We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveler rating
331
135
57
21
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
331
135
57
21
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course great golf pro shop play golf in great shape ann marie la hacienda golf package breakfast buffet old florida spanish architecture tennis courts las colinas resort club saturday night buffet elevation changes courses
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 570 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2019

The Sat night seafood and beef buffet at Mission Inn's Knickers resto is a total treat. The sushi bar has everything you could wish for including a lower sodium soy sauce and seaweed salad. The whole cucumber covered salmon is smoked and delicious... and there is also a platter of gravlax if cured rather than smoked is to your taste. I skip the myriad bowls of salad and veg and chose oysters Rockerfeller, small clams, crab and the perfectly rare prime rib of beef. I didn't have room left for the ice cream bar, the bread pudding or the apple crisp. The lineup starts at 5 and both rooms were filled when we arrived for a 7pm reservation. We had to wait about 15 min for a table but it seemed to clear out about 7:30. It's quieter later which is nice. This is great value for the price.

Room tip: my experience is with the restaurant and not the hotel
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud B, General Manager at Mission Inn Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Thank you for the response. We are glad you enjoyed the seafood buffet. We work really hard at setting it up. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019

The Saturday night Buffet was very nice, They had a nice variety for just about anybody. Meats, seafood, pasta, salad bar, soup, dessert bar just to name a few things. Would go again next year when I'm in town. Our waiter was fairly new but you couldn't tell he did such a good job.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

So much to do at this resort including excellent restaurants, biking, walking trail, spa, golf, tennis, work out facility, trap and skeet shooting and fishing. Something here for everyone to enjoy! It's located in a very small town in the rolling hills of Florida. Great place to hold an event for just to visit with family and friends.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Weeziecro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2019

We stayed in a very nice upgraded room at a good price as part of a conference rate. Check-in was officially 4pm, but front desk said if room was ready we could check in on arrival (it was, and this was at 12:30pm). For a small upgrade charge our pre-paid room with King bed had a small sitting area with a coffee table and sofa. Small coffee bar with mini-fridge. We were on the ground floor and had a private, screened patio. The temp was in the upper 70's to low 80's for our Feb 28 stay, so we were able to leave the sliding door open most of the time. This was good because the room was *very cold* on check-in, so it took a while to warm up. Had some song birds and other critter noises and the occasional whack of a golf ball from the nearby tee. Room was clean. Bathroom was stocked with a couple extra towels. Only there for one night, so did not get to see much of the resort. Note that even though the lobby did not have automatic doors, it had a "doorman" who held the door open. All of the staff seemed friendly and offered greetings when passing.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SailorKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud B, General Manager at Mission Inn Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019 via mobile

The wife and I spent a pleasant six days in February 2019. This after a having enjoyed a stay here for several days a couple years past. We had happened then upon the rather out of the way Inn serendipitously. We had thought of it as a visit to a place out of the gracious past, but still well maintained.
We enjoyed our visit this time again. Enough has been said of the beautiful grounds. The architecture and layout, while not huge, was quite beautiful. The accounts of the two golf courses is generally quite positive, as evident in other reviews.
So we have some very good things about the Inn. Then there are aspects that have garnered mixed reviews that are a bit confusing, but perhaps come down to expectations or perspective.
For example, the pool and surrounding area might be viewed as cozy and charming or small and unexciting in comparison to some new resorts.
Then the food offerings and various restaurants was discussed. My opinion was that the food was universally good. The questions generally raised seemed to be related to cost. The other common theme, was that the Inn might perhaps have been taking advantage of its relative isolation. Although there is the very good Boondocks Restaurant just a few miles away, and nicely situated on the lake that borders Howey in the Hills. Whose several mile Lakefront Road is worth a drive or walk.
So the food offerings, ambiance of restaurants, which btw offered outdoor seating under the starlight, (insects permitting) are generally felt to be good, but with probably legitimate questions re price.
Another issue raised by some reviewers, was service in general. Our experience was very much positive, whether it be front desk, housekeeping, groundskeepers, wait- and bar staff. Now perhaps it has to do with how I try to approach folks. I come from the South. That is all I shall say about that. Folks respond best to positivity and praise. And we found much to praise. Our room and bathroom were kept very clean. The grounds and plantings seemed to me to show the extra bit of work that shows care.
Now we shall mention the workout room. Yes you will need to get to the golf clubhouse. But it is respectably large. More so than the average hotel for sure.
Now we return to the room. We had a room with two very comfortable queen beds. Pillows great. Actual room size was about that of a modern day hotel. Bathroom not large, albeit nicely redone. Only one sink. Really not better than an average hotel. No refrigerator or microwave. One might view that cynically. One must head in the direction of the overpriced restaurants if hunger arises.
WHAT IS THE GENERAL SUMMARY THAT SEEMS MOST ACCURATE?
This is an older facility. It has beautiful grounds and golf courses. The layout of the public areas and pool area are charming. The restaurants have great atmosphere, good and service but are a bit expensive. The rooms we have seen are updated despite their relatively small size. A question that has been raised, is whether the Inn really a full fledged resort that for example deserves the cost of a resort fee; something I have always look at as obvious profit taking and a bit misleading.
MYTAKEAWAY:
This place is not perfect, but unique and charming enough that the wife and I ignored the negatives. The room was large enough. The pool was fine. The food was worth it, especially as we also traveled to Mount Dora and other nearby places some of the time, thanks to offerings on Trip Advisor.
We also did not and would not have paid the full price of maybe $240. We paid under $200 a day with tax and all. At that price the place looks a whole lot better than a typical chain hotel, even if the latter might offer somewhat larger rooms and bathrooms and a lame free breakfast.
THE MISSION INN MAYBE IS NOT TO BE MISSED AT THE RIGHT PRICE.
No in some ways it can’t compete with a Ritz or fancy resort. That costs $300 and up. But at under $200 it is someplace special. Should it get rid of the annoying resort fee? Charge a bit less for food? Have free refrigerators in rooms? They will decide.
I believe overall the Inn is likely is doing the best it can financially.
Your

DukeAdvisor

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudBeucher, General Manager at Mission Inn Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2019

First of all, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mission Inn. We truly appreciate the in-depth and honest review of our property. The resort has been a special part of our family since the 1960s and we take great pride in being a home away from home for our guests. Your review has been shared with the family and staff here and we all thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews