We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Food great staff”
Review of Los Mexicanos

Los Mexicanos
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Food great staff”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The food was great, the margeritaas were excellent and the servers were cheerful and friendly.
The portion sizes are big so sharing is advisable. We paid $85 for 7 people including drinks. Good value for money

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RNSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    116
    75
    35
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good and cheap”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

we went for 2 for 1 margaritas and we really enjoyed it. We were only going to grab a drink but the food was so cheap we decided to eat there. Food was hot and on the table in less than 5 minutes. Very good service, and very fair prices. I highly recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
largo, fl.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best I have ever had, definitely not the worst Mexican on the beach”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

As locals we frequent this cantina for authentic Mexican cuisine, service is usually good, food is passable, never had to send anything back, love the Chile Rollenos and the Mariachi band is the best I have ever heard (even When we are in Mexico) and keeps us coming back. IT'S GOOD , DIFFERENT and PRICED RIGHT..... c'mon people, what do expect... Clint Eastwood shooting down tequilas in the corner? We LIKE it

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delst52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the best, nor the worst Mexican”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Went there for dinner, were promptly seated and waited, chips and salsa, drinks. The chips and salsa were good, but not excellent, the cheese sauce tasted like white Velveeta. I ordered a beef chimichanga and chicken enchilada, with rice and no beans, what I got was a chicken chimichanga and a beef enchilada, and beans with no rice. We were very tired after a long day of shopping and I didn't feel like complaining, so I just sucked it up and ate it. The chicken wasn't seasoned at all and bland, the beef was quite good, and the beans were a little runny. The service was good. This place was recommended by a local and told us it was worth the drive. It really wasn't.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RockinRhonda1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Genuine Mexican Food and Nice Atmosphere..”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had seen a few negative reviews, mainly relating to the service, and the reception at our hotel actually advised we used a different Mexican restaurant a bit further away. However, having looked at the menu on their website, along with a few comforting spelling mistakes in the translation to English, something told me this was proper Mexican fayre, and we should give it a go.
Having entered and been seated I think I can see why some may find the service a little unwelcoming. But as English tourists who speak a little Spanish, this was immediately picked up on by the waitress as we placed our orders, and suddenly a Spanglish conversation flowed and our waitress came to life!
I don't think there is anything unfriendly about the staff, I just think a couple of them are simply less confident when speaking to fast-speaking English or Americans with strong accents. Anyway as far as the food is concerned this is very authentic, and a vast choice means there is something for everyone. Even the kids menu includes something Mexican rather than the standard chicken tenders and burgers, and all four of our meals were of excellent quality and portion size. During conversation in Spanish with the waitress, my son mentioned that we were there as it was his mums birthday (she doesn't speak Spanish so didn't realise) and totally unexpectedly they came out at the end of the meal with a free dessert complete with sparklers and Happy Birthday song! To top off a great night, this was our cheapest meal in the two weeks we spent in Florida! I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough and would urge people to visit and make their own mind up. But my tip would be to throw in an 'Hola' on entry and the odd 'Gracias' to get the best out of the staff. A great evening and great food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Mexicanos also viewed

Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
 
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
 

Been to Los Mexicanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing