We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mission Inn Resort & Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was wondering what I'd run across reading some of the reviews for Mission Inn. Well, everything was great! The rooms are fine, clean and we didn't think dated at all! We celebrated Thanksgiving at the resort - they had a buffet like you wouldn't believe - outstanding! The golf courses were in super shape and fun to play. We'd go back. While you're there, check out Mt. Dora, quaint neighboring town, very old Florida. Lots of boutiques and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank playgolf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 470 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

My son was getting married Nov 16, 2012 we were all stressed wonding how it was going to go. Well let me till you the staff at Mission Inn made all the stress go away. From the time we checked in till the time we checked out the staff was helpful, friendly, The wedding cordinator made everything run right on time no delays. It was the best wedding from start to finish from the cermony to dinner. The food was amazing! Every staff member made you feel important. If anyone is looking to have a wedding this is your place. My son and husband got to play one of the beautiful golf course they said it was so much fun and the greens look great. Just want to say Thanks to everyone that help to make my son's day special.

Room Tip: All rooms that over look the golf course are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Last week was my second time at the Mission. We played golf, tennis, and shoot skeet. Staff is very friendly, service was awesome, and the facility was in great shape. We even had a 5 course meal cooked for us in our room with our own chef and servers ... it was delicious. I would recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed on the property for three days this weekend. This property is beautiful in every way. The Spanish mission design is dated but I think that it adds to the charm of the property. The golf course looks to be in very good shape. We stayed in a suite overlooking the golf course. Our room large and very clean. The only down side was some paint bubbling up on the window sill and the tv was quite old. The carpet was old but clean. A/C unit noisy. The buildings in general were maintained but no attention to detail. When they paint a column everyting around it gets paint on it. No drop clothes used. This makes the place look sloppy. We found every employee to be very helpful and friendly without exception. There are a few restaurants on the property to choose from. We had breakfast each morning at La Hacienda. The food was very good especially the freshly made omelette. The service was friendly, professional and fast. They were always there to see if you needed anything and did not rush us to leave. One evening we went to the Margarita Bar for a margarita. The drinks were good size and they actually put liquor in them. We watched food being served and decided to eat there. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The next day we also ventured over to Nickers another restaurant on the property for lunch. Once again the food was very good and the service friendly and quick. We found the room rates to be very reasonable and the the same for the food. We enjoyed our stay and would go back if in the area.

Room Tip: If you want to eat off property go to RT 19 towards 441 to Tavares or Eustis, Angelo's is very g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here the first weekend in November with the Harley Owners Group Florida State Rally. When I made our reservations, I told them we'd never been there before and asked if we needed to know anything special. I even asked them to recommend a room for us based on our likes and dislikes. As you drive in, the grounds are beautiful and appear well maintained. We registered and headed for our room. We opened the door and whew, the room had an odor you wouldn't believe. I immediately headed for the sliding glass door and screened balcony area. This was a nice feature and the view, even for a non-golfer was beautiful. We over-looked two tees, a green, and a pond with fountain. I took off my boots, leaving my socks on, and started to unpack. Within a few minutes, the bottoms of my socks were filthy!! The rug was badly stained and dirty! We picked up some drinks and snacks and when I went to put them away - no refrigerator or microwave! I called the front desk and was told you had to reserve them in advance! Too bad they didn't mention that when I made our reservation. This is supposed to be a great resort, not just an average hotel!!!! We did what lots of our neighbors did, headed for the ice machines and filled whatever we could find to keep things cold. Unfortunately, the ice machines ran out! As the evening grew darker, we found we didn't have a light on the balcony so we moved the floor lamp outside. We wanted to take a walk on the grounds, but there wasn't any lighting on the walkways! Later we found the lock to the sliding glass doors was broken, as was the security lock on the hall door. The best part was the snack crackers inside the wrapped roll of toilet paper! The room furnishings included a child's size upholstered chair, desk with chair, an armoire with an old, small TV and two full size beds. The only table and chairs were on the balcony - for two! The first morning my husband went to get us some coffee ($2.00 a cup) and then we went to breakfast. We though $12.00 each for a buffet with the chef preparing omelets was a little pricey, but it's a resort so OK. Then they added a 20% service charge to the check! So our first morning we spent almost $35.00 for breakfast! And that didn't include a tip! Also, we had a lady going to all of the tables, promoting the spa, while dressed in a robe with fancy stockings and stiletto heels. Needless to say, we found other places to eat! Also, our last morning, there weren't any "do not disturb" signs, housekeeping knocked on our door at 8:30 am to find out what time we'd be out of our room! We've travelled all over the country and stayed in all kinds of places, but this is not a place we will return to!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We visited for the 3rd time while on holiday in Orlando. It's worth the drive from Disney (about 1 hour) as this place is a haven of peace & calm. Brunch is very good value, with as much champagne (for the non driver) as you wish. Service is excellent & background piano music is also most welcome. It's on our "must visit" list for Orlando!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We live in South Orlando so for a weekend away but close we had a "stay-cation" at Mission Inn and had fun in Mt. Dora shopping during the day. Enjoyed the beautiful room (with golf course view) and in the evening sat by the pool and enjoyed a glass of wine.

Associates were friendly and helped with the internet in the room. Wish I had time to go on the trails there, it just didn't fit into our schedule this time, will have to make time for the trails next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lea6467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howey in the Hills
6.1 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
9.6 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
975 reviews
7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Leesburg/Mt Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Clermont
Days Inn & Suites Clermont
#10 of 17 in Clermont
423 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tavares
7 mi away
Hampton Inn Leesburg - Tavares
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Inn Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Inn Resort & Club

Address: 10400 County Road 48, Howey in the Hills, FL 34737-3000
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Howey in the Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howey in the Hills
Price Range: $176 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mission Inn Resort & Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Mission Inn is located just 35 minutes north of Orlando. The resort offers easy interstate access to world famous attractions. On property we have two championship golf courses, tennis, trap and skeet, Spa Marbella, boating and fishing, and a variety of leisure activities that guests come to enjoy! It's All Here at Mission Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Otel, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Mission Inn Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Inn Resort & Club Hotel Howey In The Hills
Mission Inn Resort And Club
Mission Hotel
Mission Inn Resort & Club Howey In The Hills, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing