We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Five Star! Everything you could imagine and more!”
Review of Oceanique Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oceanique Resort
Reviewed July 4, 2009

We stayed at the Oceanique through a timeshare exchange. It is truly a fabulous resort! The staff, Janet, in reservations, Rita and Lisa at the front desk, and Patricia in activities, are friendly, professional, and truly desire to make your stay perfect! It is apparent that the resort's manager, whom we did not have the pleasure of meeting, is running a first class operation. The resort grounds are clean, the rooms are incredibly huge, the view from the balcony is amazing, and neither the beach nor the pool were crowded. The pot luck luncheon was great as we had the opportunity to meet other vacationers, just an added bonus. We ate out every night and found excellent restaurants close by. Coming from an Italian family we usually don't eat out Italian, but our kids wanted pizza so we ventured to Bizzaro's. Both the pizza and the pasta were absolutely incredible. In fact it was so good, and the service so exceptional, that we ate there three times! The wings, burgers, and antiques at Lou's Blues down the street were great, and for steaks the Texas Roadhouse was the best. We drove to the Cocoa Beach area for souvenir shopping, the pier, and nightlife. The Indian Harbour area is very family oriented and relaxing, not a lot to do, exactly what we wanted. We will definitely stay at the Oceanique again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MATRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 82 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2009

When we arrived to Oceanique we just kind of laughed because we didn't know what to expect and we saw this short clay colored building in between the cream colored surrounding hotel like buildings and we called it the "short stack" when we would leave to go into cocoa beach, wal-mart or wherever we would need to go we would just say just look for the "short stack". As we arrived the Lady at the front desk was so pleasant and so helpful she gave us little maps,brochures our 2 sets of keys and beach towels,parking tag. We headed to park the car and everything was just convenient there was a luggage cart to wheel into the elevator and we got to our room and it was very clean and cozy and fully loaded with anything you can possibly imagine just like if you were in your own house from a Mop to a cheese grater. I was quite impressed both bathrooms were very nice and big lots of towels. The rooms were very nice and spacious, there was a pull out bed in the couch. The Master bedroom was very big and had a great bathroom lots of closet space loved the dressers and the Roman style tub, shower was great. I loved the little triangular ledges in the bathtub areas. The view from the balcony was beautiful it overlooked the pool area and the beach. There were daily activities for the family. Though the beach was very beautiful we were unable to go swimming at the Oceanique beach and would daily have to drive down to Cocoa Beach(13 miles away) There are these huge "reef rocks" that enable you from just stepping into the ocean you must get on a boogie board to pass the reef rocks or with the strong waves you could get knocked down and seriously hurt. Oh, and there a lot of shells everywhere, they make nice little presents. We didn't mind driving to Cocoa Beach it was like 15 mins away and you got to pass the airforce base nearby and explore the famous surf town. Oceanique is near everything so that was a big plus. Other than the "reef rocks" everything was absolutely great and gorgeous!! Would definately go again. My family Loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picante426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

My husband and I own a timeshare through Interval International and we traded our week to stay at the Oceanique the first week of November. We had a wonderful experience and will definitely be returning. In reading the other reviews on this site, we agree with the positive reviews and take exception with the negative ones. The comments about rocks on the beach were puzzling. Further up the beach from the resort there are big rocks submerged in the water that you need to be careful around but there is ample beach area without the rocks. We saw surfers most days we were there and the rocks didn’t seem to be bothering them at all. We didn’t see rocks on the actual beach, although there were areas that had quite an array of small shells. I suppose these could be painful to walk on if one was barefoot but we picked our way around them on our walks on the beach and it was not a great inconvenience. The shelling was excellent and I gathered many new shells to add to those I’ve collected on my many trips to Florida.

Now to the positives – this is a small resort, only 24 units and this contributes to the family type atmosphere that one encounters from the very start of the week. The front desk staff greeted us warmly and allowed us to check into our unit before the normal 3:00 check-in time. I am sure this was due to it being off season and the resort not being sold out. Nevertheless, we appreciated getting into our unit early. The units are spacious, clean, and nicely furnished. All units are two bedrooms/two bathrooms. Each one has a washer and dryer and a completely furnished kitchen. The view of the beach from the balcony is gorgeous. The starter package of supplies provided was very helpful. The only two negatives for the units are minor things. It would be nice if the garden tub was a jacuzzi and the second bedroom had small twin beds rather than a full size bed and did not have a television. I believe they are adding TV's in the rennovation plans.

The pool is actually a heated pool as promised, something that is not always true as we have found in our travels. The hot tub was just the right temperature – not too hot or too cool. Everything was extremely clean and well maintained. The fact that you have to use a key to get into the pool area meant that we felt very safe and secluded at all times. The pool was never overly crowded, there are plenty of chairs and we appreciated the provided pool towels.

One of the best things about the Oceanique is the staff. I have already mentioned the wonderful ladies in the office and at the front desk. The activities director, Patricia, is a jewel. She is a bundle of energy and in no time we felt we had made a new friend. She also makes a fabulous bloody Mary, as we found out at the Sunday morning get acquainted time. She is a wealth of information from what activities to choose in the surrounding area to which restaurants to try. Our favorites were Goombays for fabulous shrimp bisque, Pistilli’s for great Italian food, and Doubles for a fun atmosphere and good food at great prices. We took part in several of the planned activities during the week such as the karaoke evening at a sister resort and kayaking on the Banana River, both which we enjoyed very much.

At the end of our week, we left relaxed and with the feeling that we had made a new group of friends. We are considering becoming owners and at the very least, plan to trade into the Oceanique again. We can give it our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wperrelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

After reading reviews here we decided to try the Oceanique since my sister-in-law was flying down from Colorado to join us and we wanted more space.

On arrival we immediately started coughing, sneezing and choking. We were told it was red tide (you can research online) and it had been in the area for about 2 weeks. The room was great, spacious and clean, but we couldn't leave it. We couldn't sit on the veranda, walk on the beach, use the pool, anything. Red Tide was not the fault of the hotel but it wasn't our fault either and the hotel knew it was there for some time prior to our visit.

Both my husband and sister-in-law have serious allergies with respiratory problems and I feel we should have been told. Granted, the hotel would have lost some business that week but we'd have gone back again - not now - they would only refund the deposit and we had paid for 3 nights. We left and went to Orlando since we could not take the chance of being prisoners inside the hotel room for the entire stay and we felt ill. We were also learning about dead fish on a nearby beach and neuro-toxins - really frightening when you have never heard about red tide before.

More importantly, anyone with asthma or other breathing difficulties can become quite ill and I was angry that no-one cared whether we or our children were put at risk or suffered discomfort. It took all of the next day before we were better - 2 days of our 4 day break were ruined. I understand the hotels don't want to lose income but it's just not right to put people through this. My 5 year old had the worst reaction and I am very upset.

Stayed: November 2007
6  Thank melMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We have just returned from a week at the Oceanique resort. The resort was comfortable but not as great as we anticipated from the reviews we had read. Waking up to the oceanview out our rooms was the best part. We arrived a few hours early and had to wait until exactly 3pm before we could get into our room so don't be early if you can avoid it. The room was pretty much just a place to sleep. There wasn't much activity around the resort. The pool area was very quiet so the kids enjoyed having the pool to themselves. If you're looking for peace and quiet you will find it here. The beach is full of rocks. They warned us about them at an introduction meeting. You can't body surf or anything else other than walk carefully on the rocks. We spent all of our time at Cocoa Beach which is only about 20 minutes away.
There are plenty of restaurants in the area. Make sure you stop by Cafe O'Beach and have a Belgian Mocha......puts Starbucks to shame.
Overall the stay was not luxurious by any means but descent.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Soni_soni_soni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

This is the second time staying at Oceanique. Our expectations were very high and we weren't disappointed. The Condo was in great shape, very clean as was the club house and pool. We took advantage of a couple of the local attractions that Oceanique offers. The kayak trip on the St John tributary was so peacful and beautiful. A day trip to Sebastian inlet tidal pool was amazing. We got to swim with the manatee. Of course the beach and the ocean a stone's throw from our condo was great. No rocks on this beach.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sr_Tech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2007

It's been a month since we've been in Melbourne, Florida. We had a great time and the greatest experience of renting a week at the Oceanique Resort!!

Our daughter's soccer team had games scheduled over the Canadian spring break. We surfed the internet looking for accomodations in Melbourne and condominiums were also an option versus a hotel. It was
the best decision to choose the Oceanique Resort!!

The suite was exactly as shown on their website. Every suite had the same floor plan. It was very clean, fully stocked with complimentary supplies to start you out. The ocean view from the balcony was stunning and we got to see dolphins.

It had a feel of a hotel as the service from the Oceanique staff was great. Pool area was clean and quiet (which we wanted). The staff was
so organized with daily activities. Oceanique had provided us with an
organized binder of all sites, restaurants, shopping in the coastal area. We went to most of their recommended restaurants and was very pleased! There is also a corner plaza just walking distance that has a Walmart, grocery store and liquor store - what more can you ask for? A Starbucks (currently in construction at the time) was also close by. A bank and gas station was also across the street. A park was beside the condo if you wanted to have a picnic or take the kids.
The suite had a dvd if we wanted to stay in and rent a movie.

It was very private and the week's stay was perfect. It did not seem fast as the days lounging by the pool or beach just slowed our usually fastpaced schedule down. I would definitely come back next year if our daughter plays in Melbourne again. I would even recommend
a family trip. It had a lovely family atmosphere.

Well done Oceanique Resort - hope to see you next year!!!

Stayed: March 2007
8  Thank from_the_northWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Harbour Beach
0.6 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
5.4 mi away
Port d'Hiver
Port d'Hiver
#1 of 13 in Melbourne Beach
484 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanique Resort

Address: 2105 Highway A1a, Indian Harbour Beach, FL 32937-4925
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Indian Harbour Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Indian Harbour Beach
Price Range: $145 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Oceanique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing