We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
212
25
5
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
25
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housedelicious breakfasthomemade cookiesprivate beachb and bjacuzzi tubwedding anniversaryapple sausagelovely roomquichebeautiful propertyfine diningget awayview of the oceanbeach towelsboogie boardssmall balcony
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 245 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed at the Windemere Inn for 3 nights in late November immediately after the Thanksgiving weekend in order for my husband to fulfil a lifetime’s ambition to visit the Kennedy Space Center. We had booked Forever Spring which was a lovely room but was ‘cozy’ as the website suggests. Having forgotten to factor in how much luggage we would have (we were on the start of a 2 week vacation) we were very fortunate that we were the only guests staying at the time and so we were able to move to Summer Garden which was only $10 a night more but was a much larger room with the same view. The rooms were beautifully furnished and very clean but with very high beds, a small step stool was provided on one side but even then it was quite a climb into bed.
The breakfasts were excellent (fruit, a hot course, followed by homemade scones – the walnut and raisin ones were to die for –Beth, the innkeeper, kindly gave me the recipe). But we had one let down – on our last morning we had to leave by 8.00 to catch a flight from Miami International and breakfast did not start until 8.30. We mentioned this and were told that packing something up the night before would be no trouble. Well, it obviously wasn’t as all it consisted of was a piece of cake, a handful of grapes and a bottle of water, not exactly the best start to the day.
The staff we met (Joanne, Fergy and Steve) were all very helpful and attentive, as was Beth, the owner so it was a little disappointing that our leaving experience marred an otherwise excellent stay.

Room Tip: Sunset is on the side the house next to Highway A1A, noisy in the mornings
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walk_the_walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We went here as we needed to extend our stay in the area, and the place we were staying was full. The location is very good, as it is right on the sea and yet only a pleasant 15 minute walk along the sea front to a choice of restaurants for dinner. The room was comfortable if not a little small, and there was only a shower and no bath. There is no pool at this place. Unfortunately it was full of a family reunion so there were a lot of children but we were warned. The service was excellent and we were made to feel most welcome. However having just stayed at the Crane Creek Inn, which was smaller, cheaper, with a much more personal service and better facilities we were disappointed at the Windermere. However if you want a weekend by the sea you would be hard pressed to beat this.

Room Tip: We had a room in the main house on 2nd flop with a sea view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Consultant4481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This was the most welcoming bed and breakfast i have ever been in! The service was outstanding, the Inn keeper Beth was an amazing baker and baked complimentary treats daily ( a lil touch that goes a long way). The room was adorable and immaculately clean. The location was ideal, literally right on the beach. if you are in that are, you should stay at the Wimdemere! I truly have no complaints

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleychloetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We travelled to Melbourne on last minute notice to visit an ill friend. With no time to pre-plan, we took a red-eye and were already there when we began calling around. The big name hotels were very sterile and the ultimate turnoff was that most of them did not have 100% cotton sheets. When we called Windemere, Beth, the quintessential innkeeper said: "not only do we have 100% cotton sheets, but we iron them too." I said "we'll be right there." We ended up spending 10 nights there and I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Beth is warm and inviting, with just the right blend of hospitality. Our rooms (we stayed in 3 different ones) were all wonderful. The decor is very nice and it is squeaky clean. The breakfasts are delicious and plentiful. Always a fruit course, main dish, andhomemade scone type thing with orange juice and coffee. Our favorite of them all was crepes filled with a mixture of ricotta, cream, and sweetened sauteed berries served with whipped cream; a recipe which appeared in the newspaper. Beth offers "high tea" each afternoon from 4-7 and always has 2 or 3 homemade desserts, one of which is chocolate. Her rum bundt cake is so good I had at least 2 pieces each time. One night I had 5 chocolate mousses, as she leaves anything remaining from high tea in the fridge for guests to enjoy during the night. She also has sherry out all the time. It is peaceful, tasteful and comfortable there. There were two weddings there our first weekend. The inn backs up to the sea, and guests can use the inn's beach chairs and umbrellas plus wireless internet at no extra charge. I had one of the best swims of my life out past the wave break. I felt at once at home. We have been back home only a few days and I am missing Beth and her magical inn!

Room Tip: Our 2 favorite rooms were
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

First...apologies to Beth and crew that this review was not posted sooner. We spent one glorious night here on May 7, 2011 and we could not have custom-ordered a better experience. Scheduling can be quite a feat for the guy and me so when we realized we both had a Saturday available we decided to take advantage with an overnight to the beach. From the moment I spoke with Beth on the phone to make the arrangements, I had a good feeling about Windemere. Upon arrival, we knew for certain that we would not be sorry about our decision to stay. The property is beautiful; as lovely as the photos on the website are, they do not do proper justice. We stayed in Enchantment, in the main house, where we enjoyed our poster bed, jacuzzi tub and especially our ocean view balcony. Being a few steps from the beach was such a treat, as were the provided beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, etc. It made everything so convenient! Best of all, though, was the service we received from beth, Steve and the entire staff. Everyone had the highest level of professionalism and friendliness. I can't believe it took me this long to mention the food....YUM! We enjoyed fabulous chocolate mousse at tea on Saturday and a delicious breakfast the next morning. So good! Sadly, our scheduling nightmares persist, so we've not yet been able to plan a return trip but we will not hesitate to do so as soon as the opportunity presents. Please book without concern...you will love your experience!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews