We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Timeless Getaway to Remember...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mission Inn Resort & Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

What more can a man like me dream of than a wife who surprises him with an anniversary gift of a golf getaway? The answer: The destination for 2 days of bliss is the amazing Mission Inn Golf Resort in Howey in the Hills, Florida. Especially when one takes into consideration the history of this gem in Central Florida. As a young junior golfer growing up in Florida, the Mission Inn was the site of my summer golf camp, where I had some of the finest weeks of instruction that any junior could hope for, combined with so many lasting memories. Now, my wife, who grew up with me since we were in elementary school (about an hour and a half away in Winter Haven) blessed us with an anniversary gift we will remember forever. The resort was as always "spot on" with their hospitality, immaculate presentation and the golf course was absolutesly pristine.We had what can only be described as a 5 star dinner in one of the property's many delightful restaurants. We played the El Campeon course both mornings we were there, and the pro shop staff, the attendants and all of the hotel staff were incredibly friendly. I heard more than once, "you can do anything you like..." when we inquired about our interests. We were not only impressed, it literally gave us a feeling of being the only guests at the resort. It literally felt like time stood still just for us. The original design of El Campeon is nearly 100 years old and yet those 18 magnificent holes give the avid golfer a feeling of uncompromising visual delight, combined with a challenge he is not likely to forget. What a sheer joy to take it all in. My wife is a relatively novice golfer and to see the excitement on her face as she navigated around the purely manicured fairways and simply perfect greens...well let's just say that she may be a bit spoiled now. What an amazing anniversary. What a perfect 2 days. Thank you, Mission Inn. You gave this guy something beyond just a great resort stay. You gave me a timeless getaway that my wife and I enjoyed beyond our expectations and a beautiful journey back to my adolescence.

Room Tip: Room 501 overlooked the legendary "Devils Delight" 17th hole on the El Campeon course, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 470 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Volleyball State AAU Tournament brought us to Mission Inn Resort. The stay was short ,but sweet. However, we walked much of the facility, saw the pool area, some of the golf course and had a LATE meal in one of th FINE restuarants. Because of the tournament, we were on a tight schedule. However, it is our desire to return, golf, relax and enjoy!!! Thank you SOOOO MUCH!

Room Tip: San Diego - 200 floor and even numbers...those rooms have a view of the course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Seven of us just played 36 holes of golf each of three days, stayed in the villas, ate the breakfast buffet and lunched at Nicker's. Our experience was great in all areas and we are already planning the same event a year from now.

Room Tip: We stayed in the villas so have no opinion on the hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudBeucher, General Manager at Mission Inn Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Mission Inn. I'll share your review with our staff. We'll look forward to seeing you and your group again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were there this past weekend for a relative's wedding. It couldn't have been a prettier setting. I know that they are going to have some gorgeous pictures. Everything was perfect. We were in the San Diego building and were very pleased with the room.. A Deluxe King. Room was on the large size and the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom is quite large. Everything was clean. There is a coffee maker, blow dryer and iron. The only thing missing was a mini fridge. Very nice place to go to for a nice, quiet get away or for that special event.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great place to stay. Hotel is very clean and has many activities. Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. Beautiful golf course and grounds, The food was very good and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms were excellent with a great view of the golf course. Food was very good and the service was gr...
See more room tips
Thank JAMES S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Inn where we attended a reunion with former co-workers, about 130 folks. Our room was fantastic. We had a screened in balcony with table and chairs, overlooking the golf course. Beautiful! Beds were very comfortable and the room and bathroom were both very clean.
The staff, from the registration desk to housekeeping and all in between were outstanding. Everyone was friendly and eager to please. I would highly recommend the Inn!

Room Tip: I would, but that might cause me to have a hard time getting the room we want when we return...which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKU818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went overnight to celebrate a friend's birthday and play golf. The rooms have recently been updated and my only suggestion would be that they need to "finish" the upgrades (some molding here and there would be a nice finishing touch). We were a little disappointed in our room assignment (near an ice machine, in a corner, first floor), but still had a nice screened in porch and a view of the golf course.

We played the old course - great condition and some very fun and challenging holes. Look at the score card and pick your tees wisely...don't let the yardage fool you.

We had dinner at the clubhouse - all you could eat prime rib, crab legs and sushi - VERY good and a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howey in the Hills
6.1 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
9.6 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
975 reviews
7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Leesburg/Mt Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Clermont
Days Inn & Suites Clermont
#10 of 17 in Clermont
423 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tavares
7 mi away
Hampton Inn Leesburg - Tavares
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Inn Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Inn Resort & Club

Address: 10400 County Road 48, Howey in the Hills, FL 34737-3000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Howey in the Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howey in the Hills
Price Range: $176 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mission Inn Resort & Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Mission Inn is located just 35 minutes north of Orlando. The resort offers easy interstate access to world famous attractions. On property we have two championship golf courses, tennis, trap and skeet, Spa Marbella, boating and fishing, and a variety of leisure activities that guests come to enjoy! It's All Here at Mission Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mission Inn Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Inn Resort & Club Hotel Howey In The Hills
Mission Inn Resort And Club
Mission Hotel
Mission Inn Resort & Club Howey In The Hills, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing