We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastefull, no frills accomodations & serene location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Homosassa Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homosassa Riverside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tastefull, no frills accomodations & serene location”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is our second time staying at The Resort. Rooms are clean and comfortable.Our suite also had an oven, stove, fridge and freezer which was a big plus. Decor is a bit 90's but that was not a show stopper for us. Location is very close to Homosassa amenities, yet far enough off the beaten track to provide a tranquil, relaxing atmosphere. The pool was clean and the lounging area well maintained. Apart from the pool water being colder than our "cold water tap" (nothing a wet suit couldn't have handled) all seemed clean and very well maintained. The food at The Monkey Bar was good not great and slightly pricey for what you got but the convenience made it a very easy choice for a decent meal with fine service. There were several vantage points to see the monkeys of Monkey Island. We found the docks just outside the gift shop to be a good spot. The main docks by the riverboat was also a good spot to take some pics. There was plenty of space to play catch,throw a frisbee or have a game of beach volleyball. Overall, a pleasant place to stay. Of note, our 2 night stay had no room attendant to provide us with fresh towels,coffee, soaps, shampoo etc. which we found a bit odd. Otherwise, a clean pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Choose a riverview room and bring your wetsuit! lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Governor_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    91
    44
    21
    8
See reviews for
82
102
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lakemont, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The location is great and the rooms are very clean. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful. An older property but well maintained. Sat by the river and watched the sunset, very enjoyable. Had a great dinner at "Neon Leons" Did not care for their waste collection truck coming in at 6:45 A.M.. I would go back .

Room Tip: Great views from the decks on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddmscool
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

If are looking for a low away this I can recommend. No frills rooms that have good beds but only basic amenities. No iron, coffee,hair dryer etc that we come to expect in more costly hotels. Staff was great very polite.Scenery was great. Enjoyed the stay and got what we paid for and no more.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river have kitchenettes. Cost more but might be worth it. Close to the bar and might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddmscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Found the resort online so wasn't sure what we'd find when we got there. Arrived to find it was just perfect for our wants and needs! The staff was SUPER! The handicap room was perfect for our needs. The Manatee trips we took were AWESOME!!! Local restaurants and the State Park fit right in with our trip to Homosassa. I can't remember having a more memorable vacation. Can't wait to go back, and will stay with them again! Watching the Monkeys on the Island was a hoot!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I'm glad I read these reviews before making reservation. If we hadn't been in a room facing river I probably would have been disappointed. The place is slightly dated but this fits the whole Homosassa area which we loved. Make sure to check out "The Freezer" for drinks and seafood, just down the road a few blocks. Also the state wildlife park that you pass on the way in is a must see, especially for families. From our first steps into the park we spotted 19 wild manatees, and that was before we went into underwater viewing area (this was December when they come in for the warmer spring water). Back to the resort, we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Second floor riverfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I went up to the Riverside for lunch last week. We go up several times a year from the beach ( Treasure Island ) We always have a great time. Our server was Debbie and the manager who checked on us was Derrick. they went out of there way to make sure we were happy.Can't wait to go back. Good crabs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelli c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our entire experience was excellent! From beginning when I met with Carrie & turned her over to my daughter who worked with her to set aside 10 rooms, work out the details of the luncheon in the screen room behind the pool.....We missed an error in our contract setting the time at 6 P.M. instead of 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. which was on the invitations......We found out when we checked with the office on Sat. a.m.! What a shock as we had 50 guests invited. The management team "scrambled"! Called people in early, moved servers, etc. from other areas and served a deliscious hot lunch of ribs, chicken, fish, salads vegetables and hush puppies to our guests who raved about the food and the service. My husband was TOTALLY surprised and brought to tears by the event....Our rooms were very clean, we had drinks and food in the upstairs deck overlooking the Homosassa River, breakfasts in the dining room and the children were thrilled to see the monkeys being fed. I wish I had taken all the names of those involved in order to give them the credit they deserve for their team work, friendliness and great desire to make it a memorable event for all. Oh, Yes, the Halloween costume contest was a hit and so were the bands. Once again, from all the McMullins, Anthony's, Smiths, Tookes, Catramanos, Isleys, Howards, Christina & children, Felicia and Will and guests, our sincere thanks to all the team at Riverside Resort who get an AAAAA rating from all of us.....God Bless You! Bonnie McMullin

Room Tip: room on the waterfront was spacious & very clean but the mattresses were much to hard and the pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homosassa Springs
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
800 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
343 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
9.8 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
261 reviews
9.2 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homosassa Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homosassa Riverside Resort

Property: Homosassa Riverside Resort
Address: 5297 S Cherokee Way, Homosassa Springs, FL 34448-4424
Location: United States > Florida > Homosassa Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Homosassa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homosassa River's Most Famous Waterfront ResortFeaturing Florida's Majestic SceneryYou don't have to enjoy great food and fun. You don't have to share a sunset or riverside cocktail. You don't have to spend any time dreaming by the pool. You don't have to be entertained by the antics of the monkeys, the manatee or the passing dolphins..... BUT YOU CAN IF YOU WANT TO!AccommodationsRelax at the pool, on the docks or the patio of your waterfront suite. Absorb the wonder and beauty of The Homosassa River.Riverside Crab HouseThe beautiful, family-friendly, main dining room has floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Homosassa River. Fresh blue crabs caught from the river by local fisherman are served daily.Yardarm LoungeCitrus County's oldest and most favorite riverside lounge. Floor to ceiling glass, second story panoramic view of the Homosassa River. Featuring entertainment and history. Make new friends while enjoying your favorite cocktail at the 65' cooper bar. What a beautiful slice of local history.The Monkey BarFun in the trees! This double-decker tiki bar overlooks our very own Monkey Island. Enjoy cool island drinks and entertainment while watching the antics of the monkeys, the passing dolphins, the jumping tarpon, playful otters, manatee, and many native birds... including Bald Eagles. Oh yes, and the people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homosassa Riverside Hotel Homosassa Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing