We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, clean, no frills-great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homosassa Riverside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2012

If you are looking for a Marriot, this isn't it. The Riverside is nice, clean and in a great location--right on the river. In the morning you can walk the docks and see 10 different kinds of birds, see mullet jumping out of the river, and may even see a manatee swim by.

If you appreciate the quiet beauty of nature, this is a comfortable hotel. For my family we stayed in a 1 bedroom with a kitchenette--it worked wonderfully. Since Homosassa doesn't have a lot of resturant choices, it's best to get breakfast foods and keep them in your own fridge, since only one place is open for breakfast.

The staff are very friendly and helpfull and I would return without hesitation

Room Tip: pay a little more for "river view" and get a room with a kitchenette--at least get a fridg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jaydog09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, General Manager at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Thank you for your review. We hope you will come back to visit soon!
Ralph, Sassy, Ebony, Eve and Emily
The Residents of Monkey Island
Homosassa Riverside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 273 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. Much more fun staying here than at one of the chain motels out on the highway. Great access to kayak rentals, airboat rides and manatee tours.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tlydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, General Manager at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Thank you for staying! We hope to see you soon.
Ralph, Sassy, Ebony, Eve and Emily
The Residents of Monkey Island
Homosassa Riverside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at this property so we could enjoy a manatee swim nearby. Was extremely please with our accommodations. Husband and myself, we loved the facts that there were 2 large rooms, balcony and chairs and re had a riverside view. One room had 2 queen beds, bath and large flat screen tv with balcony access. The other room had a pull-out couch (if needed) chair,another large flat screen tv, balcony access, breakfast bar with 4 bar stools and a full kitchen with what looked like were all brand new appliances. Kitchen was fully stocked with bakeware, cookware, plates, glasses, silverware, coffee maker etc. There was also an onsite restaurant, lounge, gift shop, bait and tackle place, kayak and large boat rental place (I think the kayaks and canoes were free). There was also an island about 100 feet offshore that had about 6 monkeys who lived there that were much fun to watch. This was our most comfortable and relaxing place we stayed at during our week in Florida. (Can't beat having 2 TVs at night when you can't agree on a program! All this and our bill was $250.00) total with all taxes. (Our Holiday Inn Expresses we stayed at ran $120-$150/night without taxes. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thiborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, Manager at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you for your stay and your review! We always love to hear feedback and that our guest enjoyed their experience.
Hope to see you again soon,
Ralph, Sassy, Ebony, Emily & Emily
The Residents of Monkey Island
Homosassa Riverside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I paid extra to have a view of the River, basically it was a view of their broken down pool. The toilet ran and the bathroom door didn't lock. There is not much to do at this place for kids. We did play alot on their sand volleyball court. The food at the restaurant was average and over priced. Skip this place and go to the Days INN

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NancyJ52674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, Manager at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear NancyJ52674,
We are always very sorry to hear when a guest is less than satisfied with there visit. Thank you for alerting us regarding the issues you had in the restroom. It appears that you were here for the last cold snap we had, us Floridians are use to playing in cold, normally the kids have a wonderful time fishing from docks, visiting the near by state wildlife park, kayaking, walking the great Florida birding trails, watching the antics of the Monkeys, taking river tours, swimming in our newly renovated pool, visiting our blue crab tanks and watching the manatee swim by. Because it was scheduled to be so cold and we don’t have many swimmers then we took advantage of that time to perform routine maintenance on our swimming pool. We do hope that you will return another time to stay and play.
Sincerely,
Homosassa Riverside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We spent one night here in a 2 bedroom unit on a 3-generational family trip in January. I've stayed at the resort before, and this 2 bedroom unit was definitely nicer that the smaller room I remembered from our last trip. I thought when I reserved the room they told me it was on the water, but this room was set back a ways from the river, and sort of tucked behind the pool. We appreciated that the staff let us have a late-checkout on our departure date because we had an early morning manatee tour. If I could recommend one improvement I'd ask the resort to put a couple coffee filters and a few paper towels or napkins in the room. I'm sure that families who come to stay for a week bring all of those products, but when you're only staying one night it's hard to travel with all those things.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myfamilystravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Terrific atmosphere, live music and comfortable accomodations welcomed our group of 18. We arrived early, and stayed up late enjoying the surroundings. Accomodating staff welcomed us. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Let me say that my expectations were well in control before arriving thanks to the reviews on Trip Advisor. We had requested the new area in our reservation, and I was not counting on anything above average rooms.

When we checked in, the manager on duty asked me if I had any other cards other than American Express as they do not take AMEX. I questioned this, and he said that they "prefer" not to take AMEX. I pushed him on it, and he finally agreed to take the AMEX card. Not overly impressed upon arrival.

The rooms were adequate, and we were tired enough that it did not make a big difference anyway. The appeal of this hotel was its proximity to Air Tank Divers, that we had a fantastic time with on a manatee tour.

As we ran late on our day of departure, the staff was really very accommodating in giving us a very late checkout. It was appreciated, and thus the mixed review of the staff.

Room Tip: We had connecting rooms in Villa 3, and the rooms were ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjhUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homosassa Springs
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
852 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
7.9 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
358 reviews
9.8 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
273 reviews
21.4 mi away
Comfort Suites near Rainbow Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homosassa Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homosassa Riverside Resort

Address: 5297 S Cherokee Way, Homosassa Springs, FL 34448-4424
Location: United States > Florida > Homosassa Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Homosassa Springs
Price Range: $65 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homosassa River's Most Famous Waterfront ResortFeaturing Florida's Majestic SceneryYou don't have to enjoy great food and fun. You don't have to share a sunset or riverside cocktail. You don't have to spend any time dreaming by the pool. You don't have to be entertained by the antics of the monkeys, the manatee or the passing dolphins..... BUT YOU CAN IF YOU WANT TO!AccommodationsRelax at the pool, on the docks or the patio of your waterfront suite. Absorb the wonder and beauty of The Homosassa River.Riverside Crab HouseThe beautiful, family-friendly, main dining room has floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Homosassa River. Fresh blue crabs caught from the river by local fisherman are served daily.Yardarm LoungeCitrus County's oldest and most favorite riverside lounge. Floor to ceiling glass, second story panoramic view of the Homosassa River. Featuring entertainment and history. Make new friends while enjoying your favorite cocktail at the 65' cooper bar. What a beautiful slice of local history.The Monkey BarFun in the trees! This double-decker tiki bar overlooks our very own Monkey Island. Enjoy cool island drinks and entertainment while watching the antics of the monkeys, the passing dolphins, the jumping tarpon, playful otters, manatee, and many native birds... including Bald Eagles. Oh yes, and the people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Homosassa Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homosassa Riverside Hotel Homosassa Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing