We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed a nice lunch with great view”

J. B. Boondocks Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
MERRITT ISLAND
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a nice lunch with great view”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We began lunch with the Warm Seafood Spinach Artichoke Dip served with tortilla chips. Delicious. And we loved the seafood dip served warm. We both chose the special which was a Pruben Sandwich. It's actually a Ruben but made with Pastrami. Excellent! But what made them special were the homemade chips. Wow! Fantastic. I'm surprised more restaurants can't figure out how to make these yummy chips. And Tee our server was exceptional. Friendly, courteous, attentive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AUNTNEEFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    60
    28
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Beautiful View”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stopped in here with a friend and was pleasantly surprised by the great food. The view is spectacular over Little Lake Harris, and you can dine inside or outside. We stayed inside because it was a bit windy outside. They have a full service bar, and an nice menu. I had blackened salmon with mixed vegetables and a nice side salad. The meal also came with a small dinner roll; the roll had a unique taste and was delicious. Our server was great; service was friendly and prompt. I will definitely go back soon for another visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBackroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Boondocks is one of my favorite places to go when we're out on the Harris Chain. If we can't get out on the water then we'll drive down there from Leesburg for lunch on most Sundays and pop in during the week to catch up with friends. The food is always great and the portions are ridiculously huge. Prime Rib Wednesday is awesome and the meat is cooked to perfection. As a side note they also have the coldest beer on the water with great views of Little Lake Harris. Sit inside or better yet, sit outside on the deck under the cypress trees.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2burgsnocheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cocktails”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We rented a pontoon and we were on Lake Harris all day, kinda bar hopping if you will...we stopped in a this place and we were going to have a couple of drinks (there were 8 of us) and it was ridiculous the prices they charged for bottled beer! We had one and left and to say the waitress had any kind of personality would be a BOLD FACE LIE!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheshieshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I'm glad I didn't read reviews before a friend and I had lunch here! The food was absolutely delicious. My friend is a native but had never been here.... the reviews she had heard were positive and rightly so. Prices are a bit high for those who are used to "fast-food" lunches but I haven't found a better Reuben sandwich anywhere.... and my friend said the same for her burger. It was nice not to stand in line but rather to sit and enjoy the view with a pleasant server who took good care of us. We won't be in the area often but will make it a point to stop in whenever we are close by.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. B. Boondocks Bar & Grill also viewed

Howey in the Hills, Lake County
Howey in the Hills, Lake County
 
Howey in the Hills, Lake County
 

Been to J. B. Boondocks Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing