We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Journey Back In Time”
Review of Great Heron Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Indian Rocks Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Heron Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Beyond the towering concrete jungles that have erupted along the west coast lies this quaint and quiet motel. It was just what we were looking for, and more! Our family loves to vacation in Florida towns and motels that have the flavor of the 1950s, and the Great Heron certainly fulfilled our desires. This motel was super-clean, the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, and the view from our Gulf-front room was amazing! The beach is pristine, the pool is crystal-clear, and the location is ideal, walking distance to enjoyable restaurants, with easy driving access to other activities. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Go for the gulf-front...it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SewManyDolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 164 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days with some friends in July 2012. Really great property & owners. Can walk to all the bars & rests. Very nice location. Very nice units with kitchen, & separate bedroom, very nice views. Will be back here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yurgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Great Heron Inn was the most awesome beach hotel ever! When you compare the price, cleanliness, and hospitality to other beach hotels, there is no comparison. The hotel is an older hotel, but so very well maintained. It's clean, everything is in working order, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. Tina, the owner, is the nicest ever! I like the fact that the hotel is small, and very family-friendly. My grandchildren especially enjoyed seeing Harry each morning. He is a great mascot! I like the fact that the hotel is right on the beach - when we tired of the ocean, we could relax in the pool. Beach chairs, kids toys, were all provided. I would definitely give it 5-Stars, and a BIG thumbs-up! We can't wait to go back, and I am recommending this hotel to all my friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size, with the exception of the 3 BR apartment. The only thing I would say i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

For the price and location this is a Great Inn. We stayed in Indian Rocks 4 years ago. We wanted a place to stay for 4 nights. It is a nice family owned business. The staff are all friendly and helpful. Our room was facing the beach on the 2nd floor so we had a great view. The place was a nice size and very very clean. We loved being able to get out of bed and head straight to the ocean. Our stove did not work when we got there, but they fixed it. We would stay here again in a heart beat. The price and location are right on. You could walk to local restaurants. We did have a loud and rowdy group of women (girls weekend?) staying in some of the rooms that took over the pool (which we stayed out at the beach), but other than that it was a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBHARTE67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed there over the holiday weekend as a last minute get away. It is an older building wih only a dozen or so units but it was a great place to stay and I'd definitely go back. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The location is perfect!! On the beach, walking distance to breakfast, dinner or drinks! The room was very clean and very affordable for all you get. Full kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. Great little old hotel with heated pool and beach access. They even provide beach towels, chairs and umbrella's for no additional charge. All you need to bring is your tired body for a very restful vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The great heron inn was a "fall back" when I couldn't get a nice balcony room in this area over Easter weekend.
I prepared myself for a less than perfect stay at a mom/pop hotel that was luckily beachfront (and we had the beach/ocean view room)
Reservations were handled pleasantly over the phone and confirmed via email.
Upon arriving the photos on trip advisor proved to be accurate, however I was extremely pleased when we entered our room. The space was clean through out. It appears that smoking is allowed but discouraged in the rooms. I did not notice any bad smells in our room except when doing a "sniff test" on a pillow and then it was very, very faint. We love open windows and I didn't notice any further odors past that.
The furniture is an eclectic mix of closely matching items - reminded me of good garage sale finds that you would use in a 2nd/vacation home.
We had a full and twin bed in the bedroom and pull out sofa for the 3 of us to use. The 1 bedroom was great for the 3 of us, except when the sofa was pulled out and others got up in the morning - then we resigned ourselves to the kitchen or outside patio/deck.
The kitchen was stocked for 5 people (room capacity) although there was really only room for 3 at the table. There are outside tables if you had a larger party. Utensils, dishes, and pans were adequate for basic cooking (which we did none of). There is a full size frig/freezer, stove, and microwave.
The pool water was crystal clean and kept warmed - lovely to dip in. There are plenty of beach chairs and loungers availabe - we never had issue and were able to relax privately with space inbetween the other guests.
The walk to the beach is clean and private from the building. We swam/floated in the ocean everyday, it would be wonderful for anyone wanting to just dip the toes or truly swim. The beach is clean, but not sterile. When we were there, garbage cans were picked up frequently on the beach.
The clientel at the Inn were a mix of retired (long term visitors I would guess) and families. There is a reasonable curfew that allowed us relaxing evenings and mornings (not that anyone got wild at any other time of the day).
I'm giving a 4 star based on what I paid. This is not the ritz, but just perfect for us. I will definitely consider returning to this Inn when I next visit the area.
You could stay here without a car and walk to some dining establishments, however we didn't feel any of the places were outstanding. There is a CVS a little ways up the road as well. There is a bus system/trolley that runs up/down the road that looks like it could work well, runs frequently. We had a car and did explore further beyond IRB, however most of our days were spent relaxing at the Inn.

Room Tip: We were in room 111, which is the south side ground level. You see more dunes than ocean, but it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wkndfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We booked at the Great Heron Inn because if its high rating on tripadvisor. Never were we so pleased with the system. This place is on the beach, clean, located near lots of great restaurants, and very friendly. The suites are the right size for two people and have what you need for more than a one nite stay. There is a coin-op washer and dryer and their mascot great blue heron is standing by the pool to wish you a good morning. I had never been to Florida, preferring the beaches and value of Veradero, but we liked this place so much that we booked for next year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canada_Reals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Rocks Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prestige Collection Harbourside at Marker 33
Prestige Collection Harbourside ...
#3 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
33 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Belleair Beach Resort
Belleair Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Belleair Beach
152 reviews
6.4 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
4.3 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Heron Inn

Address: 68 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785-3910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Indian Rocks Beach
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Great Heron Hotel Indian Rocks Beach
Great Heron Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing