We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, convenient, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homosassa Riverside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed here for several nights in August to take advantage of the scallop season. Very busy on Saturday, the line up of boats was amazing. Less so on Sunday and practically deserted on Monday. Our hotel style room was comfortable, could use some rehab but very clean and convenient to the waterfront. The employees we met were universally friendly and helpful. We did not have a freezer in our room and they let us freeze the scallops in an office freezer. They also had unlimited coffee in the office which was very convenient for hotel room guests. Pool is clean and a good stop after all morning in the sun scalloping. Would definitely recommend this place as your stop off to the Homosassa River region.

Regarding the scalloping, Captain Jody Hogan was the best. We went out with him for two days of scalloping and he was patient and helpful. We would go out with him in a heart beat. His boat is right at the Riverside, the scallops can be expertly and quickly cleaned by a group at the pier and he had great explanations of the local river. Thank you, Captain Jody! http://www.homosassafishingcharters.com/captjody.html

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 272 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

This place is a great getaway to Florida living. The location is awesome. There is enough to keep you busy if you like or just do nothing at all. The buildings on the river have very nice 1 and 2 bedroom ste. Very clean and roomy. The restaurant is good and has a nice view. Likewise with the lounge. You can rent a boat and go to the spring and hang out or head towards the gulf ,a short ride. Its a beautiful river. Right next door is Mcraes which has a nice little outside bar and entertainment at night. The only downside for me is they often have a 3 night minimum which makes it hard for me to get there for a quick weekend trip.

Room Tip: pick one of the riverfront buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDNKGTRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, General Manager at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Thank you for your response! We only have three night minimums on Holiday & Special event weekends. We welcome you to come anytime for one night get away or longer if your schedule allows. Hope to see you soon,
Homosassa Riverside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I can't complain about the local area alot to do. And the wildlife park is a must as well as a airboat trip with captain stu. Now the room is another story. For as much as we paid as soon as you opened up the door a musty moldy smell bowled you over. It was late when we got in and just almost missed the office closing for the night ten o'clock. Other wise we would of changed our accomodations for the night. Which we moved to a different hotel the next day. Walls were paper thin hot water was a problem. the blinds were falling apart and the air conditioner was ungodly loud. Now for the carpet disgusting and filthy. I am not sure how the waterfront rooms are but wouldn't you want clean rooms for all your customers? Would not stay at this hotel but will come back to the area and stay at another place. Food was okay the tiki bar was better and one word of warning the locals hang out here and party all night on the weekends we harldy had a decent nites sleeps while we were there the one night. I say pass unless the waterfront rooms are available I thought our room was expensive so I can imagine the newer remodeled ones must be a fortune. I say pass on this one unless you pay for the newer remodeled rooms riverfront. .

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sineas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at the Homosassa Riverside Resort Aug 9-12, 2011 during scallop season. The accommodations here are much nicer than I expected. We booked the largest 2 bedroom suite for our family. Our boat was docked right outside the door which made it so nice and convenient. Restaurant food was good with somewhat limited menu over looks monkey island which was a big hit with the kids. The river was really the show stopper. After our day of scalloping, we found a rope swing on the river and the kids had a blast. The pool is also nice after a hot day. It did tend to get a bit noisy in the room, you can hear people above walking around, perhaps will request to be upstairs next time. Also they could benefit from upgrading the mattresses, especially the sofa bed. We brought extra padding and sleeping bags and glad we did. All in all a great place, beautiful view from our room, enjoyed sitting out on the patio and watching the boaters go by and with a week day stay, enjoyed a relaxing time. We would definitely go back, and will likely do so next year. Marina staff were also excellent.

Room Tip: book a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellsdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed two nights at this resort. Unfortunately we were in one of the older rooms at the back of the property, not riverside. It was ok, but old and smelled like mold. If you stay here make sure you upgrade to the newer river side rooms. They cost twice as much but are worth it. Resturant was good, have a steak night on Wed and it was good and I would use it again. This is really old Florida and quite a shock from the Fort Myers Naples area good to see this area of Florida.

Room Tip: Request new river side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jusmith51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed there for a couple of days and it was fantastic! Kitchen, bed and living room all in a very good condition. The environment is exactly what you need when you want to calm down and relax. The restaurant is ok but Tiki Bar close to the Hotel is much better!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wds0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

If this review was only on the room it would have been between poor and terrible.
The room smelled of smoke. The walls are paper thin, so you can hear everything. It got cold in the night as well. Bed was not nice and got static from the sheets.
I stayed there once before a couple of years back and we had one of the condos then. That was a completely different story. They are fairly nice.
BUT the reason for a rating of average is due to the bar and restaurant attached to this place. It is just perfect. It's so authentic.
Great food, funny and weird atmosphere. Great service. Great drinks - try the Homosassa Mama!
All in all, We survived the night, but mostly thanks to the restaurant.

Room Tip: Get a condo NOT a room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homosassa Springs
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
841 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
6.9 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
9.8 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
272 reviews
6.8 mi away
Plantation on Crystal River
Plantation on Crystal River
#4 of 9 in Crystal River
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homosassa Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homosassa Riverside Resort

Address: 5297 S Cherokee Way, Homosassa Springs, FL 34448-4424
Location: United States > Florida > Homosassa Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Homosassa Springs
Price Range: $65 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homosassa River's Most Famous Waterfront ResortFeaturing Florida's Majestic SceneryYou don't have to enjoy great food and fun. You don't have to share a sunset or riverside cocktail. You don't have to spend any time dreaming by the pool. You don't have to be entertained by the antics of the monkeys, the manatee or the passing dolphins..... BUT YOU CAN IF YOU WANT TO!AccommodationsRelax at the pool, on the docks or the patio of your waterfront suite. Absorb the wonder and beauty of The Homosassa River.Riverside Crab HouseThe beautiful, family-friendly, main dining room has floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Homosassa River. Fresh blue crabs caught from the river by local fisherman are served daily.Yardarm LoungeCitrus County's oldest and most favorite riverside lounge. Floor to ceiling glass, second story panoramic view of the Homosassa River. Featuring entertainment and history. Make new friends while enjoying your favorite cocktail at the 65' cooper bar. What a beautiful slice of local history.The Monkey BarFun in the trees! This double-decker tiki bar overlooks our very own Monkey Island. Enjoy cool island drinks and entertainment while watching the antics of the monkeys, the passing dolphins, the jumping tarpon, playful otters, manatee, and many native birds... including Bald Eagles. Oh yes, and the people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Homosassa Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homosassa Riverside Hotel Homosassa Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing