We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moderately Priced with OK food and friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of City Tropics Bistro - CLOSED

City Tropics Bistro
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: City Tropics Bistro is the place to find friends and fun! Mouth watering food, thirst quenching drinks, and lush landscaping are a few of the many things you will discover at City Tropics. The kind of place you can't wait to tell your friends about. Commitment to providing guests with a high level of service, food quality, and value is #1.
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Moderately Priced with OK food and friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a nice place to go for either drinks, a snack, or a full meal. There are a number of different locations in the restaurant, including a large outside bar and patio area which overlooks the main avenue coming into Indialantic from across the Melbourne Causeway. It can get very lively there in the evenings.

The food ranges from pasta, seafood, steaks, burgers, sandwiches, pizzas, soups, and salads. They even have a sushi bar. There are definitely enough choices to satisfy most eaters, and the prices range from low to moderate.

Inside, there is a Cheesecake Factory counter where you can purchase desserts, or get a nice cup of coffee, latte or cappuccino.

Overall, you'll have a good time if you go here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustAVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    37
    25
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Service is horrible! Food ok.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just went there for lunch and it felt like we had been there for hours! Ate inside since it was super hot outside. The restaurant was clean and nice inside. The service was horrible. Someone sat us at our table and it had to be 10-15 min. before someone came and took our drink order. A while after that, someone else brought our drinks out (much later). Our server came back around and took our food order. Our food took a while (we only ordered sandwiches) to come out. Once they did, our server refilled drinks and never saw her again. The food sandwiches were good. The macaroni salad had a lot of mayo, too much mayo. The server finally came back around and gave us our bill. Like I said, it seriously felt like we'd been in there for hours.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Live_Love_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint. albans, vt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Used To Be Good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Seven to eight years ago this place was excellent as far as food goes. It was the first place my wife wanted to go for lunch. No more.The ambiance inside the restaurant I would describe as creepy.If you like eating outside, you will get rid of the creepy.You will not ,however, escape poorly prepared food and marginal service. The food was able to overcome the other negatives, but no more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rvq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clearly only tourists keep this place in business.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This place is just terrible. I have been twice before and swore never to go back. Tonight we went with a group of friends for a birthday. 2 burgers were sent back because they were cooked cold rare, medium-rare which were ordered medium well. 1 chicken sandwich was not fully cooked and still pink on the edges. My chicken was tough and tasteless, served with watery rice & beans. WHY? CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHY THIS PLACE IS STILL IN BUSINESS?!?! The owner also owns another restaurant next door that is just as bad! Great Location, Great Atmosphere..... Food is just plain awful!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adam0586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst dinner ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I'm not a very picky eater, but my dinner as well as the rest of the dinners of those in my party were tasteless and tough. On top of a subpar meal the server got several aspects of our meals wrong. It's one thing to eat an eight dollar tasteless and a tough piece of chicken, but to pay 18 dollars for a meal, I expected more than frozen mashed potatoes and a slimy piece of fish. Being a Florida native, I know and love good seafood, and needless to say I was sorely disappointed and left hungry. No one came around to ask how our meal was. There is a reason this restaurant was empty.

There was one glimmer of hope. They serve very good cocktails. I'm just sorry to say that the alcohol was the only delicious or even tolerable part of our meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Tropics Bistro also viewed

Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
 
Malabar, Brevard County
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing