We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Homosassa Riverside Resort
Nearby Hotels
$66
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Crystal River(Crystal River)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation on Crystal River(Crystal River)(Great Value!)
$116
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$74
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River(Crystal River)(Great Value!)
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King's Bay Lodge(Crystal River)(Great Value!)
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Crystal River Resort(Crystal River)(Great Value!)
$127
$108
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Crystal River)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
105
98
47
23
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
98
47
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonkey barold floridacrab housepontoon boatfull kitchenhomosassa riverriverfront roomstone crabriver frontscallop seasonwatch the boatssteamed crabson site restaurantan enjoyable staygreat weekendsleeper sofaliving area
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 282 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We wanted to simply see Monkey Island. It was an early morning visit for us, around 9:30 AM, and we didn't want to go up to the Monkey Bar at that time. And that is about the only way to see Monkey Island, unless you are on a boat. We did walk thru the bait/fishing shop to their docks, and walked down to the last dock, to the end of it, and leaned way over and got a couple of pics of Monkey Island, but that isn't really acceptable viewing. Otherwise, we didn't see anyway of observing or taking pictures of Monkey Island from anywhere else. So, unless you are ready for a drink and/or a meal, and do so at Monkey Bar, then I would skip this old FL attraction, unless you have access to a boat. Lots of boats were circling the small island and I am sure the monkeys provide some fun entertainment. We could see only two of the monkeys and they were climbing their various trees, etc., so in essence, we did see it. But I wouldn't go out of your way to see it unless, again, you plan on stopping at the Monkey Bar with the goal of seeing Monkey Island.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
3  Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, Public Relations Manager at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

We apologize if you did not get to enjoy the fantastic views of Monkey Island from our many pedestrian docks, waterfront walk ways with benches and picnic tables or views from our first and second floor dining areas. We hope you will come back another time to watch the antics of the monkeys and passing boaters or check out our live monkey cam 24/7 on our website.
Your friends from Homosassa Riverside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

River Resort is quaint old Florida. Food is cheap, fresh and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleybrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, General Manager at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you for your review!
Come back soon.
Your Friends,
Ralph, Sassy, Ebony, Eve and Emily
The Residents of Monkey Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The majority of the reviews are covering it. Remove expectations that you are receiving a $300 per night resort....you are not paying that price so be fair. Very nice place for the price. We will return. No issues. The food at all locales were Very Good and priced well. Drinks were Cheap. Pool was mint. Trails and bird life great. Boat rides very accommodating, saw 3 dolphins. No garbage blowing in the wind or river. Monkey's partied. Saw a manatee off the dock. Live Music was fun. Wonderful getaway. - - Recommendation, vacuum more thoroughly.

Room Tip: Personally, i was happy not getting a riverside room. There are benches, piers, drinking decks all overlooking the river. If i sat on my porch to enjoy the river all day, what a boring trip i would have had.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judgey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, General Manager at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear you were able to explore our beautiful birding trails, water ways and our Monkey Bar during your stay. Your room notes have been submitted to our housekeeping staff.
We hope to see you soon,
Ralph, Sassy, Ebony, Eve and Emily
Monkey Island Residents

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

My boyfriend surprised me with a stay here on a road trip through Florida for spring break, mostly because he knows how obsessed I am with primates. Needless to say, it was a win. Hotel was clean, beds were comfortable, and nothing beats waking up before sunrise to watch the spider monkeys stretch and crawl out of their house into their island. Resort staff was probably wondering who the crazy girl sitting on the dock in the dark was (me!) - and now they know why! :) It was also pretty fun to be there for the Dragon Boat festival and St. Pats day. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank etapanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, General Manager at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Glad you came to Monkey Around with us! Don't forget you can watch us 24/7 on our ver own live monkey cam! Come back soon.
Ralph, Sassy, Ebony, Eve and Emily
The Residents of Monkey Island
Homosassa Riverside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

If you are looking for a Marriot, this isn't it. The Riverside is nice, clean and in a great location--right on the river. In the morning you can walk the docks and see 10 different kinds of birds, see mullet jumping out of the river, and may even see a manatee swim by.

If you appreciate the quiet beauty of nature, this is a comfortable hotel. For my family we stayed in a 1 bedroom with a kitchenette--it worked wonderfully. Since Homosassa doesn't have a lot of resturant choices, it's best to get breakfast foods and keep them in your own fridge, since only one place is open for breakfast.

The staff are very friendly and helpfull and I would return without hesitation

Room Tip: pay a little more for "river view" and get a room with a kitchenette--at least get a fridge.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jaydog09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, General Manager at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Thank you for your review. We hope you will come back to visit soon!
Ralph, Sassy, Ebony, Eve and Emily
The Residents of Monkey Island
Homosassa Riverside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews