We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place is a Dump”
Review of Turtle Reef Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle Reef Club
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our family travels and trades our timeshares 2-3 times per year. This is the worst trade we've ever made. Location is great, but the staff is rude, unhelpful, and has no idea what customer service is all about. The mattresses on the beds have to be at least 20-25 years old....very thin & very uncomfortable. There is one elevator that works half the time. My husband is recovering from back surgery, and they put us on the 3rd floor. Of course, after 9:00 pm, you are out of luck if you need anything. Everyone leaves & the number you are to call does not accept calls after 9:00 pm either. We were told to call the fire department if we needed anything. There is no lifeguard at the beach, and twice someone defacated in the pool & they had to close it for the day. No apologies, no trying to make up for it. We were basically told there was nothing we could do and to just deal with it. Half the dishes in the kitchen had food stuck on them because they were obviously not cleaned well by the previous guest and the housekeeping didn't check the dishes either. We will not be returning to this joke of a resort.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Turtle Reef Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

We are very sorry that you felt the resort was not enjoyable. We have checked out the elevator system and it was not working that night due to being held open for an extended period of time – unfortunately this causes it to not be able to reset itself. It is in full working condition and we have not experienced any additional issues with it. If you did not feel our customer service was good, we apologize that you felt this way. We try to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible and meet any possible requests we can – which is why we provided your son with a football when he said he forgot his and brought additional towels as soon as we were asked. For the duration of your stay our staff was under the impression that your family was enjoying themselves, we are disheartened to know that this was not the case and we misunderstood any feedback from you while you were here at the resort. As for the defecation in the pool we do apologize – it was an incident that was out of our control and to keep everyone safe and healthy as well as follow standards we had to close the pool to allow for proper and thorough cleaning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Turtle Reef Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 80 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

I never believed in time sharing until now. We bought week #27 to be with family. This is one of the smartest things I ever did. We had a golden week with weather. The ocean was so calm and the beach was not crowded. This was especially nice since it was 4th of July week. The location couldn't be better. There is enough to do and good restaurants nearby. Than of course you can do nothing and sit by the pool. The 2 bedroom units are fully stocked and CLEAN. The ocean views from the room are breathtaking especially the moon over it. The staff here are very accommating, friendly and helpful. All in all this was a great week:-)

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean. The first floor is an easy walk to beach and pool.
Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Lois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DefenderResorts, Marketing and Public Relations at Turtle Reef Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you! We are thrilled that you are happy with your purchase and we look forward to a long future and getting to know you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We spent four days with some friends and loved it. A really good place if you want to get away from it all and relax, but still enough to do in the surrounding area to keep you busy if you want.

Location: Right on the beach and this beach is not very crowded. Good shell collecting.
Staff: Friendly and willing to help
Rooms: A little dated, but cozy and all rooms have a view of the ocean.
Ammenities: The pool and two tennis courts are nice. The grounds are kept nice.

We plan to go back again!

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view, but I would stay on any of the upper floors for a beach view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Turtle Reef Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you! We are glad you had a great, relaxing vacation! We look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We spent a week here in June 2012. All units have wonderful ocean views. Direct access to the beach in front of resort. No beach chairs on the beach (although 2 are provided in each unit). The condo was well equipped with everything you need for a great stay. Master bedroom was large and comfortable. Bathrooms could use a little updating. Very large door walls open to a large screened in balcony. Great place to sit and relax. View of ocean was wonderful. Onsite pool was simple but good for sunbathing and relaxing. The fitness center was small and had very little equipment (no weights at all). Pool side grills were great, we used them several times. Service and staff members were very helpful and always available when needed. It was evident that the staff cared about the guest and resort. This is a small resort and seems to be great for a quiet get away location. Great location on the island and easy to get to all types of activities.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dan459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Turtle Reef is a wonderful place to take a holiday. Its a peaceful and tranquil location with the sea metres from your apartment. The apartments are a little dated but are well maintained. I would have liked to have a washing machine in the apartment rather than share a communal one, but its there if you need it. We travelled with our two small children and found the staff friendly and very helpful. Our two year old kept escaping from the apartment. We mentioned it to the front desk, by the end of the day they had a chain fitted and he could no longer wander off. The pool is large and clean with plenty of loungers. I would say this place is for older people or people with small children looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday location. The beach was great for building sand castles.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WordoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We just spent 4 days here and the facility was not new, but it was well kept. The condo was clean and in great condition. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had small children saying with us and the warm pool water was greatly appreciated. We had a great room overlooking the ocean

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CraigLawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Very outdated and not clean enough, the only plus is the the view of the sea and easy access to the beach. The pool area was taken over by people that have been coming here for 30 years or more. Also be aware of the blonde receptionist, she is not help at all....

Stayed: April 2012
7  Thank Sthinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hutchinson Island
0.1 mi away
Vistana Beach Club
Vistana Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Hutchinson Island
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
14.8 mi away
Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Old Colorado Inn
Old Colorado Inn
#1 of 11 in Stuart
322 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stuart-North
4.3 mi away
Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Reef Club

Address: 10800 S Ocean Dr, Hutchinson Island, FL 34957-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hutchinson Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hutchinson Island
Price Range: $199 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Reef Club 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Reef Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Reef Club Hotel Hutchinson Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing