We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Howey in the Hills
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveler rating
318
131
52
19
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
318
131
52
19
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great golf golf courses are pro shop golf outing round of golf central florida rolling hills breakfast buffet the bread pudding la hacienda old florida long weekend spanish architecture tennis courts on site mount dora skeet shooting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 541 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

The brunch on Sundays is wonderful. Either breakfast or full lunch available or both lol Desserts amazing. Omelets made to order and champagne and mimosas flowing. The roast beef cut just for you, seafood specialties, salads and soups. Fruit and cheese too it off. Hint... Put the Bananas foster on ice cream!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudBeucher, General Manager at Mission Inn Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for your review of the Sunday Grand Brunch Buffet in La Hacienda restaurant. It is great to hear you enjoyed all of the options available. We hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017

Five hungry adults arrived At 5:30 without a reservation at the Sat night buffet at Mission Inn. Big mistake. Despite the early hour the place was packed. We were lucky to get the last table so I suggest a reservation! This is a buffet for everyone. Fresh sushi of all kinds including smoked eel and diced ahi tuna is a great way to start. Then there is a seafood section...cool whole salmon, smoked salmon, king crab claws, fried Basa, oysters Rockafeller, muscles and clams are replenished frequently. Then there is the carvery. We loved the rare beef , the salmon en croute but passed on the pasta dishes. There is a soup and salad station too...and an area with potatoes au gratin, rice, mixed veggies and bread rolls. The dessert station had ice cream choices, various sauces and toppings, bread pudding with custard, Creme Brûlée and bananas Foster. The staff moved away our finished plates very quickly and the five of were unable to think of anything that we wanted to eat that wasn't there. The price is reasonable for food of this quality. It's not a place you would choose for the ambience or a romantic dinner but it is an outstanding buffet experience!

Room tip: Ask for a golf course view.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepid702016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudBeucher, General Manager at Mission Inn Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for your review of the Saturday Night Crab Leg, Sushi, and Prime Rib Buffet. We are thrilled to hear you had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed all of the buffet options. I will be sure to share with our Food & Beverage staff! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017

My wife and I have been visiting the Mission Inn for 30+ years. We're probably pushing close to 20 stays on the property over that time span. We have been very satisfied hotel guests there twice in the past four months.

A recent reviewer commented that the place looks like the owner hasn't put any money into it in anticipation of selling it. That boggles my mind. I give the reviewer credit for sticking his neck out and writing a negative review when the vast majority of the other reviews are positive, but our experience with the resort over many years is one of consistent high quality in every area visit after visit.

We don't know what guest room that reviewer was in, but we found room 142 to be spotless, obviously up to date, and very nicely appointed when we were there a couple of weeks ago. We've been coming here for decades, and it is clear to see the millions of dollars' worth of expansion, upgrades, and upkeep that have been invested into this resort property over the years. Every time we return, there always seems to be something new and/or improved.

While playing golf on El Campeon during our most recent visit, I noticed a definite improvement in aesthetic landscaping with flowers and flower beds dotting the course. I also noticed that the island green on the 16th hole had been recently reinforced with a new wooden embankment around the sand trap that encircles 90% of the green. Speaking of greens, they were remarkably fast and well maintained.

Last fall, we enjoyed late night drinks on the balcony just outside of the El Conquistador restaurant. There were several small seating areas and a nice gas fire pit. Don't know how long those amenities have been there, but we enjoyed them for the first time, and they were lovely. Also last fall, we attended an event in the banquet facility at the resort's Marina del Rey on Lake Harris. What a gorgeous event space, both inside and out! It's no wonder why the Mission Inn has become such a popular wedding venue in Central Florida. There is so much to see and do at this resort, that it simply is not possible to experience it all in a typical 2-3 night stay.

Our next visit can't come soon enough!

Room tip: Room 142 has a nice screened-in patio on the 9th tee. Definitely request rooms with golf course views.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank golfnut8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2017

I am an experienced traveler and do my research. Sadly the Mission Inn Resort did not meet expectations. There were 4 couples in our group for a golf getaway. The first sign of trouble came with the elevator...small and dirty. Did not bode well. The rooms were dated...with dressers that one would find in an attic.
The resort has the feel of a place where the Owner is not putting any money into it in preparation for selling. That might not be the case but that is the perception.
The food was adequate but not great. Howey In The Hills is in the middle of nowhere so going off-site for restaurants was a challenge but we did find a couple of decent options, both somewhat of a drive.
The golf courses, fortunately, were good. El Campion is their signature course and a challenging test of golf. Las Colinas was quite different in feel and one that we found equally enjoyable.
Overall I, unfortunately, cannot recommend Mission Inn for a couples trip. A guys golf trip where accommodations are not as high a priority would probably be acceptable.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sdgoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudBeucher, General Manager at Mission Inn Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I regret that we seemed to miss the mark during your stay. We are a family owned and operated business for over 50 years and we take a lot of pride in our resort. I am sorry that you found it outdated. We are always trying to make the improvements that we can and are currently in the process of re-doing our elevators. I am also pleased to let you know that we have our guest rooms scheduled to be renovated this summer with new furniture, mattresses, lighting and artwork. I am glad to hear that you did enjoy our golf courses and hope that you will give us another chance to earn your business back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2017

Great golf, pretty property, friendly staff. Stayed for 2 nights and 2 rounds of golf with friends; the staff took care of everything smoothly including changing our tee times at the last minute, and opening up the spa on the day it was closed to accommodate us. Have Nolan make you a fresh waffle with warm syrup for breakfast! The rooms are not updated, but clean. Our rooms had a pretty little terrace with a golf view. Rooms and bathrooms could use an overhaul, but I would come back!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank longislandgirl-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudBeucher, General Manager at Mission Inn Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2017

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here. We appreciate your comments about the rooms. As a family owned property, we are always looking for ways to improve our product for our customer. Happy to hear that we could impress you enough for another trip back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews