I woke up to the sound of the ocean every day. We were able to cut down on cost thanks to the full kitchen option. The hotel staff are wonderful and even provided us with coupons and recommendations for dining. They were always prompt,friendly, and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. I asked for extra beach towels and extra towels which were promptly provided. I would highly recommend this property for couples and families.

Room Tip: Get the Gulf View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Beyond the towering concrete jungles that have erupted along the west coast lies this quaint and quiet motel. It was just what we were looking for, and more! Our family loves to vacation in Florida towns and motels that have the flavor of the 1950s, and the Great Heron certainly fulfilled our desires. This motel was super-clean, the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, and the view from our Gulf-front room was amazing! The beach is pristine, the pool is crystal-clear, and the location is ideal, walking distance to enjoyable restaurants, with easy driving access to other activities. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Go for the gulf-front...it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SewManyDolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days with some friends in July 2012. Really great property & owners. Can walk to all the bars & rests. Very nice location. Very nice units with kitchen, & separate bedroom, very nice views. Will be back here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yurgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Rocks Beach
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 4 in Indian Rocks Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gulfside Resorts
Gulfside Resorts
#1 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sun Burst Inn
Sun Burst Inn
#1 of 1 in Indian Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.4 mi away
Belleair Beach Resort
Belleair Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Belleair Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#11 of 94 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Heron Inn

Property: Great Heron Inn
Address: 68 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785-3910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Indian Rocks Beach
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Great Heron Hotel Indian Rocks Beach
Great Heron Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing